Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-09, 09:13 AM   #1
darksky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 66
Default Quadro FX 2700M cannot select 1680x1050

I'm running the latest X server and xfce4 using the v185.18.36 nvidia driver on a notebook PC that uses the Quadro FX 2700M. I can't select 1680x1050 (it's not in the list) from the nvidia-settings. It drops from 1920x1200 to 1400x1050! If I boot the PC into Windows XP I can select 1680x1050 no problem. Here is what xrandr says:

Code:
$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1920 x 1200, maximum 1920 x 1200
default connected 1920x1200+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1920x1200      50.0* 
   1400x1050      51.0  
   1280x1024      52.0  
   1280x960       53.0  
   1024x768       54.0  
   800x600        55.0     56.0  
   700x525        57.0  
   640x512        58.0  
   640x480        59.0     60.0  
   512x384        61.0  
   400x300        62.0  
   320x240        63.0
Any ideas how I can run in 1680x1050?
darksky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-09, 05:23 PM   #2
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Quadro FX 2700M cannot select 1680x1050

Please see the forum sticky posts about how to generate a bug report with a verbose mode validation log. It's likely that your monitor doesn't have a mode for 1680x1050 and the server doesn't have one either. I'd have to see the log to say for sure, but you might need to add a ModeLine for it.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-09, 03:45 PM   #3
darksky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 66
Default Re: Quadro FX 2700M cannot select 1680x1050

Thanks for pointing me to the sticky. I had to use pastebin.com since the log file was too large to attach to the post. You should be able to see it at the following URL:

http://pastebin.com/m4034a31

Thanks for any help you can provide.
darksky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-09, 03:45 PM   #4
darksky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 66
Default Re: Quadro FX 2700M cannot select 1680x1050

...any ideas?
darksky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-09, 05:09 PM   #5
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Quadro FX 2700M cannot select 1680x1050

I'm sorry, your post slipped through the cracks somehow. As I suspected, there is no 1680x1050 mode defined anywhere. Your monitor only reports 1920x1200 and the X server doesn't have a built-in 1680x1050 mode. You'll need to use a ModeLine entry in xorg.conf to add the appropriate mode timings.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-09, 07:56 PM   #6
darksky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 66
Default Re: Quadro FX 2700M cannot select 1680x1050

Can you point me to a good resource for building modelines? My understanding is that one can cause physical damage to hardware if incorrectly configured!
darksky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-09, 01:52 AM   #7
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Quadro FX 2700M cannot select 1680x1050

Try this link. With modern flat panels, it's very unlikely that you'll damage the monitor unless you also use some of the other override options documented in the README. What's most likely to end up happening is that the driver will validate your 1680x1050 by using the monitor's native 1920x1200 resolution and then scaling your 1680x1050 desktop to that size.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.