Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-09, 01:35 AM   #1
nuudles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default Sharp Aquos & 9800GT cuts off ~10mm around the edge

The monitor is a Sharp Aquos 37" 1080p connected to a EVGA GeForce 9800GT. I installed driver version 180.11 using the repositories in Ubuntu and it seems to work beautifully in every facet other than how it crops the edge of my screen. When I first installed the driver it came up at 640x480 and showed the entire screen, but I get my problem after running nvidia-xconfig and letting it choose what to do.

nuudles@media:~$ grep -i 'nvidia' /var/log/Xorg.0.log.old
(--) PCI:*(0@1:0:0) nVidia Corporation unknown chipset (0x0605) rev 162, Mem @ 0xfa000000/0, 0xd0000000/0, 0xf8000000/0, I/O @ 0x0000bc00/0, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072
(II) Module glx: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
(II) NVIDIA GLX Module 180.11 Wed Nov 26 11:23:16 PST 2008
(II) LoadModule: "nvidia"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers//nvidia_drv.so
(II) Module nvidia: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
(II) NVIDIA dlloader X Driver 180.11 Wed Nov 26 11:00:06 PST 2008
(II) NVIDIA Unified Driver for all Supported NVIDIA GPUs
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "RenderAccel" "True"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "TwinView" "0"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "UseEdidDpi" "False"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "ModeValidation" "NoVertRefreshCheck"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(II) NVIDIA(0): Support for GLX with the Damage and Composite X extensions is
(II) NVIDIA(0): enabled.
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce 9800 GT (G92) at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 1048576 kBytes
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 62.92.69.00.30
(II) NVIDIA(0): Detected PCI Express Link width: 16X
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 9800 GT at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0): SHARP HDMI (DFP-1)
(--) NVIDIA(0): SHARP HDMI (DFP-1): 330.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): SHARP HDMI (DFP-1): Internal Dual Link TMDS
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Validation Overrides for SHARP HDMI (DFP-1):
(II) NVIDIA(0): NoVertRefreshCheck
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: DFP-1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): "1920x1080_60"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1920 x 1080
(==) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (75, 75); computed from built-in default
(==) NVIDIA(0): Enabling 32-bit ARGB GLX visuals.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Initialized GPU GART.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "1920x1080_60"
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA 3D Acceleration Architecture Initialized
(==) NVIDIA(0): Disabling shared memory pixmaps
(II) NVIDIA(0): Using the NVIDIA 2D acceleration architecture
(==) NVIDIA(0): Backing store disabled
(==) NVIDIA(0): Silken mouse enabled
(**) NVIDIA(0): DPMS enabled

This looks to me like it's loaded the driver but when X starts I don't get the nVidia splash screen, but all of my 2d & 3d acceleration works, and the nvidia-settings tool recognizes everything as it should.

Could this be a problem with the DPI that the driver has picked? The log says 75x75, but unfortunately I can't seem to find any documentation for my TV that shows what it's DPI is supposed to be so I've just left that as is. The model is LC37D64U just in case anyone out there happens to know about or own this screen.

Any ideas would be appreciated at this point, I've tried 3 different binary drivers from the repositories. Installed 5 different versions using the manual installer, reinstalled Ubuntu 8.04 & 8.10 at least twice each, and even briefly considered installing Vista just to reap the full benefits of the card.
nuudles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-09, 01:39 AM   #2
nuudles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Sharp Aquos & 9800GT cuts off ~10mm around the edge

I forgot to add my xorg.conf, here's the relevant portions, the modeline I've added I got from the logs after running X with -logverbose 6.

...

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection

...

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "SHARP HDMI"
HorizSync 15.0 - 68.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 76.0
ModeLine "1920x1080_60" 148.50 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
Option "DPMS"
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9800 GT"
Option "RenderAccel" "True"
Option "UseEdidDpi" "False"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
# Option "metamodes" "1920x1080_60 +0+0; nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoVertRefreshCheck"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1920x1080_60"
EndSubSection
EndSection
nuudles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-09, 05:57 AM   #3
jpterj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 57
Default Re: Sharp Aquos & 9800GT cuts off ~10mm around the edge

This is probably due to overscan on the TV. Check the menus to see if it is possible to switch this off. Under picture format there is possibly a choice called exact scan or something similar.
jpterj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-09, 07:17 PM   #4
bin2gray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Sharp Aquos & 9800GT cuts off ~10mm around the edge

View Mode => dot-by-dot is what I do on my Aquos.
bin2gray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-09, 09:28 PM   #5
nuudles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Sharp Aquos & 9800GT cuts off ~10mm around the edge

Hi, and thanks for the replies.

jpterj, I couldn't find any setting for over scan, or any other setting that helped at all.

bin2gray, would you mind elaborating on your meaning for 'View Mode => dot-by-dot'?
nuudles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-09, 06:32 AM   #6
jpterj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 57
Default Re: Sharp Aquos & 9800GT cuts off ~10mm around the edge

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuudles View Post
Hi, and thanks for the replies.

jpterj, I couldn't find any setting for over scan, or any other setting that helped at all.

bin2gray, would you mind elaborating on your meaning for 'View Mode => dot-by-dot'?
He is probably referring to the menu on the TV. I guess that under 'View Mode' there is a choice called 'dot-by-dot' which turns off overscan.
jpterj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-09, 01:48 AM   #7
nuudles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Sharp Aquos & 9800GT cuts off ~10mm around the edge

I'm still having this problem, I even went and bought an 8500 GTS and I'm having the same problem. If anyone has any idea how to configure X to get this monitor going I would be very grateful for your help.
nuudles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-09, 10:36 AM   #8
dk75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 171
Default Re: Sharp Aquos & 9800GT cuts off ~10mm around the edge

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuudles View Post
Hi, and thanks for the replies.

jpterj, I couldn't find any setting for over scan, or any other setting that helped at all.

bin2gray, would you mind elaborating on your meaning for 'View Mode => dot-by-dot'?
On remote controller it's the same button as for changeing aspect ratio, eg. 4:3, 16:9, 16:10, zoom, film, etc...


Thought I have Aquos LC-32X20E here is my remote and "Wide Mode" screen:



dk75 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-20-09, 11:50 AM   #9
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Sharp Aquos & 9800GT cuts off ~10mm around the edge

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuudles View Post
I'm still having this problem, I even went and bought an 8500 GTS and I'm having the same problem. If anyone has any idea how to configure X to get this monitor going I would be very grateful for your help.
That is because the problem is in your TV, not in the card or the driver.
You need to find out how to turn off the overscan in the TV.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-09, 06:43 PM   #10
nuudles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Sharp Aquos & 9800GT cuts off ~10mm around the edge

I didn't realize that I never came back here to say that the dot-by-dot setting was in fact the issue. Once I found the view mode button on the remote control the problem was solved.
nuudles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.