Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-09, 12:15 PM   #25
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Saint's Row 2 and Windows 7...ruh ro!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
virtual xp is quite useless for gamers
It's useful if you play some REALLY REALLY old 16-bit games
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-09, 09:40 PM   #26
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Saint's Row 2 and Windows 7...ruh ro!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy X View Post
Did this work with Windows RTM? I still have not found a fix that works.
Saints Row 2 works great for me with Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium. I am running the 186.16 drivers and all settings maxed out in the game. 1920x1080 res, 16x af 4x aa, ambient occlusion set to all etc.

It does seem kind of fast but it doesn't bother me, it's better than it being laggy and slow.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-09, 03:43 AM   #27
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Saint's Row 2 and Windows 7...ruh ro!

I did a test and installed Windows XP 64bit and the speed is normal but in Windows 7 it's too fast.

I wish they would have polished this game up, it's just buggy and the stuttering is terrible when driving into new areas. Looks like the devs are going to let this game rot, it's such a shame because this game can hold a candle up to GTA, if only it was ported and optimized better.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-09, 03:47 AM   #28
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Saint's Row 2 and Windows 7...ruh ro!

Yeah, on console SR2 stood firm against GTAIV as a crazy, over the top alternative. On PC it takes the special bus to school while GTAIV gets a lift in MagNUS' Mustang.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-09, 04:56 AM   #29
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Saint's Row 2 and Windows 7...ruh ro!

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
GTAIV gets a lift in MagNUS' Mustang.
It's actually his girlfriend's, she just lets him drive it.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-09, 06:56 AM   #30
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Saint's Row 2 and Windows 7...ruh ro!

I don't know why so many people are having problems with SR2 on the PC. I get no choppiness in the car, well I did with the Win 7 RC when ambient occlusion was turned on but now it's smooth as hell with the final version and all options maxed out. I am playing it through Steam, not sure if that makes a difference or not.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-09, 12:49 PM   #31
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Saint's Row 2 and Windows 7...ruh ro!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
It's actually his girlfriend's, she just lets him drive it.
Girls in Mustangs are hot, not as hot as a girl driving an F-250, but still hot. Post pics please MaGNUs.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-09, 06:48 PM   #32
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Saint's Row 2 and Windows 7...ruh ro!

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan View Post
I don't know why so many people are having problems with SR2 on the PC. I get no choppiness in the car, well I did with the Win 7 RC when ambient occlusion was turned on but now it's smooth as hell with the final version and all options maxed out. I am playing it through Steam, not sure if that makes a difference or not.
As said numerous times, the game runs better with all the patches. When it came out it was a disaster.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-12-09, 07:06 PM   #33
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Saint's Row 2 and Windows 7...ruh ro!

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan View Post
I don't know why so many people are having problems with SR2 on the PC. I get no choppiness in the car, well I did with the Win 7 RC when ambient occlusion was turned on but now it's smooth as hell with the final version and all options maxed out. I am playing it through Steam, not sure if that makes a difference or not.
Just look at your rig though, of course it's smooth for you.

My specs are above the recommended yeah I get 'big' stutters while driving and it's terrible.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-09, 10:55 PM   #34
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Saint's Row 2 and Windows 7...ruh ro!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
As said numerous times, the game runs better with all the patches. When it came out it was a disaster.
Not even a month ago in this thread you posted that Saints Row is a mess now you say it runs better...
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-09, 10:57 PM   #35
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Saint's Row 2 and Windows 7...ruh ro!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean_W View Post
Just look at your rig though, of course it's smooth for you.

My specs are above the recommended yeah I get 'big' stutters while driving and it's terrible.
I am assuming you tried turning off ambiant occlusions which kinda of made it choppy for me with Win 7 RC. I just thought of something too, I had 4gb of ram back when I played it on Win 7RC and now I have 8gb I doubt it could be using that much where over 4gb would make a difference. I'm gonna start up the game and see how much it's using.

Edit: With SR2 running my computer is using 2.56GB ram, before starting the game I was using 1.5GB
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-09, 11:03 PM   #36
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Saint's Row 2 and Windows 7...ruh ro!

He flat out quoted and argued with himself once before dan.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.