Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-09, 01:24 PM   #1
nomec
Registered User
 
nomec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 242
Default Dragon Age Pre-load?

So apparently this game is going to take up a LOT of hd space. I imagine a lot of people will be buying this through digital distribution as will I. Only thing is, is Steam going to let us know soon enough whether or not this can be preloaded? I read that D2D is allowing for a preload, but nothing about steam. I can't even imagine what the servers are going to be like on Tuesday when this game gets released, and I bet I won't even get this download finished until a day or two after considering how slow it's going to be. Anyone have any updates?

If steam is not offering preloading, then I think Direct2Drive will be getting my money this time around.
nomec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-09, 01:38 PM   #2
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Dragon Age Pre-load?

Who knows... they haven't responded to the inquiry on the Steam forums, so either it's a no or they don't feel like talking.

20GB installed is probably 12-14 downloaded, I would guess. Probably take me all day.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-09, 01:52 PM   #3
nomec
Registered User
 
nomec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 242
Default Re: Dragon Age Pre-load?

Yeah, it would only be a day's worth of downloading or so, but say I buy it on Steam, I have to leave for work at 7am, so I won't be able to start downloading when it unlocks (I live alone). Then I get home at 6pm and by the time it's done downloading it's already after work Wednesday. One day isn't really that long to wait but I have honestly been waiting for this game for so long that it makes a little bit of a difference. The D2D pre-load opens up Monday, so I can start downloading when I get home from work Monday night and it will be ready to go Tuesday when I am home from work.
nomec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-09, 02:09 PM   #4
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Dragon Age Pre-load?

If D2D gets a preload Monday Steam might as well. They usually match D2D on these things.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-09, 02:13 PM   #5
nomec
Registered User
 
nomec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 242
Default Re: Dragon Age Pre-load?

Yeah, that's what I am thinking. I will probably have to hold off until Sun/Mon until I make a decision. I would prefer to use Steam, though. Have you bought your copy yet?

Oh, and I am going for the digital deluxe version of course.
nomec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-09, 02:38 PM   #6
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: Dragon Age Pre-load?

would have been nice to acctually USE my 100mbit connection for once, but the prices on steam in eu these days.. its kinda hard to get over.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-09, 02:57 PM   #7
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Dragon Age Pre-load?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomec View Post
Yeah, that's what I am thinking. I will probably have to hold off until Sun/Mon until I make a decision. I would prefer to use Steam, though. Have you bought your copy yet?

Oh, and I am going for the digital deluxe version of course.
Yeah, I bought it on Steam... I don't like using D2D for some reason, something about it just turns me off. Also I get a good connection to Steam most of the time and even 14GB or so should only take me 3-4 hours.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-09, 03:03 PM   #8
nomec
Registered User
 
nomec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 242
Default Re: Dragon Age Pre-load?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
Yeah, I bought it on Steam... I don't like using D2D for some reason, something about it just turns me off. Also I get a good connection to Steam most of the time and even 14GB or so should only take me 3-4 hours.
Yeah that's not really the case for me... I have a 10mbps connection but I never download that fast for some reason.. usually around 500-600kbps which sucks. Maybe my ISP is limiting me or something. Only rarely will I see the full 1mbps in a download.
nomec is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-30-09, 03:12 PM   #9
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Dragon Age Pre-load?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomec View Post
Yeah that's not really the case for me... I have a 10mbps connection but I never download that fast for some reason.. usually around 500-600kbps which sucks. Maybe my ISP is limiting me or something. Only rarely will I see the full 1mbps in a download.
Have you selected your closest server? I know I had to change mine, it was originally Seattle or something and I swapped it to Texas.

I get about 1MB/sec... sometimes it drops to 700kb or above.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-09, 03:16 PM   #10
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Dragon Age Pre-load?

is this game gonna be a console RPG port?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-09, 03:23 PM   #11
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Dragon Age Pre-load?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATi View Post
is this game gonna be a console RPG port?
no, PC version was finished back in March or May (forgot which one, but certain it started with M )

PC verison was held up because they wanted to get console versions done to be released same day
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-09, 03:27 PM   #12
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Dragon Age Pre-load?

oh awesome
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.