Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-09, 02:08 PM   #25
fugu_fish
Registered User
 
fugu_fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 184
Default Re: Windows install smooth? It's a NIGHTMARE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
I recommend downloading a diagnostic CD to test your ram with memtest.

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/index.html

I had blue screens during the windows 7 install and it was due to a stick of ram that was bad. I'd been using that ram for two years without blue screens in Vista. I guess 7 is just more sensitive to bad memory.
Yes +1. Any BSODs during install are 99.9 % hardware related. Bad ram, improperly seated HSF, etc.
__________________

|Antec 900/GB X58A-UD3R|i7-930 @3.6|6GB OCZ|Corsair TX850|Hannspree HF289H 28" monitor |GB GTX460 SLI|Xonar DX|Seagate Hybrid 500GB| WD6400AAKS 640GB/SG 320GB|WD Caviar Black 1TB |Samsung SH-203B |Windows 7 Pro x64 |Sennheiser HD-280
fugu_fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-09, 03:22 PM   #26
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: Windows install smooth? It's a NIGHTMARE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
Seems like an appropriate topic...

How well does it handle installing to a RAID array?
Did an upgrade from Vista 64 Ultimate to W7 64 Ultimate on my RAID 0 array.
Took about 30 minutes, absolutely no problem what-so-ever. And i did the upgrade with my system overclocked.
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-09, 03:26 PM   #27
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: Windows install smooth? It's a NIGHTMARE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shamrock View Post
... I enter my CD Key and when I press Next I get a bluescreen! It doesn't even explain why! All I know is the stop code was 0x0000007e.

... Ready for this? It BSOD's without warning, and without cause!

...I have read up a little bit on some of these errors, and it points to a failing UPS system. I tried it, and it works fine. I even drained the battery by letting my monitor suck the power down.
That got me going for at least 10 minutes, thank for the
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-09, 09:19 PM   #28
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Windows install smooth? It's a NIGHTMARE!

What do you mean? It didn't explain it. You know like "IRQ_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL" It only gave the stop code. I had to hunt down the stop code to identify it.

But it turns out, it's NOT a failing UPS system, it was my chipset drivers. Read post #24
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-09, 08:55 PM   #29
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Windows install smooth? It's a NIGHTMARE!

I found the most awesome little utility you can get if you are having troubles!

bluescreenview

It analyzed my memory dump, and I have a common BSOD called "KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED" in ntoskrnl.exe and ndis.sys

Both MS modules. Then it dawned it on me...if MS drivers are BSOD'ing, it has to be hardware.

I am going to explain this the best way I can.
My OCZ Reaper RAM is rated 7-7-7 @1.9v. My Ram is 1600Mhz @ 1.9v (standard!),but on my mobo BIOS, 1.9v is IN THE RED! But normal for my ram. The only thing I can tell is my mobo is telling Win7 that I have EXTREME overclocking, and it's BSOD on me. SOOO....

I am currently running my RAM on Memtest for 1333Mhz @1.75v and 1.8v. I will try that and re-install Win7, yet again. Cross yer fingers.

It ran SOLID for 4 hours at 1066mhz @1.6v.
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-09, 10:44 AM   #30
UberRN69
Registered User
 
UberRN69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saratoga Springs, Utah
Posts: 230
Default Re: Windows install smooth? It's a NIGHTMARE!

I don't know if this appiles in your case or not, but when I first DL'd the RTM version off of a torrent, and burned the ISO image to a DVD disk using the FASTEST rate possilbe. I was getting BSOD's like crazy on install, no matter how many times I tried.

After some research I went back and burned an ISO image using the SLOWEST rate possible, I also DL's the file directly from my TechNet account (finally got around to purchasing one) -it fixed the problem right away.

So EVEN though you used an actuall OEM disk, you might want to try to use someone else's install disk. It wouldn't be the first time someone received a bad disk or the last.
__________________
Lian-Li Case, MSI 890FXA-GD70, AMD Phenom II 965BE OC'd @ 3.9GHz with ZALMAN CNPS9900ALED, OCZ AMD Black Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600, XFX HD 5870 1GB with AC Accelero Twin Turbo Pro @ 920/1250, X-Fi XtremeGamer, WD Caviar Black 500GB x2 in RAID 0, WD Caviar Black 500GB for Backup, Pioneer DVR-115DBK & LG Blu-Ray GGC-H20LK, KINGWIN LZG-700 GOLD 700W, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
UberRN69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-09, 06:05 PM   #31
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Windows install smooth? It's a NIGHTMARE!

err............................................... ...... torrent.....?
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-09, 07:29 PM   #32
3777
Registered User
 
3777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 199
Default Re: Windows install smooth? It's a NIGHTMARE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Who uses IDE anymore
As a matter of fact sir ........

Though I am considering a Hitachi SATA 500gb or 1 pterodactyl drive.

Of note, the only time I ever got blue screen stack dump errors during an OS install, it was the result of a bad hard drive.
3777 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-08-09, 12:48 AM   #33
munkus
Cold nose, warm heart
 
munkus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,559
Default Re: Windows install smooth? It's a NIGHTMARE!

Call me crazy, but when will MS change their error codes from IRQ_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL to something like "Your hard drive is toast" or "Your RAM is fubar"? It's not nearly as sexy as IRQ_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL but it'll make troubleshooting easier.
munkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-09, 07:38 AM   #34
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Windows install smooth? It's a NIGHTMARE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fugu_fish View Post
Yes +1. Any BSODs during install are 99.9 % hardware related. Bad ram, improperly seated HSF, etc.
I cannot see how one OS can be more sensitive to hardware or not. The OS is not hardware diagnosis software, just like a regular doctor is no brain surgeon.

You cannot really get out of the situation if the OS says it's bad, if it says the hardware is bad (when really it's not) there is nothing you can do.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-09, 09:54 PM   #35
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Windows install smooth? It's a NIGHTMARE!

Well, after underclocking my ram to 1333Mhz, I CANNOT BSOD now, it's super stable. I love the customization Win7 has.

But I can't for the life me wonder why WinXP didn't mind the ram at spec speeds, but Win7 can't stand it.
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-09, 10:28 PM   #36
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Windows install smooth? It's a NIGHTMARE!

XP also doesn't mind unstability, random crashes, viruses and other items too
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.