Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-10, 05:47 AM   #97
gio___
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: 260GTX nvidia-drivers-190.42-r3 - powermizer issue

to mrn and cjg:
the laptop is a rebrand of a Clevo w860CU. in all my nvidia-bug-report you can find more specific information.

summarizing:
-CPU i7-820QM
-4Gb ram DDR3 1333Mhz
-nvidia GTX 260M

- Gentoo Linux, kernel 2.6.34
- Xorg-server 1.8.1-r1
- Awesome WM

Ok glxgears is not a bencmark but is quite indicative of the overall perfomance. In the results that I posted xcompmgr (the compositing manager) was disabled.

I have CUDA Sdk installed so tell me which test you prefer or what other benchmark program you want.
gio___ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-10, 08:10 AM   #98
cjb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: 260GTX nvidia-drivers-190.42-r3 - powermizer issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by gio___ View Post

Ok glxgears is not a bencmark but is quite indicative of the overall perfomance. In the results that I posted xcompmgr (the compositing manager) was disabled.

I have CUDA Sdk installed so tell me which test you prefer or what other benchmark program you want.
Thanks - I'm interested in the FDTD3d example myself; something like

./FDTD3d --dimx=144 --dimy=144 --dimz=144

for which I get:

gtx260m - 284 MPoints/s
gt240 - 754 MPoints/s
c1060 - 1909 MPoints/s

The gtx260m should really be close to the gt240. This one's not a sterling benchmark either, but it's fairly close...
cjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-10, 08:49 AM   #99
gio___
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: 260GTX nvidia-drivers-190.42-r3 - powermizer issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjb View Post
Thanks - I'm interested in the FDTD3d example myself; something like

./FDTD3d --dimx=144 --dimy=144 --dimz=144

for which I get:

gtx260m - 284 MPoints/s
gt240 - 754 MPoints/s
c1060 - 1909 MPoints/s

The gtx260m should really be close to the gt240. This one's not a sterling benchmark either, but it's fairly close...
./FDTD3d --dimx=144 --dimy=144 --dimz=144
./FDTD3d Starting...

Set-up, based upon target device GMEM size...
getTargetDeviceGlobalMemSize
cudaGetDeviceCount
cudaGetDeviceProperties
calloc host_output
malloc input
malloc coeff
generateRandomData

FDTD on 144 x 144 x 144 volume with symmetric filter radius 4 for 5 timesteps...

fdtdReference...
calloc intermediate
Host FDTD loop
t = 0
t = 1
t = 2
t = 3
t = 4

fdtdReference complete
calloc device_output
fdtdGPU...
cudaGetDeviceCount
cudaSetDevice (device 0)
cudaMalloc bufferOut
cudaMalloc bufferIn
set block size to 16x16
cudaMemcpy (HostToDevice) bufferIn
cudaMemcpy (HostToDevice) bufferOut
cudaMemcpyToSymbol (HostToDevice) stencil
cudaEventCreate
cudaEventCreate
GPU FDTD loop
t = 0 launch kernel
t = 1 launch kernel
t = 2 launch kernel
t = 3 launch kernel
t = 4 launch kernel

cudaThreadSynchronize
cudaMemcpy (DeviceToHost)
cudaEventElapsedTime

FDTD3d, Throughput = 179030.9718 MPoints/s, Time = 0.00002 s, Size = 2820096 Points, NumDevsUsed = 1, Blocksize = 256
gio___ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-10, 10:06 AM   #100
cjb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: 260GTX nvidia-drivers-190.42-r3 - powermizer issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by gio___ View Post
FDTD3d, Throughput = 179030.9718 MPoints/s, Time = 0.00002 s, Size = 2820096 Points, NumDevsUsed = 1, Blocksize = 256
...and it reported PASSED at the end? This number would imply a minimum memory bandwidth of 716 GB/s (the Tesla C1060 has a peak of 106, and the gtx60m has 61; good if we can sustain 10 or so) and the FDTD algo is not quite that efficient. Something's not quite right...
cjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-10, 10:48 AM   #101
gio___
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: 260GTX nvidia-drivers-190.42-r3 - powermizer issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjb View Post
...and it reported PASSED at the end? This number would imply a minimum memory bandwidth of 716 GB/s (the Tesla C1060 has a peak of 106, and the gtx60m has 61; good if we can sustain 10 or so) and the FDTD algo is not quite that efficient. Something's not quite right...
you're right:

CompareData (tolerance 0.000100)...
Data error at point (4,4,4) 0.047833 instead of 10.829188

FAILED


!!! Error # 0 at line 48 , in file src/FDTD3d.cpp !!!

Exiting...
-----------------------------------------------------------
gio___ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-10, 10:56 AM   #102
cjb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: 260GTX nvidia-drivers-190.42-r3 - powermizer issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by gio___ View Post
you're right:

CompareData (tolerance 0.000100)...
Data error at point (4,4,4) 0.047833 instead of 10.829188

FAILED


!!! Error # 0 at line 48 , in file src/FDTD3d.cpp !!!

Exiting...
-----------------------------------------------------------
Well, believe me, I'd be one rich little sucker tomorrow if I could get that number for real. Meantime, try changing 144 to 128 (the smallest setting it allows) for all three numbers, and see if you get a good result; thanks
cjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-10, 10:59 AM   #103
gio___
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: 260GTX nvidia-drivers-190.42-r3 - powermizer issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjb View Post
Well, believe me, I'd be one rich little sucker tomorrow if I could get that number for real. Meantime, try changing 144 to 128 (the smallest setting it allows) for all three numbers, and see if you get a good result; thanks
# ./FDTD3d --dimx=128 --dimy=128 --dimz=128
./FDTD3d Starting...

Set-up, based upon target device GMEM size...
getTargetDeviceGlobalMemSize
cudaGetDeviceCount
cudaGetDeviceProperties
calloc host_output
malloc input
malloc coeff
generateRandomData

FDTD on 128 x 128 x 128 volume with symmetric filter radius 4 for 5 timesteps...

fdtdReference...
calloc intermediate
Host FDTD loop
t = 0
t = 1
t = 2
t = 3
t = 4

fdtdReference complete
calloc device_output
fdtdGPU...
cudaGetDeviceCount
cudaSetDevice (device 0)
cudaMalloc bufferOut
cudaMalloc bufferIn
set block size to 16x16
cudaMemcpy (HostToDevice) bufferIn
cudaMemcpy (HostToDevice) bufferOut
cudaMemcpyToSymbol (HostToDevice) stencil
cudaEventCreate
cudaEventCreate
GPU FDTD loop
t = 0 launch kernel
t = 1 launch kernel
t = 2 launch kernel
t = 3 launch kernel
t = 4 launch kernel

cudaThreadSynchronize
cudaMemcpy (DeviceToHost)
cudaEventElapsedTime

FDTD3d, Throughput = 90619.4714 MPoints/s, Time = 0.00002 s, Size = 1966080 Points, NumDevsUsed = 1, Blocksize = 256

cudaThreadExit
fdtdGPU complete

CompareData (tolerance 0.000100)...
Data error at point (4,4,4) 0.073752 instead of 10.781720

FAILED


!!! Error # 0 at line 48 , in file src/FDTD3d.cpp !!!

Exiting...
-----------------------------------------------------------
gio___ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-10, 11:11 AM   #104
cjb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: 260GTX nvidia-drivers-190.42-r3 - powermizer issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by gio___ View Post
FDTD3d, Throughput = 90619.4714 MPoints/s, Time = 0.00002 s, Size = 1966080 Points, NumDevsUsed = 1, Blocksize = 256

cudaThreadExit
fdtdGPU complete

CompareData (tolerance 0.000100)...
Data error at point (4,4,4) 0.073752 instead of 10.781720

FAILED


!!! Error # 0 at line 48 , in file src/FDTD3d.cpp !!!

Exiting...
-----------------------------------------------------------
Well, crap. OK, I like it less (cause it's less like what I do), but can you try the matrixMul example?
cjb is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-10, 11:21 AM   #105
gio___
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: 260GTX nvidia-drivers-190.42-r3 - powermizer issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjb View Post
Well, crap. OK, I like it less (cause it's less like what I do), but can you try the matrixMul example?
[ matrixMul ]
./matrixMul Starting...

Device 0: "GeForce GTX 260M" with Compute 1.1 capability

Using Matrix Sizes: A(80 x 160), B(80 x 80), C(80 x 160)

Run Kernels...

matrixMul, Throughput = 47.7019 GFlop/s, Time = 0.00004 s, Size = 2048000 Ops, NumDevsUsed = 1, Workgroup = 256

Check against Host computation...

PASSED
gio___ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-10, 11:29 AM   #106
cjb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: 260GTX nvidia-drivers-190.42-r3 - powermizer issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by gio___ View Post
matrixMul, Throughput = 47.7019 GFlop/s, Time = 0.00004 s, Size = 2048000 Ops, NumDevsUsed = 1, Workgroup = 256

Check against Host computation...

PASSED
Cool. As far as I can tell, that's a good number (better than I get from a desktop gt 240, and about half what I get from a c1070). My Alienware is reporting about 19.8. Maybe I'll have to try gentoo.... thanks for the effort!
cjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-10, 11:40 AM   #107
gio___
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: 260GTX nvidia-drivers-190.42-r3 - powermizer issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjb View Post
Cool. As far as I can tell, that's a good number (better than I get from a desktop gt 240, and about half what I get from a c1070). My Alienware is reporting about 19.8. Maybe I'll have to try gentoo.... thanks for the effort!
You're welcome
I use only the CUDA volume rendering stuff and I think there was a marked improvement in performance from 256.29 drivers with the PowerMizer/ACPI fix.
In any case in my experience, compiz and compositing in general significantly reduces the the video card performance... so I can live without some transparency if this leads to better video performace

If you need some configuration files such as mine kernel .config for gentoo just ask...

Gio
gio___ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-10, 11:13 AM   #108
gio___
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: 260GTX nvidia-drivers-190.42-r3 - powermizer issue

When I boot the laptop with AC power and I continue using it on battery mode Xorg crashes and that's is the error reported in dmesg:

NVRM: Xid (0002:00): 6, PE0001

NOTE: ACPI change correctly it's status from AC to Battery but nvidia-setting don't switch.

It's WM indipendent, I have the same crash with Gnome or Awesome WM.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (42.7 KB, 69 views)
gio___ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.