Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-09, 01:56 AM   #1
I-7 4.0throttle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default two GTX280's

Hello, I have installed 2 gtx280's in my I7 box and it will boot but hangs until I removed the second 280. If anyone may have some ideas I would appreciate their help. System is brand new, I built a I7, 6gigs 1600mhz OCR on a EX58-UD3R. System case is loaded with fans, 2 Raptor 150's and 1 wd 1TB drive. Works great, clock at 4.0 ghz on all 4 cores and not one glitch after a 48 hour intense burn-in. As long as only one 280 is installed its fine. Install the second SLI'd and boots past post to drive discovery and hangs???? Thanks so much in advance.
Regards,
J
I-7 4.0throttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-09, 02:24 AM   #2
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: two GTX280's

Quote:
Originally Posted by I-7 4.0throttle View Post
Hello, I have installed 2 gtx280's in my I7 box and it will boot but hangs until I removed the second 280. If anyone may have some ideas I would appreciate their help. System is brand new, I built a I7, 6gigs 1600mhz OCR on a EX58-UD3R. System case is loaded with fans, 2 Raptor 150's and 1 wd 1TB drive. Works great, clock at 4.0 ghz on all 4 cores and not one glitch after a 48 hour intense burn-in. As long as only one 280 is installed its fine. Install the second SLI'd and boots past post to drive discovery and hangs???? Thanks so much in advance.
Regards,
J
power supply?
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-09, 08:21 AM   #3
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: two GTX280's

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
power supply?
That would be my guess as well...

Alot of people really overlook the importance of a good, solid power supply
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-09, 01:36 PM   #4
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Re: two GTX280's

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowmanwithahat View Post
That would be my guess as well...

Alot of people really overlook the importance of a good, solid power supply
That's right. I bet it is.
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-09, 04:06 PM   #5
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: two GTX280's

The 280 doesn't have a light on the back to indicate a power failure like the 295 does it? That would tell you right away.

Try swapping out the cards and see if it boots with the secondary card in the primary slot all by itself. That will at least let you know the card is good.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.