Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-09, 03:15 PM   #1
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default hdmi and dvi

can i use a dvi to hdmi adapter and plug it into one of my gtx 260's while still in sli and get 1080p Hd?
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-09, 03:31 PM   #2
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: hdmi and dvi

I'm kind of confused by your question. If you mean can you just run the adapter and use hdmi instead of dvi I'm sure you can.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-09, 03:41 PM   #3
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: hdmi and dvi

okay i have dual gtx 260's in sli i want to run HD on them, i dont want to run hdmi through my onboard gpu cuz it disabled and the hd would look like crap and i cant game on because its not really hat good i just want to have amazing looking high definiton cuz i read you have to have a god card for it to look good so i want to get a dvi to hdmi adapter get what im saying?
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-09, 03:51 PM   #4
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: hdmi and dvi

If your gaming on that 22" still you're going to be limited to 1680x1050 regardless of what cable you use, and as far as picture quality you're not going to see a difference from hdmi to dvi. The only nice thing about hdmi is that it also routes sound as well.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-09, 03:54 PM   #5
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: hdmi and dvi

i bought this monitor
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Gateway+...&skuId=9350702

it cmae with an hdmi cable my mobo has a hdmi slot but the only way i can get hdmi to enable is if i enable hybrid sli and plug the hdmi cable into the hdmi slot and go into nvidia cp and click on the 1920x1080 1080P can i have sli with my dual gtx 260's enabled and still use hdmi?
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-09, 04:01 PM   #6
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: hdmi and dvi

Yes you could, but you're not going to see a benefit from it. The only reason I would do it that way would be if your monitor doesn't have a dvi port. If it does just use dvi, it can display 1080p just fine.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-09, 04:48 PM   #7
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: hdmi and dvi

Yes, you will get full output upto 1080p.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-09, 05:20 PM   #8
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: hdmi and dvi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
Yes, you will get full output upto 1080p.


using the dvi to hdmi adapter?
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-14-09, 03:20 AM   #9
jlippo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 532
Default Re: hdmi and dvi

Quote:
Originally Posted by trivium nate View Post
using the dvi to hdmi adapter?
The data doesn't change, so yes.
jlippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-09, 01:31 PM   #10
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: hdmi and dvi

well i got the adapter and everything looks amazing except movies it I think i want to bring it back and try another one
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-09, 01:41 PM   #11
FearMeAll
 
FearMeAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: hdmi and dvi

Quote:
Originally Posted by trivium nate View Post
well i got the adapter and everything looks amazing except movies it I think i want to bring it back and try another one
I have a lot of DVI to HDMI adapters myself and can see no difference between expensive cables and cheap ones. I wasted 200 bucks on a 6 foot monster cable, but spent $40 on a 25 foot monoprice cable and have seen no difference at all.

If you're playing blu-rays on the pc and you are not hdcp compliant get AnyDVD HD software to get the full 1080p resolution. I really dislike this whole HDCP compliant nonsense.

There are workarounds for everything.
__________________
Consoles: Xbox Elite with HDDVD drive and PS3.
Screen:
Panasonic AX200U Widescreen Projector (1280x720), 160" HighPower Screen, AND A BIG COUCH.
[FONT="Courier New"] HTPC: Intel Wolfdale 3ghz, 4 gigs DDR2 800 ram, 500gig HDD, Craptastic 7600GS, Windows 7 32bit, XBMC installed [/FONT] :D
[B]My Video Encoding/Office rig:[/B] [I] Intel QX9650 @ 3ghz, 1333mhz FSB, 4gigs Patriot Extreme DDR3 @ 1333mhz, XFX 790i 3-way Sli mobo, Xf-Fi Extreme Gamer, 400watt Fanless Power Supply, 9500GT 64-bit bus(ouch!), 8.750TB HDD, Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate. [B][FONT="Arial Narrow"]Everything at stock and completely boring..[/FONT][/B][/I] :type:
FearMeAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-09, 02:02 PM   #12
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: hdmi and dvi

im not playting blue rays jsut regular dvd's

i tihnk im hdcp compliant nvidia control says something about im at work ill look later but thanks
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.