Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-09, 10:04 AM   #1
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default 12GB of RAM nessary for me?

Is there any reason for me to buy another set of RAM for my PC? (check sig for system specifications) My primary use for my PC is gaming. I was told if I get another 6GB of RAM Windows will run much faster. A so called "computer expert" told me with 12GB of RAM Windows will load the complete operating system into the RAM and will then run faster. Sounds kinda fishy to me but figured I would ask.

My RAM is. OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 Tripple Channel.

Thank You!
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 10:11 AM   #2
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: 12GB of RAM nessary for me?

No.

/Thread

It will not load all of windows into ram either. There will be no difference between 6GB and 12GB of ram unless you run a program that actually needs more memory.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 10:14 AM   #3
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: 12GB of RAM nessary for me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butter Bandit View Post
It's bs. 6 gigs is plenty. You wouldn't notice any difference going from 6 to 12.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
No.

/Thread

It will not load all of windows into ram either. There will be no difference between 6GB and 12GB of ram unless you run a program that actually needs more memory.
This.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 10:28 AM   #4
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: 12GB of RAM nessary for me?

Thats what I figured. Where do people get this crap from? lol. One time I was editing/rendering a 2 1/2 hour video and I used 82% of my RAM, so I think I will hold off for a while. I doubt there is any game out there that needs more than what my system has already.

Thank you guys!!
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 10:41 AM   #5
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: 12GB of RAM nessary for me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musman View Post
Thats what I figured. Where do people get this crap from? lol. One time I was editing/rendering a 2 1/2 hour video and I used 82% of my RAM, so I think I will hold off for a while. I doubt there is any game out there that needs more than what my system has already.

Thank you guys!!
You have a pretty good system. It should be able to handle all the games that's out there today.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 11:36 AM   #6
dandano
hardware antiquarian
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 282
Default Re: 12GB of RAM nessary for me?

That's Windows 7 64-bit, right?
__________________
Intel Core i7-950 3.06GHz LGA 1366 | Asus P6X58D-E | Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (7-8-7-20) | Western Digital VelociRaptor 1TB SATA (Windows 7 Pro) | LiteOn iHES208 BluRay DVD Burner SATA | EVGA GTX 770 SC | Corsair HX650 PSU 3.3v(24A) 5v(30A) 12v(52A) | Lian Li PC-60 Plus case with window (black) | Monsoon 2.1 Speakers | Dell UltraSharp U2410 LCD (1920x1200@60Hz)
dandano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 11:40 AM   #7
FlakMagnet
Registered User
 
FlakMagnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farnborough, UK
Posts: 335
Default Re: 12GB of RAM nessary for me?

Going with 12GB of RAM *could* actually have a -ve impact on performance if you have to run the RAM at a slower speed. On some motherboards, you cannot run all 6 RAM slots as fast as you can 3 RAM slots. Depends on mobo and RAM though I guess.

At best, you will not notice a difference. At worst, you will have to run your RAM slower and you will have a slower PC.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 | i7 920 @ 3.6GHz
POV GTX480 | 6GB Patriot DDR3 @1443
X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro | 120GB OCZ Vertex SSD
2xSamsung 7200 750GB RAID 0| Akasa Eclipse 62
FlakMagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 12:01 PM   #8
pkirby11
Registered User
 
pkirby11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 927
Send a message via AIM to pkirby11
Default Re: 12GB of RAM nessary for me?

Funny I went from 2GB, 4GB, 8GB then to 12GB on each of my last four PC upgrades. I went with 8GB and 12GB not because the system will "load windows into memory" that's just stupid. However have you heard of a thing called a swap file or page file? This is used when Windows starts to run out of memory and will swap memory for a file on the disk acting as memory. This causes HDD writes/reads and will degrade performance. I've been running without a swap file for a year and a half and it's made a big difference in performance.

Search around on Google and you'll find a few test articles on this matter and yes it does improve performance. How much of improvement varies but memory isn't a big cost as it used to be. And remember any thing done in memory is going to be faster than read/writes from the hard drive, except for maybe a newer SSD.

So yes there is an advantage to having 8+GB of memory, but it's not going to make your system 10x faster.
__________________
Steam: pkirby11

PSN: pkirby11
pkirby11 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-23-09, 12:15 PM   #9
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: 12GB of RAM nessary for me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC View Post
You have a pretty good system. It should be able to handle all the games that's out there today.
Thanks DiscipleDOC. For the most part it does play most new games maxed out except Crysis Cryostasis, FSX and a few others. It's the AA settings and PhysiX settings that can tax my system.
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 12:17 PM   #10
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: 12GB of RAM nessary for me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandano View Post
That's Windows 7 64-bit, right?
I am using 7 Ultimate RC 64Bit as of now. I will be getting the "true" W7 Ultimate in the near future.
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 12:18 PM   #11
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: 12GB of RAM nessary for me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlakMagnet View Post
Going with 12GB of RAM *could* actually have a -ve impact on performance if you have to run the RAM at a slower speed. On some motherboards, you cannot run all 6 RAM slots as fast as you can 3 RAM slots. Depends on mobo and RAM though I guess.

At best, you will not notice a difference. At worst, you will have to run your RAM slower and you will have a slower PC.
Thanks for the input. I will half to check my MB and see what the deal is.
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 12:22 PM   #12
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: 12GB of RAM nessary for me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pkirby11 View Post
Funny I went from 2GB, 4GB, 8GB then to 12GB on each of my last four PC upgrades. I went with 8GB and 12GB not because the system will "load windows into memory" that's just stupid. However have you heard of a thing called a swap file or page file? This is used when Windows starts to run out of memory and will swap memory for a file on the disk acting as memory. This causes HDD writes/reads and will degrade performance. I've been running without a swap file for a year and a half and it's made a big difference in performance.

Search around on Google and you'll find a few test articles on this matter and yes it does improve performance. How much of improvement varies but memory isn't a big cost as it used to be. And remember any thing done in memory is going to be faster than read/writes from the hard drive, except for maybe a newer SSD.

So yes there is an advantage to having 8+GB of memory, but it's not going to make your system 10x faster.
I have read about the swap file for a while, I read that some recommend doing it and some warn about doing it. The warning I heard was that some programs require a swap file and will not run if you do this. Don't know how true that is. With my 6 gigs I have now, do I have enough to try it?

Thanks!
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.