Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-09, 09:56 AM   #1
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Stupid Upgrade Question

I know this has been asked a thousand times so I apologize.

Can I buy the $30 student 7 upgrade to 64 bit and install it if I'm currently running XP 32 bit(well, I have the Win7 RC installed so to speak)?

Because I plan on upgrading my computer soon. Or do I have to go out and buy the expensive version?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 03:56 PM   #2
Albo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 3,633
Default Re: Stupid Upgrade Question

Yes, but I am not so sure that the offer is still available. I think it expired on October 31st, but I could be wrong. Anyways, you can. It's called a custom install, and that is what you would preform.
Albo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 09:09 PM   #3
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Stupid Upgrade Question

You can do a custom install with Win 7 RC installed. That's what I did and it worked without a hitch, in about 30 minutes Windows 7 was installed and up and running.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 09:37 PM   #4
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Stupid Upgrade Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by albokid2468 View Post
Yes, but I am not so sure that the offer is still available. I think it expired on October 31st, but I could be wrong. Anyways, you can. It's called a custom install, and that is what you would preform.
I think the offer is good until January. Have to check that though...
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-09, 11:43 PM   #5
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Stupid Upgrade Question

Went ahead and bought the full version from j0j0, it will be easier when/if I decide to build a new system. Thanks for the replies guys, still was helpful.

/thread
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-09, 12:41 AM   #6
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Stupid Upgrade Question

Glad to help.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-09, 02:41 AM   #7
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Stupid Upgrade Question

__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-09, 09:53 AM   #8
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: Stupid Upgrade Question

I got the Family 3 Upgrade Pack and I did a format install on all 3 and registered just fine with no problems.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.