Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-10, 04:52 PM   #1
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default EVGA Classified

Well I decided to change out my Gigabyte Extreme for a new EVGA Classified. Put in my OCZ Blade 2000mhz 7-8-7-1t. It has been great up until yesterday. Was perfectly stable at 4.2 at 1.34 volts and mem running just under 2000 at 1.65 volts.

I have been getting constant Blue Screens. I have tried all sorts of settings in the bios. Even at completely stock settings it still blue screens. I ran each stick individually in memtest and get errors. So i upped the VTT volts slightly and they pass. But boot back into windows and bam Blue screen.

I have another machine and I took out the memory form that and put it in the EVGA and now no more blue screens.

LOOKS LIKE THE EVGA HAS KILLED MY OCZ BLADES.

Very very disappointed in EVGA.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-10, 05:23 PM   #2
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: EVGA Classified

Why did you go from the extreme to the classified? more overclocking?
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-10, 05:25 PM   #3
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: EVGA Classified

Well the super Talent has been running for almost an hour now without issue. It does look as if the EVGA killed my Ram. I'm going to RMA the Ram. I wounder if I should also do the same for the motherboard. The ram was only ever run at it's rated speeds. After all the Ram was running for over a year in the Gigabyte without these problems.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-10, 07:02 PM   #4
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: EVGA Classified

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
Why did you go from the extreme to the classified? more overclocking?
Just wanted to try out a different board really. I wish I hadn't now.

I put my blades back into my old rig with the Gigabyte and memtest throws up thousands of errors.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-10, 07:26 PM   #5
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: EVGA Classified

you got greedy
Looking from how rock solid my gigabyte has been, i really dont see myself buying something from competitors unless it is an amazing deal or amazing product.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-10, 08:31 PM   #6
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: EVGA Classified

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
you got greedy
Looking from how rock solid my gigabyte has been, i really don't see myself buying something from competitors unless it is an amazing deal or amazing product.
Yeah that's true. It's a hard lesson. Those Blades where awesome. Hard to find now. Hopefully they will RMA them and not try to give me a reimbursement.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-10, 09:59 PM   #7
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: EVGA Classified

I don't think the board killed the ram...sometimes ram fails after a short time.

I've been running mine at CL 6 1.67v for over six months with no issues.
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-10, 10:13 PM   #8
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: EVGA Classified

Quote:
Originally Posted by lee63 View Post
I don't think the board killed the ram...sometimes ram fails after a short time.

I've been running mine at CL 6 1.67v for over six months with no issues.
No that is true. I have never overclocked this stuff. I've never had to, it was so fast. It may just be a total coincidence, that I changed out the board and this happened. Although I don't think it is. A friend of mine Deanzo from Extreme Systems also had this Ram and an EVGA Classified 762 4xSLI. One of his sticks also died in his after swapping it out of an Asus Rampage 2 to the EVGA. So there is a pattern, even if it is only 2 of us.

I still think the EVGA has a big part to play in this.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-07-10, 03:52 AM   #9
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: EVGA Classified

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
EVGA boards killing highend memory... I can tell stories all day long about that. But I always thought it was related to the ultra crappy 680i chipset.

Sorry to hear you're having problems with your new board Muppet Why didn't you wait for the ASUS Rampage III Extreme?
I really wish i would have, believe me. It also looks like OCZ doesn't make the CL7 2000mhz Blades any more.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 04:11 AM   #10
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: EVGA Classified

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
I know how it is. I also had to wait a few months to get a replacement for my G.skill DDR2 800 CL3 memory just to get it fried by the EVGA 680i (newer revision this time) within two days again... Then I never got a replacement, that memory was too rare somehow...
Yeah it doesn't make you happy when you have to use up money you have saved for Fermi to get another set of Ram so you can use your PC. It will probably take a couple of weeks to find out they don't have it anymore and I'll have to get a refund or settle for something less.

Might have to take the refund and buy some Corsair high end stuff.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 05:57 AM   #11
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: EVGA Classified

This my friends is why I don't o/c memory. Not worth it to me, just get some decent high mhz ram at low timings and run bone stock. Never had a problem with that setup for me, and I was able to get more juice out of the CPU o/c than anything.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 10:42 PM   #12
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: EVGA Classified

Quote:
Originally Posted by v3rninater View Post
This my friends is why I don't o/c memory. Not worth it to me, just get some decent high mhz ram at low timings and run bone stock. Never had a problem with that setup for me, and I was able to get more juice out of the CPU o/c than anything.
That is the same for me. I bought the high end Ram so I didn't have to overclock it. I always ran it at its rated speed. Never once did I exceed it.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.