Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-09, 09:00 PM   #1
HaVoK-G2
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 68
Default CPU DOA?

Seasons greetings!

Need some help on an annoying problem.

Basically:

New system build for a friend, when powered on 4 LED's on the mobo light up, case fans start up and spin, CPU fan spins, no Video, no Post, no beeps/warnings. Computer just sits there with fans spinning and LED's on.

Motherboard has been Exchanged for a replacement, same thing happens with the replacement motherboard.

Freezer 7 fan doesn't spin on it's own, it has to be tapped to get going. Stock heatsync works fine (Happened on both motherboards, possibly defect with the Freezer 7 heatsync)

I've tried clearing the bios and reseating the CPU, rebuilding everything and checking all connetions. I've tried running it with bare essentials and anything un-needed unplugged.

Could this be an incompatibility problem with the mobo? Or is it a Dead CPU?

I told him to get a different brand mobo but he just replaced it >_<

I'd try upgrading the bios but there's no way for me to I don't think if it doesn't even start up. I don't have any extra compatible CPUs to try in the system.

Specs:
CPU: Intel i5 750 retail
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P55M-UD2 LGA 1156
Videocard: Asus EN9800 GT
HD: WD 640GB
Heatsync: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 (Tried stock too)
Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1866 PC3-15000 2048mb x2 (F3-15000CL9D-4GBRH)
PSU: OCZ Stealth Xstream 700W

If anyone can help, thanks.
HaVoK-G2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-09, 09:08 PM   #2
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: CPU DOA?

What PSU are you using, and what are the specs of the PSU?

It is possible that it is a defective CPU. Also possible that the fan for the cooler could be defective.

Make sure you didn't forget to connect all power cords to the motherboard... 24 pin, 4-pin for the CPU... etc.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-09, 09:21 PM   #3
HaVoK-G2
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 68
Default Re: CPU DOA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
What PSU are you using, and what are the specs of the PSU?

It is possible that it is a defective CPU. Also possible that the fan for the cooler could be defective.

Make sure you didn't forget to connect all power cords to the motherboard... 24 pin, 4-pin for the CPU... etc.
PSU is OCZ Stealth Xstream 700W

I've triple checked all connections and even rebuilt it a few times to make sure I'm not missing anything, the 24pin and 4pin is connected etc. The freezer 7 is probably defective, I installed the stock one that comes with the i5 and that works fine.
HaVoK-G2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-09, 09:22 PM   #4
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: CPU DOA?

Well, I'd suggest replacing the CPU then. And even the HSF. Seems kinda' odd to get a defective CPU and HSF. But, it is possible.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-09, 09:37 PM   #5
HaVoK-G2
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 68
Default Re: CPU DOA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
Well, I'd suggest replacing the CPU then. And even the HSF. Seems kinda' odd to get a defective CPU and HSF. But, it is possible.
I've tried the freezer 7 HSF and the stock intel supplies one, the intel one seems fine. I guess if my friend RMA's his cpu he'll get a new HSF in the retail box again.

Is the CPU the only thing left to be going wrong I guess?
HaVoK-G2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-09, 10:06 PM   #6
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: CPU DOA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HaVoK-G2 View Post
I've tried the freezer 7 HSF and the stock intel supplies one, the intel one seems fine. I guess if my friend RMA's his cpu he'll get a new HSF in the retail box again.

Is the CPU the only thing left to be going wrong I guess?
That is what it is sounding like. If everything is connected properly I see no other alternative.

Wait- the video card... can you try it in another computer? Do you have another video card you can try in his?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-09, 10:10 PM   #7
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: CPU DOA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HaVoK-G2 View Post
PSU is OCZ Stealth Xstream 700W

I've triple checked all connections and even rebuilt it a few times to make sure I'm not missing anything, the 24pin and 4pin is connected etc. The freezer 7 is probably defective, I installed the stock one that comes with the i5 and that works fine.
It actually looks like an 8 pin and 24 pin
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-09, 10:19 PM   #8
HaVoK-G2
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 68
Default Re: CPU DOA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rum Cooler View Post
It actually looks like an 8 pin and 24 pin
It is an 8pin, sorry was a typo. (And yes the 12V(4+4Pin) from the PSU is plugged in and not just one 4 pin :P)

Video card I've tried in another computer, it works. I've also tried another videocard in his computer, still nothing.

Thanks for the help so far all.
HaVoK-G2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-10-09, 10:40 PM   #9
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: CPU DOA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rum Cooler View Post
It actually looks like an 8 pin and 24 pin
To the best of my knowledge, most mobos only use a 4 pin in addition to the 20 or 24 pin- hence why I mentioned 4-pin.

If the video card is proven to work, then it sounds to me like the CPU is the culprit.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-09, 11:14 PM   #10
HaVoK-G2
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 68
Default Re: CPU DOA?

I feared so, just making sure I didn't miss any quirks.

I just tried two different PSU's from working machines, ruined all my cable management in those machines >:O
My friend better appreciate it

I'm just going to tell him to refund the the current mobo and get a better one, aswell as exchange the CPU.

Thanks for the help, I really wanted to be sure.
HaVoK-G2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-09, 06:11 PM   #11
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: CPU DOA?

Does the hard drive spin up? If yes, your cpu isn't dead. If no, it is very likely.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-09, 01:14 AM   #12
HaVoK-G2
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 68
Default Re: CPU DOA?

It's too late he's sent it off for replacement, I believe I heard the HD power on and spin but I can't double check now.

Thanks though Lyme.
HaVoK-G2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.