Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-15-09, 12:28 AM   #37
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Phenom II X4 965BE vs. Core i5 750

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpistol View Post
I pulled the trigger and ordered! Here's what I got

Phenom II X4 965be (125w)
Gigabyte UD3H 790GX motherboard
G.Skill 2x2GB PC3 12800 DDR3 1600 memory

Hopefully this will be here this week. I'll let you guys know how it runs when I get it!
There are not any agreed upon timing specs for 1600 memory, you'll want to head over to the g.skill forums and either search or ask for the appropriate settings for your ram. My ram didn't default to the correct settings, the people over at g.skill were quite helpful in giving me the info I needed.

If your bios is as cryptic as mine, here's a quick cheat sheet.
tCL - CAS Latency
tRCD - RAS to CAS delay
tRP - RAS Precharge
tRAS - Row Address Strobe/Row Address Select
T - Command rate.

Also 7-7-7-21-1T 1300 is more responsive than 7-7-7-21-2t 1600.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-09, 09:26 PM   #38
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Phenom II X4 965BE vs. Core i5 750

Another thing on the RAM.

My OCZ Reaper 1600 is factory clocked @ 1.9v. 1.9v on my Gigabyte UD4P is overclocked. Had a heck of a time getting stable on Win7 with that. Had to downclock to 1333 @ 1.8v
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-09, 03:09 PM   #39
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Phenom II X4 965BE vs. Core i5 750

Well, I got the stuff installed. My initial impressions were skeptical because I didn't notice a dramatic increase in speed. Then I began goofing around on games that I knew used a lot of CPU horsepower, and now this processor seems to be worth its value in gold. Every game I played felt more responsive and easier to control. The framerates are noticeably higher as well.

I'll admit that the upgrade from a Core 2 Duo e6600 to a Phenom II X4 965be isn't as great as I was hoping it would be... but then again, the e6600 has been a phenomenal (no pun intended) processor over the last 3 years. I've already benchmarked it a little bit, and its speed over the e6600, while not apparent at first glance, is still impressive in the benchmarks. My 9800 GTX+ is holding me back though. After Christmas, I'll be looking at getting a Radeon HD 5870. Once that's in my system, I think I'll be able to better explore the power of this processor.

The AM3 bracket for my TRUE is arriving sometime this afternoon. Once I get that installed, I'll start overclocking.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-09, 09:41 PM   #40
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Phenom II X4 965BE vs. Core i5 750

Did you flash to the latest mobo BIOS? I had to, as it was reporting I had a Phenom II 955, but running @ 1.6Ghz. When I flashed it, it went up to 3.2 Ghz.

Don't worry too much about Gigabyte's BIOS flashing, it's good...especially in Windows.
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-09, 10:06 PM   #41
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Phenom II X4 965BE vs. Core i5 750

Nope. didn't have to flash the bios. It's reading as a 965 @ 3.4Ghz.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-09, 08:02 AM   #42
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,068
Default Re: Phenom II X4 965BE vs. Core i5 750

Madpistol, nice job dude very informative. The wife's E6600 is still kicking.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-09, 09:28 AM   #43
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Phenom II X4 965BE vs. Core i5 750

Well, now I've figured out what this processor can do. My e6600 @ 3.2Ghz was able to record video at 720p @ 30fps on most games. I ran a new test on Mirrors Edge, and I was able to record video at 1080p @ 30fps!!! I looked at the CPU usage chart, and it looked like it was using roughly 80% of the processors total power, which means I had processor to spare as well. That is utterly amazing IMO.

I'm a believer in Quad Cores now. This processor may not be the most powerful chip on the market, but it blows the pants off of my old dual core. Every game I've played has been smoother and faster than the e6600 was. Even the single core apps that came before dual and quad cores were around are running smoother. If I knew I would have gotten this sort of a boost from having a couple extra cores on the chip, I would have moved to a quad core a couple years ago.


Ok, I'm done gushing. No I'm not. Anyone that's still on a dual core system for gaming needs to move to a Quad core i7/i5 or Phenom II X4. These processors are sick!

Next upgrade will be the move from a 9800 GTX+ to a Radeon 5870. This should just about double the current performance of my computer on games at the moment. I'm severely GPU limited at the moment. I'll be ordering that card hopefully in the next couple of weeks.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-09, 12:43 PM   #44
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,068
Default Re: Phenom II X4 965BE vs. Core i5 750

Yeah a 5870 in that rig should complete you.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-09, 03:38 PM   #45
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Phenom II X4 965BE vs. Core i5 750

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpistol View Post
Next upgrade will be the move from a 9800 GTX+ to a Radeon 5870. This should just about double the current performance of my computer on games at the moment. I'm severely GPU limited at the moment. I'll be ordering that card hopefully in the next couple of weeks.
I have one, and love it. They are in heavy demand though, so even after ordering you may have to wait a while.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-09, 04:14 PM   #46
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Phenom II X4 965BE vs. Core i5 750

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shamrock View Post
Did you flash to the latest mobo BIOS? I had to, as it was reporting I had a Phenom II 955, but running @ 1.6Ghz. When I flashed it, it went up to 3.2 Ghz.

Don't worry too much about Gigabyte's BIOS flashing, it's good...especially in Windows.
what? don't use use windows based programs. Use QFlash, it's simple and easy. Don't use @Bios. Tons of people screwed their motherboards up with windows based programs, and the gigabyte forums are full of stories.
There is a excellent QFlash guide here
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-09, 04:55 PM   #47
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Phenom II X4 965BE vs. Core i5 750

Pitty you didn't get ASUS, the ASUS EZ Flash 2 is amazing. They put the bios flash utility in the bios, and it reads fat/ntfs, etc.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-09, 09:54 PM   #48
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Phenom II X4 965BE vs. Core i5 750

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
what? don't use use windows based programs. Use QFlash, it's simple and easy. Don't use @Bios. Tons of people screwed their motherboards up with windows based programs, and the gigabyte forums are full of stories.
There is a excellent QFlash guide here
I've never had a problem with @Bios. But then again, I download the file before updating. I suppose those folks over on Giga forums don't know about dual bios? If it messes up, you can restore it.

@Madpistol

This CPU may not be the fastest on the market, but you sure can smile with the money you saved, and it's "only" a few frames slower. I say win-win!
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.