Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-22-09, 07:12 PM   #1
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Configure my NAT?

Guys ive been trying to host a server to play TrackMania Nations Forever online, Every time i got to host a game i get a message saying something along the lines of "Configure your NAT, Other players will not be able to join you otherwise".

My router is a D-LINK DIR-301

Would anybody have any ideas how i configure the "NAT" so that i can host a game?(this is the only game i have ever had this issue with)

Cheers.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-09, 10:35 AM   #2
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Configure my NAT?

I have the same problem with Modern Warfare 2, although I have a Linksys router. A lot of people say you have to forward certain ports to make your NAT "open" but I'm terrible with routers so I'm still lost. Someone here will probably be able to help you out hopefully . Try a google search for port forwarding on that router with TrackMania
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-09, 04:40 PM   #3
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: Configure my NAT?


















Sorry had to do it.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-09, 01:22 AM   #4
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Configure my NAT?

Nice post Siskods

My two cents... I would not add the computer to the DMZ as it will open all ports. Instead I would assign a static IP and just forward the ports that the program uses to the game. (that's the second set of bullets Siskods listed)
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-09, 10:57 AM   #5
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: Configure my NAT?

Yeah I am not a big fan of DMZ.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-09, 11:39 AM   #6
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: Configure my NAT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siskods9 View Post
If you are comfortable configuring this router and Windows networking and Firewall settings all you need do is:
  • Assign your internal host (your PC) a static IP that is excluded from the routers DHCP IP pool but on the same subnet as exists on the inside interface of the router (see router manual P64).
  • Configure this IP address as a DMZ host in the router config (see router manual P32), caution though as this will expose your PC to the perils of the web, all ports will be exposed the world... (not good practice).
  • So ensure your personal Firewall (windows firewall) is running and blocking all ports except ones you allow for your applications.Good idea to also have decent Anti virus running with up to date definitions and Intrusion detection facilities if possible...
  • I see that a TMN Dedicated server requires the following ports:2350 & 3450 (both TCP and UDP) and ports 8003, 8006, 8007, 8011, 8012, 8013 and 8016 through 8021 need to be open as well (though the online resource does not specify TCP, UDP or both so I'd open both TCP and UDP).
  • Anyway you need to allow all the above ports through your personal firewall and you're good to go...

Oh yeah you'll most likely need to be logged on as an Admin on your PC (I assume you are) to change the Networking and Firewall settings.

The above is kinduv the quick and dirty route...

You could also do:
  • Assign your internal host (your PC) a static IP that is excluded from the routers DHCP IP pool but on the same subnet as exists on the inside interface of the router (see router manual P64).
  • And configure the router to forward the required ports to your IP
  • And configure your local firewall to allow those ports through...

TMN Quick start guide is here:
http://www.gamers.org/tmn/quickstart.html

Your router owners manual is here (See pages 27, 32, 64):
http://www.kjell.com/filarkiv/SUPPOR...al_English.pdf

Never played this title but have some networking knowledge... Anyhoo Happy Holidays!
+ 1 for this Post
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.