Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-31-09, 11:33 AM   #1
hayj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13
Default Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

We need to run 3 displays with edge blending on a Linux platform. We are currently doing this with xinerama and everything works fine. However we would like to use the vdpau support that mplayer now offers to reduce the load on our cpu. It is my understanding that vpdau is not supported with xinerama, only twinview, which limits us to two diplays.

First, I guess, is there any mention of if or when xinerama will work with vdpau? My search only found posts mentioning that it's not currently supported.

Second, would something like a Quadro Plex in SLI Mosaic Mode work for us? It's supported in Linux and from my understanding is seen by the OS as one graphics card. That suggests vdpau would work. Am I wrong about this? The only question would be can you use edge blending on your displays?
hayj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-10, 04:18 PM   #2
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayj View Post
Second, would something like a Quadro Plex in SLI Mosaic Mode work for us?
Unfortunately, VDPAU is not mentioned for SLI Mosaic on the corresponding nvidia
product page, but since QPlex is specifically designed for video wall applications,
there is a good chance it will work. However, at the price tag of such a device,
I would triple check before purchasing :-)

Anyway, depending on your requirements, using a Matrox TripleHead2Go video
splitter might be a cheaper alternative - please check the following links for details:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=106517
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=126134
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=133740

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayj View Post
The only question would be can you use edge blending on your displays?
What exactly do you mean by "edge blending"? Do you mean
the option of having overlapping display regions or gaps?
Matrox calls this feature "Bezel Management", but unfortunately,
this feature is not supported on Linux for the TH2G. QPlex might
be able to do that, but again, at the price tag of such a device,
I would triple check before purchasing ...

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-10, 06:55 PM   #3
hayj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

Thanks for the response. Unfortunately we've tried the TripleHead2Go with no luck.

By edge blending I mean having a region of overlap where the screens combine so that the combined intensity of the overlap sums to the intensity of of a single display.

I have called Nvidia and inquired about the Quadro Plex. I'll post what I find.
hayj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-10, 08:37 AM   #4
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayj View Post
By edge blending I mean having a region of overlap where the screens combine so that the combined intensity of the overlap sums to the intensity of of a single display.
I guess you means by using projectors? I think it's hard to add intensities with LCDs :-)

Anyway, the TH2G can only do gaps but no overlapping. However, I'm pretty sure this
is a just a software limitation.

BTW.: if it's just about vdpau accelerated video with xinerama,, it seems
that there does exist an alternative - please check the following
thread (posting #11 in particular)

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=139595

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-10, 12:58 PM   #5
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

VDPAU is intended to operate correctly when used in conjunction with SLI Mosaic.

What is your existing edge-blending solution? I'm not sure whether Quadro Plex/SLI Mosaic themselves perform this feature, or whether it's something you'd have to configure into your projectors.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-10, 08:30 AM   #6
hayj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Warren View Post
VDPAU is intended to operate correctly when used in conjunction with SLI Mosaic.

What is your existing edge-blending solution? I'm not sure whether Quadro Plex/SLI Mosaic themselves perform this feature, or whether it's something you'd have to configure into your projectors.
Right now we have 3 projectors being used for display that are edge blended. The are driven by two 8600 gt's. The fourth is a terminal not used in the display. The displays are edge blended and combined using xinerama.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaXXoN View Post
BTW.: if it's just about vdpau accelerated video with xinerama,, it seems
that there does exist an alternative - please check the following
thread (posting #11 in particular)

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=139595

regards

Bernhard
Does this mean that we can just use the latest release of xine to enable vdpau across our 3 display's using xinerama?

Edit: I see on their site that it is part of a 1.2 branch but don't see where to download it.

Last edited by hayj; 01-05-10 at 08:50 AM. Reason: New information
hayj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-10, 11:43 AM   #7
hayj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

OK. So I was a little confused about the details and have cleared a few things up. The edge blending for us is done in hardware an a separate machine. It would be nice to have this in the Nvidia driver, but not required.

What is necessary is the ability to pass overlapped regions to the different displays so the edge blending can be done. In other words display 1 handles horizontal range of 0-100, display 2 handles 90-190, and display 3 handles 180-280. From my understanding twinview does not allow this, all the displays must be unique, and we are limited to two.

Apparently xinerama allows for this and that is why we use it. So we either need the quadro plex to handle the edge blending (which means it is sending overlapping content to each display before creating one large display) or allow for xinerama.
hayj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-10, 12:23 PM   #8
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayj View Post
OK. So I was a little confused about the details and have cleared a few things up. The edge blending for us is done in hardware an a separate machine. It would be nice to have this in the Nvidia driver, but not required.
Ok, my understanding is that with edge blending, you basically mean
two things: first, overlapping display output and intensity adjustment
in the overlapping regions? i.e. something like this:

Code:
|<---- Display 1 ----->|           |<---- Display 3 ---->|
__________________      ___________      _________________
                  \    /           \    /
                   \  /             \  /
                    \/               \/
                    /\               /\
                   /  \             /  \
__________________/    \___________/    \_________________

                  |<---- Display 2 ---->|
My understanding is that for the intensity adjustment, you have
a separate box and just need overlapping output?

You might consider handling the "whole" edge blending on application
level, i.e. first render/decode off-screen from 0 to 280, then copy and alpha
blending all regions (0-100/90-190/180-200) to the three screens.
This would require some programming effort but would also save
tons of money on hardware :-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayj View Post
What is necessary is the ability to pass overlapped regions to the different displays so the edge blending can be done. From my understanding twinview does not allow this, all the displays
must be unique, and we are limited to two.
twinview can do overlapping by applying appropriate metamodes, but you
are for sure limited to two displays :-)

For details on how to do that please check this posting:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...4&postcount=69
(refer to section "Bezel Management trough Twinview/Metamodes")

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayj View Post
Apparently xinerama allows for this and that is why we use it.
In this context, I didn't knew that this is possible with xinerama - out of curiosity,
could you please post your xorg.conf? TIA!

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-06-10, 11:42 AM   #9
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

FYI, I checked about overlapping displays using SLI Mosaic. Both TwinView and SLI Mosaic should allow arbitrary placement of the displays within the desktop size, using the metamode syntax previously mentioned, and described here:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree8...gtwinview.html
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-10, 08:25 PM   #10
hayj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Warren View Post
FYI, I checked about overlapping displays using SLI Mosaic. Both TwinView and SLI Mosaic should allow arbitrary placement of the displays within the desktop size, using the metamode syntax previously mentioned, and described here:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree8...gtwinview.html
Thanks for checking. That is very encouraging for use of the Quadro Plex. I guess this would be a work around for xinerama so we could have vdpau support, although an expensive one. So it would seem with Sli Mosaic, we could arbitrarily place the screens to overlap, use vpdau for hardware acceleration and use outside hardware to blend the overlapped regions. Considering the cost, it would be very nice if the Nvidia drivers handled the blending as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaXXoN View Post

In this context, I didn't knew that this is possible with xinerama - out of curiosity,
could you please post your xorg.conf? TIA!
I have attached the xorg file. Your description is correct. I did check on using another player and it seems there's a desire to stick with mplayer because of the way it displays the image on the screen, specifically the windowing and borders. I agree about saving the money by exploring other methods. I'm sure other alternatives would be considered heavily before the purchase of a Quadro Plex.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (5.9 KB, 136 views)
hayj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-10, 05:17 AM   #11
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayj View Post
I agree about saving the money by exploring other methods. I'm sure other alternatives would be considered heavily before the purchase of a Quadro Plex.
In this context: the TH2G officially only supports gaps, but while playing around
with the TH2G on USB-register level I figured out how to program an overlapping
region between the middle and the right display. Unfortunately, I couldn't yet figure
out how to create an overlapping region between the left and the middle display.

Nevertheless, it might be possible to do the following setup:

1. The left display is connected to the first output of the video card
2. The middle and the right displays are connected to the second
output of the video card via the TH2G.
3. The overlapping between the left and the middle LCD could be
archived with nvidia twinview metamodes.
4. The overlapping between the middle and the right LCD could be
archived with the TH2G bezel management (non-official blending).

First of all, this would be a highly experimental setup and second,
I didn't yet tried out of the overlapping works as expected in dual
head mode!

Can you please provide me your display resolutions and the number of
pixels you need for overlapping? I could then try out if I could set it up the
way you need it. From the xorg.conf you posted, it seems like you are
using 3x 1024x768 where there is an overlapping of 230 pixel between
the left and the middle display and 234 pixel between the middle and the
right display?

BTW.: thanks for sharing the xorg.conf - I didn't knew it's actually that
easy to create overlapping regions. This way, it should even be
possible to clone an arbitrary numbers of displays, i.e.:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
    Screen      2  "Screen2" Relative "Screen1" 0 0
    Screen      3  "Screen3" Relative "Screen2" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama"
EndSection
Ah, and BTW.: just out of curiosity, which external hardware are you using
for the intensity blending?

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-10, 02:33 PM   #12
hayj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaXXoN View Post
Can you please provide me your display resolutions and the number of
pixels you need for overlapping? I could then try out if I could set it up the
way you need it. From the xorg.conf you posted, it seems like you are
using 3x 1024x768 where there is an overlapping of 230 pixel between
the left and the middle display and 234 pixel between the middle and the
right display?

Bernhard
That may be what it's running at now. I think the intended resolution should have been 3 displays at 1024x768 with an overlap of 256 pixels for a final resolution of 2560x768. This however poses a problem for vdpau which is limited to a max width or height of 2048. We've decided to go with a resolution of 800x600 for each display with an overlap of 200 for a final overall resolution of 2000x600. Would this rule out the initial display 0 that is not involved in the blending? Thanks for your help. It will be interesting to see if this works.

Jeff
hayj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.