Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-10, 05:50 PM   #13
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayj View Post
Would this rule out the initial display 0 that is not involved in the blending?
My understanding is that you intend to use that screen for maintenance, only,
so it is not necessary to be able to move windows from the maintenance
screen to the triple head setup, right? In this case, you could just use the
second card without enabling Xinerama (two separate X screens). Or maybe
even better: create a multi-seat setup with separate keyboard and mouse (ok,
this way, you can't move the mouse pointer from the maintenance X screen to
the triple head X screen, but my understanding that this is not necessary).

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayj View Post
Thanks for your help. It will be interesting to see if this works.
I did some further experiments with the TH2G, but unfortunately, in dual
head mode, the Matrox bezel management software (PowerdeskSE)
crashes on execution in this case (there are no problems in triple
head mode). However, I'm running it from a Windows installation
inside virtualbox where the USB interface of the TH2G is routed to
the virtual machine. I guess I need a physical Windows installation
for further experiments - I have a laptop with XP on it around and will
re-try (and need to find an USB sniffer for Windows).

Anyway, depending on how urgent you need a solution, the
QPlex seems to be the only viable OOTB variant right now.

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-10, 07:40 PM   #14
hayj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaXXoN View Post
My understanding is that you intend to use that screen for maintenance, only,
so it is not necessary to be able to move windows from the maintenance
screen to the triple head setup, right?

Bernhard
You are correct. Either solution you mentioned would probably work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaXXoN View Post

Anyway, depending on how urgent you need a solution, the
QPlex seems to be the only viable OOTB variant right now.

regards

Bernhard
I don't believe it's that urgent. Ultimately I'm not the one making the decisions, I'm just trying to gather information as to what options are available.

I was looking at Nvidia's site today and came across the Quadro 4700 X2 which has 2 GPUs and 4 outputs. Do you know if the driver behaves differently for this card, something like Sli Mosaic does, allowing for a possible solution, or is this just like having 2 cards with the need for something like xinerama? Thanks again.

Jeff
hayj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-10, 06:47 AM   #15
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayj View Post
I was looking at Nvidia's site today and came across the Quadro 4700 X2 which has 2 GPUs and 4 outputs. Do you know if the driver behaves differently for this card, something like Sli Mosaic does, allowing for a possible solution or is this just like having 2 cards with the need for something like xinerama? Thanks again.
Seems like SLI Mosaic is only available for Quadro Plex:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/quadro_...saic_mode.html
(somewhere in the center, it says "Feature available only on
Quadro Plex"), so I think your assumption concerning xinerama
for the 4700X2 is correct.

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-10, 07:07 AM   #16
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Mplayer, vpdau, and 3 displays with edge blending.

BTW.: you may check a company called "IEI" concerning their
"VWBOX" product line if it supports overlappings. Those VWBOXes
are similar to Matrox TH2G but seem to have more features.
Overlappings are not specifically mentioned in the product description
but I guess it wouldn't hurt to ask their sales people.

URL: http://www.ieiworld.com (Products -> Video Wall Controller)

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.