Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: Intel Quad or Amd Quad
I have Intel quadcore cpu 47 77.05%
I have amd quadcore cpu 14 22.95%
Voters: 61. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-10, 03:06 PM   #49
AGibbon
Heh
 
AGibbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas, Nv.
Posts: 188
Default Re: CPU poll AMD Or Intel

Just did a minor upgrade over the holidays. Got the 630 quad, with a Gigabyte am3 board and 4 gigs of the Patriot DDR3 memory. All for about $280.00. Yea, it isn't high end, but for the money it does everything I need it to do and more. Plus, I have an upgrade path for quite some time without a major hit to the wallet.
AGibbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-10, 03:17 PM   #50
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: CPU poll AMD Or Intel

Gratz on your new stuff bro. Sounds very cool. I will be gettin gonly what my ebay sales make. no more.
Hoping for the best but expecting middle of the road.
btw how much did you pay for your ram?
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-10, 03:44 PM   #51
AGibbon
Heh
 
AGibbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas, Nv.
Posts: 188
Default Re: CPU poll AMD Or Intel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drolfrawd View Post
Gratz on your new stuff bro. Sounds very cool. I will be gettin gonly what my ebay sales make. no more.
Hoping for the best but expecting middle of the road.
btw how much did you pay for your ram?
It was a sale over the holidays at Frys. Paid $90.00 for 2x2 setup.

Good luck on your system and middle of the road is pretty good nowadays. Actually, middle of the road is how I always purchase computer parts. To me it just makes sense.
AGibbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-10, 07:43 PM   #52
Johnny C
Passing you @ 192mph
 
Johnny C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada, EH!
Posts: 779
Default Re: CPU poll AMD Or Intel

Just ordered an Antec 900, a XFX HD5850, the ASUS 790X EVO mobo, 4gb of Corsair DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24 and a PII 965 BE 125W...Xigmatek s1283 cooler, and a 24" acer LCD..

Should be here next week. I'm hoping after Fermi is release I can get another 5850 or maybe a 5970 and go Xfire or tri-fire....

I'll let you folks know how the build goes... and Drolf I'll let you know how I like the MOBO.
__________________
Phenom II 965BE @ 3.9ghz 200X19.5 1.4625 vcore 2.8ghz NB 2.4ghz HT - Asus M4A79XTD-EVO bios 0604 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 @ 1600mhz CAS 9 w/1T - XFX 6970 2GB 950/1450 - Xigmatek S1283 HSF - Antec 900 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Johnny C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-10, 08:21 PM   #53
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: CPU poll AMD Or Intel

Thnx man , gratz on your new gear too , sounds awesome. Appreciate the feedback on the board.
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-10, 12:07 PM   #54
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: CPU poll AMD Or Intel

Success, my first ebay item a cpu Q8200 has sold for 110 plus 5 p&p
one more item going tonight and two otherson Tuesday.

Well pleased so far

New stuff will be sooooon
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-10, 02:09 PM   #55
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: CPU poll AMD Or Intel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siskods9 View Post
I have favoured Intel as my cpu of choice since they introduced the Core2 range...
same here, last time amd was on top was when they introduced athlon x2.

1 intel quad core, 2 amd quad cores (just because they are cheap)
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-10, 04:49 AM   #56
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: CPU poll AMD Or Intel

I have had good luck with my gigabyte board ,but I used to buy Asus all the time too..this time around the gigabyte board offer everthing I wanted with tri-SLI or cross-fire.If you are not a big time gamer I don't see nothing wrong with the new AMD chips.The i7 just seem to work better with tri-SLI.But I going to get a HD5970 ,but since I waited this long ,I will probally wait until nvidia comes out with there new chip,unless it not out in a couple of months.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-10, 11:45 AM   #57
Johnny C
Passing you @ 192mph
 
Johnny C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada, EH!
Posts: 779
Default Re: CPU poll AMD Or Intel

I would have ordered the Gigabyte board for the dual-bios feature alone.....but it was 25 bucks more expensive than the ASUS.....and I'm sorry but IMHO ASUS is the benchmark for boards.

Hell my 3 year old M2N32-SLI Deluxe would support the 965BE and still overclock it like mad.....now that's a well built board folks. There is a crazy long thread @ overclock.net about the M2N32-SLI....and people running all kinds of AM3 cpus in it. ASUS is also still releasing bios updates for it....fairly frequently. I do however hate ASUS' website.....it sucks like this blonde girl I know.
__________________
Phenom II 965BE @ 3.9ghz 200X19.5 1.4625 vcore 2.8ghz NB 2.4ghz HT - Asus M4A79XTD-EVO bios 0604 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 @ 1600mhz CAS 9 w/1T - XFX 6970 2GB 950/1450 - Xigmatek S1283 HSF - Antec 900 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Johnny C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-10, 05:34 PM   #58
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: CPU poll AMD Or Intel

I am probably going for this board , I think it will do everything I want ...except suck








It seems decent , comments welcome.

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/172846#
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-10, 06:16 PM   #59
Johnny C
Passing you @ 192mph
 
Johnny C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada, EH!
Posts: 779
Default Re: CPU poll AMD Or Intel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drolfrawd View Post
I am probably going for this board , I think it will do everything I want ...except suck








It seems decent , comments welcome.

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/172846#
Wow for 86 pounds good deal. That's what I've ordered, I'll let you know when I get it this week, and get the system together, how I feel about it.
__________________
Phenom II 965BE @ 3.9ghz 200X19.5 1.4625 vcore 2.8ghz NB 2.4ghz HT - Asus M4A79XTD-EVO bios 0604 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 @ 1600mhz CAS 9 w/1T - XFX 6970 2GB 950/1450 - Xigmatek S1283 HSF - Antec 900 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Johnny C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-10, 06:19 PM   #60
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: CPU poll AMD Or Intel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny C View Post
Wow for 86 pounds good deal. That's what I've ordered, I'll let you know when I get it this week, and get the system together, how I feel about it.
K. look forward to your comments johnny.
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.