Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-10, 11:12 AM   #1
nothsa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default Xorg loads, but no Xv support. xvinfo/xset can't open display

I've tried everything that I could find in this forum and all over the net, and two weeks later I still don't have a solution.

I can get Xorg to load without any errors, but I have to have XVideo support for my media player to work. When I run 'xvinfo' I get "xvinfo: Unable to open display 0:0", and 'glxgears' and 'xset' give me the same error. Xorg is started with the command "Xorg -s 0:0 -br".

I have attached 2 log files from 2 different versions of the nvidia drivers. I have the 173.14.12 drivers working on a CentOS 4 install with a different graphics chip, but Xv doesn't seem to work on this hardware/software/config. I initially installed CentOS 4, and couldn't get it to work, so I installed CentOS 5.4 in hopes of finding a solution. This is a nvidia ION platform with MCP79, but you can get more detailed hardware info from the attached logs.

I'm totally out of ideas and I'm willing to try any suggestions. Please let me know if you need any more information.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report_173.14.12.log.gz (23.1 KB, 93 views)
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report_190.53.log.gz (29.6 KB, 101 views)
nothsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-10, 11:33 AM   #2
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Xorg loads, but no Xv support. xvinfo/xset can't open display

A display of "0:0" tries to connect to the IP address 0.0.0.0, which is not valid. Try ":0" instead.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-10, 06:24 PM   #3
nothsa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Xorg loads, but no Xv support. xvinfo/xset can't open display

Thank you SO MUCH!

I've been using "0:0" on over 100 systems up until now and it's always worked. I didn't know that the number before the colon was referencing an IP address. I'm starting to switch all of the systems over to ":0".

Thanks again! You have no idea how much of a life-saver this is =)

Last edited by nothsa; 01-05-10 at 06:26 PM. Reason: removing repitition
nothsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.