Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-10, 06:33 PM   #1
rudedog
Not so Rude
 
rudedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,500
Default Looks like Bad Company 2 will be crippled

So far we know that:

- Mod tools are something they "may" look at after the game ships, if they can. = don't count on it....
- No personal dedicated servers. You will have to rent your so called dedicated server from "Trusted Providers' You will not be able to install the bits on your own server and run an unranked server like you did with BF2, and all the game in between BF42 and the current version.

Now we hear that there will be no developer console enabled so you can't customize your game the way you like as well as the modders doing their magic. This also deters any third party admin tools. They say this will cut down on the cheaters playing their game... Hello, why not police your game with quality AC????

So after all the hoopla about Dice knowing what the PC customer wants, it's starting to sound a lot like that other game .... here we go again.

More info here
__________________
Not so Rude, Rudedog FPSadmin.com | twitter | Microsoft MVP 2009-2012 - Games for Windows
Main Box:Intel QX6850|Asus Formula Maximus|4GB(1GBx4) @ 1066|Evga 285GTX - 182.05|150Gig Raptor SATA|2x WD 250Gb SATA|2x Lite-on 1673S DVDRW-all|Pioneer
BDR-202|X-Fi Fatal1ty 2.07.0004|Logitec G7-setpoint 3.1.116|Ergodex DX1-firmware 1.1-driver1.3|Dell UltraSharp 2405FPW 24" LCD|PCPower and Cooling TurboCool 1000 SLI|Windows 7 Ultimate|Klipsch THX 5.1
Imac: Snow Leopard|27" screen|i7 2.93|12 GB|ATI HD 5750 1G|WD 1T SATA|2xWD 2T firewire 800|Sharing Dell 24"
Laptop: MBP|2.16|2GB ram|160drive
Laptop 2: MBP Unibody|2.66|4GB ram|320drive
Camera: D700 + MB-D10 + EN-EL3e + GP1|Nikon14-24 f2.8|nikon24-70 f2.8|nikon70-200 f2.8|nikon 50 f1.4|Sigma 150-500
Car: 2010 Dodge Challenger R/T Classic Plum Crazy Purl|6 Speed|Power roof|Super Track Pack|20" classic rims|Functional ram air hood
rudedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-10, 06:35 PM   #2
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Looks like Bad Company 2 will be crippled

MW:2:2
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-10, 06:50 PM   #3
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Looks like Bad Company 2 will be crippled

LMAO where's the BOYCOTT!!??
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-10, 06:57 PM   #4
Noriega
你妈妈喜欢的阴茎
 
Noriega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 波兰
Posts: 2,176
Default Re: Looks like Bad Company 2 will be crippled

Pathetic.
__________________
Noriega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-10, 06:59 PM   #5
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Looks like Bad Company 2 will be crippled

Hang...we still get Dedicated servers as hosts right? As in ISPS can still pick it up?.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-10, 07:10 PM   #6
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Looks like Bad Company 2 will be crippled

Servers are still dedicated and the console was NOT removed. The engine was never designed with one in mind according to DICE. BC1 never had one so BC2 will not either.
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-10, 07:13 PM   #7
Noriega
你妈妈喜欢的阴茎
 
Noriega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 波兰
Posts: 2,176
Default Re: Looks like Bad Company 2 will be crippled

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoman0 View Post
Servers are still dedicated and the console was NOT removed. The engine was never designed with one in mind according to DICE. BC1 never had one so BC2 will not either.
I don't Fking care about BC1 or what it has or not THIS IS PC MARKET and here are some rules. Support players or GTFO.
__________________
Noriega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-10, 07:30 PM   #8
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Looks like Bad Company 2 will be crippled

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noriega View Post
I don't Fking care about BC1 or what it has or not THIS IS PC MARKET and here are some rules. Support players or GTFO.
HAHA

Love it, PC Gamers were sucking DICE off when DICE started to talk **** about Infinity Ward and yet here we have DICE going and doing almost the same ****!
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-10, 07:35 PM   #9
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Looks like Bad Company 2 will be crippled

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007 View Post
Hang...we still get Dedicated servers as hosts right? As in ISPS can still pick it up?.
Im reading it as they will only have dedicated servers provided by people they allow to run them so they all can be ranked. AKA If your ISP doesn't go through and make an agreement with DICE/EA they wont get dedicated servers. Thats how I read it since they don't want just anyone having a dedicated server.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-10, 08:06 PM   #10
S.I.N
UnRegistered User
 
S.I.N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: All over
Posts: 1,761
Default Re: Looks like Bad Company 2 will be crippled

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
HAHA

Love it, PC Gamers were sucking DICE off when DICE started to talk **** about Infinity Ward and yet here we have DICE going and doing almost the same ****!
This is still 100x better than what IW gave us as there will be dedicated servers and not that peer-to-peer BS.
S.I.N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-10, 08:08 PM   #11
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Looks like Bad Company 2 will be crippled

www.planetbattlefield.com

Quote:
@repi Do you still know if the PC version will have a developer console tab? Any news on the FOV?

@pekhe No console

We have not removed a console from BC2. The simple reason is that BC1 and BC2 never have had an in-game console. Which also means that the game won't be possible to hack in this regard.
Quote:
Hi there forum people, I'm one of the audio programmers at DICE responsible for the audio tech in Frostbite. repii sent me here to hopefully clarify some things. So here we go.

1. All platforms we presently target use software mixing in favor of the older hardware mixing engines. For PC, with Windows Vista switching to software mixing to get around hardware limitations and provide more powerful APIs (DirectSound was designed around the old ISA bus) with added support for things like custom DSP effects in the mixing pipeline, we could finally have a unified path for all SKUs. While the hardware acceleration provided by current gaming cards does provide the ability to do limited mixing and some environmental (reverb) effects without much CPU cost, the APIs are restricting (AFAIK, no custom DSP chains in HW) and it would demand much work from our side to work around that, if it's even possible.

2. Looking at some usage metrics at Steam Hardware Survey we can see that only about 3.7% of Steam users have access to any type of hardware acceleration features, although it seems to be increasing slightly. Granted, this is not necessarily the most reliable source, but it's the best one we have access to and it's usually a great indicator of what our target audience uses. Had we relied on hardware accelerating sound cards for our audio engine we would have provided a degraded experience for almost 97% of consumers. We want all our consumers to have an awesome aural experience when playing our games, so obviously we will do what fits that goal best given the resources we have available. We simply can't afford to support more than one path.

3. Regarding availability of hardware to test on, given that we would've gone down that path, I'll simply say that we used to have a discount from that big sound card manufacturer, but several years ago that disappeared. It's not like with Intel and the graphics cards companies who send repii all their new toys We simply cannot afford to go our and buy lots of cards, which is another upside to software mixing, we don't have to since all our features work on all cards equally. This saves both money and time and allows us to deliver greater quality to all of you.

4. I know PC gamers are constantly looking for that edge over the console crowd, so I'll say this about performance, since this is that type of thread. If you have a faster CPU, our audio engine will be able to do more "stuff" in the same amount of time, and as such provide an even more awesome experience for you guys. This is however not something we would be able to do had we used hardware acceleration, since those resources are the same for everyone (kind of like on consoles, ironically enough). So just know that as you buy better computers, our engine will scale fairly well along with it. Even more so in future revisions of the engine.

5. If you truly want the best audio experience, in any game on PC, focus on finding a sound card with a good DAC and make sure you can turn as much post-processing as possible off and that you have some nice speakers. Any "enhancements" made to the signal after we send it to the sound hardware may introduce unwanted artifacts. Our sound designers take great care to mix the game and even master it thoughtfully depending on the settings available in our in-game options menu, so to get the true intended experience, stay away from additional EQs or other effects. This of course goes for home theatre receivers and TVs when playing on consoles as well. They even author specific content for the LFE, so make sure you turn that woofer up! But who am I to say what you can and can't do with your audio!


I hope this information sheds some light on how we're thinking, and the audio department here at DICE would like to thank everyone in forums and video comments for their kind words about the audio in our games!

Thanks for listening.

Quote:
Alright people, you asked more questions about the audio engine and I have more answers! I should start by saying I'm not one of the crazy guys in that video. That's our head of audio David and the lead sound designer for BC1/BC2, Stefan.

Answers time.

1. I talked about having a "faster CPU", which might be a bit vague, so let's elaborate a little on that. The way the revision of the audio engine that's in BC1/BC2 works is that it'll use a single HW thread to do all audio logic and mixing, ie. it'll help more with a CPU with a higher frequency. This actually also goes for the consoles as well, so on PS3 all the mixing will be done on a single SPU whereas the audio logic still runs on the PPUs. So this touches on the "future revisions" bit as well. As a game becomes "feature complete", any major changes will be done on some other branch of the engine so as to not endanger the game's stability etc. So I can't say much about it, but the current revision of the audio engine will utilize multiple HW threads in parallel for both audio logic and mixing. This obviously goes for consoles as well, since we basically don't have any platform-specific code (in the audio engine, apart from the lowest level).

2. Let's tackle some quality settings! It's fairly simple really, we do all audio processing in 32-bit floating point at 48kHz which is then always quantized down to 16-bit (due to issues with certain sound cards in 32-bit) on PC. On consoles it's always 48kHz/32-bit floating point. We do not support sample rates above 48kHz due to similar issues with the aforementioned sound cards. Also, the revision of the audio engine that BC1/BC2 uses does not fully utilize 7.1 surround sound, but we'll get to that in the future. So, short answer: 5.1/48kHz/16-bit will get you the best experience.

3. Alright, so the 3.7% thing. I'll be honest and say I didn't research this enough and only counted Creative's cards. After looking into it a little more, there are indeed more cards that have some degree of HW acceleration support. At least on paper. That Realtek card for example only supports EAX 1-2 and if memory serves that's what was around when BF2 came out, and it's roughly equivalent to the HW reverb solution that was in the first Xbox (I3DL2 reverb). While I wouldn't put it as harshly as "Hardware accelerated sound is a dead and dying path to invest into", I won't argue the point. With Windows Vista Microsoft ditched the HAL path for DirectSound, which means anyone wanting to use HW accelerated sound card features in Vista or after will have to use OpenAL (Creative's "DirectSound"). As I mentioned previously, the structure of DirectSound is mostly legacy due to how old HW worked, and as such is very limiting. This is why Microsoft chose to adopt their XAudio engine (originally created for Xbox360) for Windows as well, and also to remedy a ton of other fidelity issues. If locking a buffer of audio samples and play it back using some volume and panning settings is all you need (I include 3D positioning in panning), then these "old skool" APIs are probably sufficient. Hell, you even get some free reverberation! But once you want to do a bit more with your audio you'll just end up using your own mixing engine and stream the result of that into a dynamic buffer for output to the sound card. So while I understand that it might feel disheartening to have bought a sound card that touts all these nifty features and not have us use them, they're simply not in line with what we want/need to be able to do. It's not all in vain though, most of those cards have pretty good DACs and nice (high) Signal-Noise ratios. The way forward right now seems to be Larrabee and other GPGPUs. Wow, that's a wall-o-text right there..

4. Let's end on a lighter note and talk about the "impaired hearing" state in BC2. For this effect we're using a IIR2 low-pass filter at 400Hz with an unfiltered sound playing on top of it.
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-10, 10:48 PM   #12
Crow_Nest
Ace Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via MSN to Crow_Nest
Default Re: Looks like Bad Company 2 will be crippled

I canceled my pre-order immediately.


























Just kidding.

Well at least it has dedicated servers...
__________________
Desktop
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel i7 2700K @ 3.5 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB |
| G.Skill RipJawsX PC3 12800 4GB x 2 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer | Intel SSD 520 120GB SSD |
| Hitachi 1TB SATA3 HDD | Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3 | Cooler Master Silent Pro M 700W |
| Cooler Master Centurion 5 II Casing | Samsung SyncMaster XL2370 |


Laptop : Lenovo IdeaPad Y450
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 2.2 GHz | NVIDIA GeForce G110M 256MB |
| 4GB DDR3 SDRAM | Western Digital 320GB | 14.1' LED Backlit Screen |


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=73666&dateline=135279  2183
Crow_Nest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.