Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-10, 04:34 PM   #49
LydianKnight
Registered Knight
 
LydianKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Málaga, Spain
Posts: 977
Default Re: 5870/5970 vs. GF100 (Fermi)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227
Speaking of DX10 and DX11, the current state of the market says that we don't need it. All games are still on DX9, pretty much. Maybe the reason behind it are Consoles and considering the fact that Sony and Microsoft wont replace their Consoles by year 2014 tells me enough. We ain't going to see fully utilized DX11 by year 2013, speaking of which i don't think Microsoft will push any new DirectX with Windows 8.
You don't know what you're speaking about, it seems...

1. While DirectX 10 hasn't had too much of an impact (my guess is Microsoft has used it as a next-gen graphics architecture in comparison with DirectX 9, while DirectX 11 improves and extends DirectX 10 in some ways), DirectX 11 clearly looks like a winner.

2. In contrast to previous DirectX versions, DirectX 10 & 11 have updates in the SDK in a timely basis, no more need to wait more than a year to have a new revision, as soon as new features are created, they will be incorporated, so programmers just have to upgrade their DirectX SDK to be able to play with the features, DirectX 11, DirectCompute, XAudio, you name it...

Saying DirectX 11 won't be fully utilized by 2013 is non-sense, by that time we'll probably have DirectX 12 or further revisions for DirectX 11 like DirectX 9 had like a/b/c/whatever.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227
I am glad Doom 4 is going to be using OpenGL, it's time we revisit OpenGL again
There's no reason for Carmack (et al.) to change their API, he's always been with OpenGL, but you're right... it's good to see OpenGL in action :P

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227
If you already bought Crossfire ATI setup with 5000 series and even though Fermi is going to be faster then ATI counterpart, it's not worth replacing it. SSD Drives, USB3.0, SATA 6, 6 Core CPU, a bigger Monitor sounds a better deal.
Now we have a clear idea about your priorities, but that has nothing to do with ours :P
LydianKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-10, 04:37 PM   #50
Slytat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 354
Default Re: 5870/5970 vs. GF100 (Fermi)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
True,setups like these are overkill since they're well ahead of the curve in terms of software,no matter which side you pick,but as for the triple monitor issue,it's very much real,since i've been benchmarking my setup now for well over a month,and in many different games and benchmarks,and even in the highest and craziest settings,at the max resolutions that my single monitor supports(1920*1200),i simply can't make the cards slow down to the point where i'm fairly sure it's because i'm actually hitting their hardware limits.


I've ran benchmarks in Crysis at absolute max settings at 4X antialiasing and got the same result when benching with 8X antialiasing,using supersampled AA,not the lesser quality multisampling method.....The cards simply don't care,and they are running at stock clocks,imagine when i overclock them.


So in that scenario,and given than a 30"LCD isn't exactly cheap so i could raise the resolution even higher,there's the triple display option,which could extend resolutions to as high as 5760*1200 using 3 cheap 24" displays,and right off the bat,that's bout 65~70% harder than running on a single 30" LCD,when both are trying to sustain the same frame rate:


2560*1600 = 4.096 megapixels each frame.
5760*1200 = 6.912 megapixels each frame.


Yup,the cards will be definitely working harder in a pretty substancial way.
Well, we play different games and at different resolutions so as much as you may be maxing out your cards, I'm not sure I'll be so lucky, but we will see soon enough.

I can assure you that my mainstay game can cripple 3 x 280 @ 2560 x 1920 and equally the 5970 at the same settings on a 4GHz i7 so that's why I stand by my earlier comments.

I don't really want to get into a game specific discussion here as it is totally off topic.

Enjoy
Slytat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-10, 04:45 PM   #51
shadow001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,526
Default Re: 5870/5970 vs. GF100 (Fermi)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slytat View Post
Well, we play different games and at different resolutions so as much as you may be maxing out your cards, I'm not sure I'll be so lucky, but we will see soon enough.

I can assure you that my mainstay game can cripple 3 x 280 @ 2560 x 1920 and equally the 5970 at the same settings on a 4GHz i7 so that's why I stand by my earlier comments.

I don't really want to get into a game specific discussion here as it is totally off topic.

Enjoy

Hence why i used the Crysis reference....I don't think there's anything harder to run at the moment,and i'm also using an i7 at 4 Ghz.


So you can imagine the scenario if Fermi's are even faster still at the hardware level.
shadow001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-10, 06:38 AM   #52
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: 5870/5970 vs. GF100 (Fermi)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post

Going from one HD5970 to a second one seems to scale very nicely actually,at least onn average and maximum frame rates,not so much for the minimum though.
Got some strange results too
I went from two HD5870's in CF running on 950/1300 to two HD5970's in quad CF running on 785/1200 and my framerates more then doubled in certain apps (scene's with sparsed (so beautyfull) grid super sampling aa in Oblivion for example and certain place in Stalker clear Sky.)
In Farcry2 DX10 I get 130 fps with every thing as high as possible and 16xAF 8x (ms)aa
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-10, 06:46 AM   #53
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: 5870/5970 vs. GF100 (Fermi)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
I've ran benchmarks in Crysis at absolute max settings at 4X antialiasing and got the same result when benching with 8X antialiasing,using supersampled AA,not the lesser quality multisampling method.....The cards simply don't care,and they are running at stock clocks,imagine when i overclock them.


.
You know you have to run Crysis in dx9 too enable SSAA and set the AA tab in CCC to app pref and set ingame AA?
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-10, 08:42 AM   #54
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: 5870/5970 vs. GF100 (Fermi)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinner View Post
Got some strange results too
I went from two HD5870's in CF running on 950/1300 to two HD5970's in quad CF running on 785/1200 and my framerates more then doubled in certain apps (scene's with sparsed (so beautyfull) grid super sampling aa in Oblivion for example and certain place in Stalker clear Sky.)
In Farcry2 DX10 I get 130 fps with every thing as high as possible and 16xAF 8x (ms)aa
Does ATI supports tri-Crossfire. How would 3xHD5870 scale?
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-10, 09:07 AM   #55
Johnny C
Passing you @ 192mph
 
Johnny C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada, EH!
Posts: 779
Default Re: 5870/5970 vs. GF100 (Fermi)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227 View Post
Does ATI supports tri-Crossfire. How would 3xHD5870 scale?
gerardfraser has a 5970 and a 5870, which would effectively be tri fire. They were posting all kinds of benchies in the rumor mill gtx380 thread. Seems like tri-fire with 5870 speeds was the gravy zone in that heaven benchmark it was ridiculous the framerates they were gettings.
__________________
Phenom II 965BE @ 3.9ghz 200X19.5 1.4625 vcore 2.8ghz NB 2.4ghz HT - Asus M4A79XTD-EVO bios 0604 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 @ 1600mhz CAS 9 w/1T - XFX 6970 2GB 950/1450 - Xigmatek S1283 HSF - Antec 900 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Johnny C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-10, 01:05 PM   #56
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: 5870/5970 vs. GF100 (Fermi)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227 View Post
Does ATI supports tri-Crossfire. How would 3xHD5870 scale?
http://www.benchmarkextreme.com/Arti...riFire/P2.html

But you won't get this kind of scaling in every app. some are crazy good, others are less impressive.
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-21-10, 03:39 PM   #57
JoeJonnyBoy75
Registered User
 
JoeJonnyBoy75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: 5870/5970 vs. GF100 (Fermi)

I'm not sure if anyone else mentioned this but the test results we've gotten from nVidia were manually overridden to force 16AF. This setting cannot be controlled by the benchmark.

I'd be interested to see the benchmark results on a 5970 running at 16AF. At least we'd have a more accurate comparison.
JoeJonnyBoy75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-10, 08:13 AM   #58
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: 5870/5970 vs. GF100 (Fermi)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinner View Post
http://www.benchmarkextreme.com/Arti...riFire/P2.html

But you won't get this kind of scaling in every app. some are crazy good, others are less impressive.
That was interesting, think it's worth adding another HD5870
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-10, 09:57 AM   #59
Johnny C
Passing you @ 192mph
 
Johnny C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada, EH!
Posts: 779
Default Re: 5870/5970 vs. GF100 (Fermi)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeJonnyBoy75 View Post
I'm not sure if anyone else mentioned this but the test results we've gotten from nVidia were manually overridden to force 16AF. This setting cannot be controlled by the benchmark.

I'd be interested to see the benchmark results on a 5970 running at 16AF. At least we'd have a more accurate comparison.
I don't know if most people do this or not. But the first thing I do after a new driver install is force 16X AF thru CCC or control panel....been doing it for years.

I don't even wanna look at a game that doesn't at least have 2XAA not to mention less than 16XAF would look like garbage.
__________________
Phenom II 965BE @ 3.9ghz 200X19.5 1.4625 vcore 2.8ghz NB 2.4ghz HT - Asus M4A79XTD-EVO bios 0604 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 @ 1600mhz CAS 9 w/1T - XFX 6970 2GB 950/1450 - Xigmatek S1283 HSF - Antec 900 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Johnny C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-10, 01:02 PM   #60
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: 5870/5970 vs. GF100 (Fermi)

AF16x don't stress moderne GPU anymore as much. Btw, I mostly have it forced.
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.