Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-10, 02:20 PM   #25
logan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 492
Default Re: Bioshock 2 DRM scheme - new level of low!

Cracked exes sometimes give me problems in wine, I wish I didn't have to use nocds/similar at all. I thought one of the reasons why GTA IV didn't work in wine was because of Windows Live. If it's not required for a certain aspect of the game, do you still need to have it installed / some dll loaded unless you use that part of the game or would you need it regardless?

All this extra junk makes it a pain in the ass. :/
logan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-10, 02:25 PM   #26
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Bioshock 2 DRM scheme - new level of low!

Quote:
Originally Posted by logan View Post
Cracked exes sometimes give me problems in wine, I wish I didn't have to use nocds/similar at all. I thought one of the reasons why GTA IV didn't work in wine was because of Windows Live. If it's not required for a certain aspect of the game, do you still need to have it installed / some dll loaded unless you use that part of the game or would you need it regardless?

All this extra junk makes it a pain in the ass. :/
Use Windows. Linux isnt for gamers.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-10, 02:36 PM   #27
S.I.N
UnRegistered User
 
S.I.N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: All over
Posts: 1,761
Default Re: Bioshock 2 DRM scheme - new level of low!

The hell with that, I will wait until its $5 on Steam......or get it on a console.
S.I.N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-10, 02:59 PM   #28
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Bioshock 2 DRM scheme - new level of low!

Quote:
DRM Information: SecuROM offers unlimited activations on up to 5 PCs. Games for Windows LIVE allows up to 15 activations. You can contact Microsoft to receive more if the max has been reached.
.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-10, 03:00 PM   #29
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Bioshock 2 DRM scheme - new level of low!

I hate why every game now requie internet connection. I hate this. THIS is why people prefer consoles. Stupid drm.

For me its nor problem, I am always cracking every single game becouse I don't use mp components anyways. But not experienced users will eventually get tired.
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-10, 03:02 PM   #30
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Bioshock 2 DRM scheme - new level of low!

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4 View Post
I hate why every game now requie internet connection. I hate this. THIS is why people prefer consoles. Stupid drm.
Console download titles have DRM just as bad if not worse... on Xbox you have to be online at all times if you ever use a different console from the one the games were bought on, on PS3 you have limited activations.

Next console gen will probably use downloads even more and DRM will be an even greater factor.

Only the PC is an open platform which allows you to remove DRM from your games with ease.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-10, 03:41 PM   #31
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Bioshock 2 DRM scheme - new level of low!

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
.
The GFWL are non-revokable. So you will eventually use all 15.

The should either be revokable or reset every 6 months or so. I wouldn't feel like I bought it. I'd feel like I was renting it. I'm not spending $50 to "rent" Bioshock 2. Once again the pirates are the only ones that win.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-10, 03:55 PM   #32
LydianKnight
Registered Knight
 
LydianKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Málaga, Spain
Posts: 977
Default Re: Bioshock 2 DRM scheme - new level of low!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
The GFWL are non-revokable. So you will eventually use all 15.
How many times are you planning on formatting your hard drive? Because (in my case, at least) I run Windows 7 x86, as soon as I get Fermi I'll re-sell it and buy Windows 7 x64, and... that's about it
LydianKnight is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-20-10, 03:58 PM   #33
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Bioshock 2 DRM scheme - new level of low!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LydianKnight View Post
How many times are you planning on formatting your hard drive? Because (in my case, at least) I run Windows 7 x86, as soon as I get Fermi I'll re-sell it and buy Windows 7 x64, and... that's about it
based on his complains he reformats every 3 days
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-10, 03:59 PM   #34
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Bioshock 2 DRM scheme - new level of low!

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4 View Post
I hate why every game now requie internet connection. I hate this. THIS is why people prefer consoles. Stupid drm.

For me its nor problem, I am always cracking every single game becouse I don't use mp components anyways. But not experienced users will eventually get tired.
please tell us what you did to your RROD_Box, legit users don't need flash their dvd roms.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-10, 04:07 PM   #35
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Bioshock 2 DRM scheme - new level of low!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
Retail Box Purchase + Cracked EXE = No Problems.

It sucks we have to do that, but piracy is never the answer... support developers and investors in the PC platform, buy the game, then crack it. There can be no legal issues if you own the boxed game.

Yay.
It does and to make it worse you are counted as an ass hat who steals games. Some credible site publishes that the titles was pirated XXX,XXX,XXX times it makes its rounds as "news" and the suits loose more hair follicles.

The point is none of this **** works to stop piracy, so why piss off the customers who buy the game? I agree about GWFL not being an issue with me, but in the past it was a PITY sometimes. Now I barely notice it.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-10, 05:07 PM   #36
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Bioshock 2 DRM scheme - new level of low!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
based on his complains he reformats every 3 days
When windows 7 was beta and the new releases were coming out all the time, it was about every 3 days.

Right now I have been on the same install for about 5+ months. I think I reformatted once since RTM.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.