Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-10, 04:39 PM   #13
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: FireFox 3.6 Release!

Seems a little faster here but maybe its just me. As usual Norton IPS stuff don't work..
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-10, 07:59 PM   #14
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: FireFox 3.6 Release!

Just downloaded and I'm going to give it a few test runs.

I can tell it's a little faster and I really like the add-ons. Still not convinced about leaving Chrome for FF though . . .
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-10, 08:26 PM   #15
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: FireFox 3.6 Release!

Just downloaded it... and...

It works...



Meh... I stare at a browser all freaking day and I never notice any performance or compatibility issues with FF.

Though this version does have a goofy looking zig-zag line underneath misspelled words. I'm noticing that as I type this.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-10, 08:31 PM   #16
shilk
Registered User
 
shilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 913
Default Re: FireFox 3.6 Release!

That's the spell-checker.

unless u type like dis den u disbl it.
shilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-10, 11:02 PM   #17
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: FireFox 3.6 Release!

Quote:
Originally Posted by shilk View Post
That's the spell-checker.

unless u type like dis den u disbl it.
No, I mean they changed the way it underlines words. It used to use a very small zig-zag line, now its really big and partially covers up the letters.

Leaving it on has helped me become a much better speelar.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-10, 05:56 AM   #18
LydianKnight
Registered Knight
 
LydianKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Málaga, Spain
Posts: 977
Default Re: FireFox 3.6 Release!

Another thing you may see is the way tabs are invoked, now they behave like Internet Explorer's default settings, for those of you (like me) who prefer the traditional behaviour (new tabs open after the last one), change this:

browser.tabs.insertRelatedAfterCurrent to false
LydianKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-10, 06:34 AM   #19
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: FireFox 3.6 Release!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
Meh... I stare at a browser all freaking day and I never notice any performance or compatibility issues with FF.
A few people, including myself, have had a few page loading problems with 3.5. Especially on NVN actually. I'd click on a link and it'd hang for a good few seconds and sometimes not load at all, throwing up an error. Seem OK now tho .
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-10, 01:45 PM   #20
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: FireFox 3.6 Release!

Trying FF3.6 here at work today, it's pretty speedy!

I can already notice that it's way faster with NVNews Forums than Chrome . . .
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-22-10, 08:26 PM   #21
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: FireFox 3.6 Release!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LydianKnight View Post
Another thing you may see is the way tabs are invoked, now they behave like Internet Explorer's default settings, for those of you (like me) who prefer the traditional behaviour (new tabs open after the last one), change this:

browser.tabs.insertRelatedAfterCurrent to false
Thank you! I was just going to ask if there was a way to change this back.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-10, 04:01 PM   #22
LydianKnight
Registered Knight
 
LydianKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Málaga, Spain
Posts: 977
Default Re: FireFox 3.6 Release!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
Thank you! I was just going to ask if there was a way to change this back.
you're welcome
LydianKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-10, 09:15 PM   #23
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,611
Default Re: FireFox 3.6 Release!

I used the beta for about 2 weeks. The final is even faster. And this coming from dialup user, it's much faster than 3.5.
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-10, 07:03 AM   #24
Kain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 1,264
Default Re: FireFox 3.6 Release!

Why hasn't my Firefox automatically updated me to this latest version? Do I have to manually install it?
Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.