Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-10, 02:07 AM   #61
candle_86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via MSN to candle_86 Send a message via Yahoo to candle_86
Default Re: Ubisoft to Require Constant Internet for Gameplay

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Would work untill the game is released since after that they could do packet sniffing which can then find out whats being downloaded by the game.

Best would be to do something like steam/direct2drive do and have the files all encrypted and to get it uncrypted the game has to be activated online. I mean steams encryption hasn't been totally cracked yet...
is that why i played HL2, EP1, and EP2 via torrent before i bought them? lol
candle_86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-10, 03:25 AM   #62
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Ubisoft to Require Constant Internet for Gameplay

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
Sure it does. Try playing Steam games without an internet connection. you can't.

my internet went out one night I couldnt play a damn game on steam.
Steam fanboys act like its completely different because if you have the foresight to go offline within an online Steam session before your internet goes out it will work.

Because you know... we're all psychic like that.

The only way Steam offline mode works well is if you go offline and leave it like that, running and offline, for an extended period, never patching or buying anything else.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-10, 04:26 AM   #63
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Ubisoft to Require Constant Internet for Gameplay

Actually you can go offline while offline as well. Just have to wait some 5 minutes for Steam to trying to reach the server after which it will offer to switch to offline mode. The only game I've tried so far that won't work in offline mode is Crysis Warhead. There may be more, I don't know.

BTW I won't buy Assassins Creed 2 until they remove that abomination they call DRM.
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-10, 06:55 AM   #64
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Ubisoft to Require Constant Internet for Gameplay

BEN DOVER...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-10, 09:28 AM   #65
Nitz Walsh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 622
Default Re: Ubisoft to Require Constant Internet for Gameplay

The latest Steam patch notes had "Offline mode really works".
Nitz Walsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-10, 01:16 PM   #66
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Ubisoft to Require Constant Internet for Gameplay

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitz Walsh View Post
The latest Steam patch notes had "Offline mode really works".
Yes, it wasn't working with the beta UI at all. Still, even when "fixed" it requires you to be online, then go offline, for most of your games to work.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-10, 02:59 PM   #67
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Ubisoft to Require Constant Internet for Gameplay

FYI, its been cracked... Here are some excerpts...

Code:
      █ █ This release is an accomplishment of weeks of investigating,   █ █
      █ █ experimenting, testing and lots of hard work.                  █ █
      █ █                                                                █ █
      █ █ We know that there is a server emulator out in the open, which █ █
      █ █ makes the game playable, but when you look at our cracked      █ █
      █ █ content, you will know that it can't be compared to that.      █ █
Code:
      █ █ Our work does not construct any program deviation or any kind  █ █
      █ █ of host file paradox solutions. Install game and copy the      █ █
      █ █ cracked content, it's that simple.                             █ █
Code:
      █ █ 4. Run the v1.01 update exe from UPDATE folder on the DVD or   █ █
      █ █    let the game auto update by itself                          █ █
      █ █ 5. Copy the content from the ******* folder on the DVD to      █ █
      █ █    these locations and overwrite. 32 bit is for both XP, Vista █ █
      █ █    and Win7 editions. 64 bit for Vista and Win7 locations.     █ █
      █ █                                                                █ █
      █ █    32 bit version:                                             █ █
      █ █                                                                █ █
      █ █    C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\ folder      █ █
      █ █                                                                █ █
      █ █    64 bit version:                                             █ █
      █ █                                                                █ █
      █ █    C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\ folder█ █
      █ █                                                                █ █
      █ █ 6. Play the game                                               █ █
If they can do this with splinter cell, I may consider getting it.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-10, 04:00 PM   #68
shilk
Registered User
 
shilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 913
Default Re: Ubisoft to Require Constant Internet for Gameplay

Good to see that the 2.8 Million (and counting) they spent on this DRM was well worth it.
shilk is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-21-10, 04:03 PM   #69
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Ubisoft to Require Constant Internet for Gameplay

Quote:
Originally Posted by t3hl33td4rg0n View Post
FYI, its been cracked... Here are some excerpts...

Code:
      █ █ This release is an accomplishment of weeks of investigating,   █ █
      █ █ experimenting, testing and lots of hard work.                  █ █
      █ █                                                                █ █
      █ █ We know that there is a server emulator out in the open, which █ █
      █ █ makes the game playable, but when you look at our cracked      █ █
      █ █ content, you will know that it can't be compared to that.      █ █
Code:
      █ █ Our work does not construct any program deviation or any kind  █ █
      █ █ of host file paradox solutions. Install game and copy the      █ █
      █ █ cracked content, it's that simple.                             █ █
Code:
      █ █ 4. Run the v1.01 update exe from UPDATE folder on the DVD or   █ █
      █ █    let the game auto update by itself                          █ █
      █ █ 5. Copy the content from the ******* folder on the DVD to      █ █
      █ █    these locations and overwrite. 32 bit is for both XP, Vista █ █
      █ █    and Win7 editions. 64 bit for Vista and Win7 locations.     █ █
      █ █                                                                █ █
      █ █    32 bit version:                                             █ █
      █ █                                                                █ █
      █ █    C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\ folder      █ █
      █ █                                                                █ █
      █ █    64 bit version:                                             █ █
      █ █                                                                █ █
      █ █    C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\ folder█ █
      █ █                                                                █ █
      █ █ 6. Play the game                                               █ █
If they can do this with splinter cell, I may consider getting it.
why the hell did you even post that?

people like this make me sick, supporting pirates groups.

DRM is result of scumbags like reloaded, etc... that pirate and release games/software in first place.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-10, 04:16 PM   #70
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: Ubisoft to Require Constant Internet for Gameplay

that sucks..I was hoping an online always drm would be the be all-end all of antipiracy measures. Go ubisoft, make your next move(these guys are the pioneers in DRM technology), and they actually make good games!!!
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-10, 04:54 PM   #71
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Ubisoft to Require Constant Internet for Gameplay

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
why the hell did you even post that?

people like this make me sick, supporting pirates groups.

DRM is result of scumbags like reloaded, etc... that pirate and release games/software in first place.
I posted it to circumvent the FUD and "you're full of ****" posts - the reasoning behind that is because others claimed that it was cracked, but it wasn't.

Everyone knew it was gonna happen eventually... It took them two months, which is much less than starforce. Some games took over a year to be cracked with starforce, yet they are all but completely vanished because it caused problems with peoples computers (i presonally never had an issue with it).

Face it. The scene won. Again. Nothings changed.

What does this mean for future titles with the same DRM schema? If Ubisoft is smart, they will find a new way to implement the system. So when the components compile, it wont be the same. The scene groups will probably have to start form scratch reverse engineering the system to find out where it can be circumvented.

But, for some reason I doubt this will happen. Ubisoft will consider this another failed attempt, continue to use it, but not put any serious manpower into updating it, thus future titles possibly having a zero day crack.

But who knows what will happen at this point. It's up to ubisoft to make the next move, lets see what happens.

The only successful DRM is steamworks, and it would be a good idea for the publishers to either develop something similar or release all the games on steam (which I have zero problem with).
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-10, 05:33 PM   #72
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Ubisoft to Require Constant Internet for Gameplay

Quote:
Originally Posted by t3hl33td4rg0n View Post
The only successful DRM is steamworks, and it would be a good idea for the publishers to either develop something similar or release all the games on steam (which I have zero problem with).
Funny. Steam does nothing to stop pirate either. No more or less successful anyway.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.