Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-10, 09:16 PM   #145
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

So how is it? Ratings sites are making sweet love to it.

Is the combat less awkward than ME1?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-10, 09:28 PM   #146
Retrolock
 
Retrolock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Left my PC at home downloading the steam ME2 version. Hopefully tomorrow it unlocks.
__________________
i7-2600k, Xspc rs240, Asus Maximus IV Gene-z, 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1866 RIPJAWSX CL7, PoV GTX 670, Corsair HX1000W, 128GB Vertex 4, WD 1tb Caviar Black, 500 & 320gb Seagate
Retrolock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-10, 09:29 PM   #147
Misfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
So how is it? Ratings sites are making sweet love to it.

Is the combat less awkward than ME1?
combat feels like a gears of war style shooter, it plays very well, a lot better than the first one.

You take cover, right click to aim, the usual.
__________________
Intel Core i7 930 @ 4Ghz
EVGA X58-SLI-LE
6 Gigs Crucial DDR3 Ram
MSI Geforce 560 TI Twin Frozr 1024MB @ 950/1800/2100
2.3 TB of Total Hard Drive Space
2 x Seagate 500GB 7200RPM HD
1 x Western Digital Caviar Black 1.0TB 7,200 HD
1 x Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM HD
1 x Seagate 320GB 7200RPM HD
Misfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-10, 09:44 PM   #148
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misfire View Post
combat feels like a gears of war style shooter, it plays very well, a lot better than the first one.

You take cover, right click to aim, the usual.
This is exactly what I thought when I started playing as well. It feels incredibly similar to Gears of War. Aren't both of those games on the same engine too?
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-10, 10:24 PM   #149
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpistol View Post
This is exactly what I thought when I started playing as well. It feels incredibly similar to Gears of War. Aren't both of those games on the same engine too?
yap,but story is better
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-10, 10:25 PM   #150
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
So how is it? Ratings sites are making sweet love to it.

Is the combat less awkward than ME1?
yes it is, its a good game, but the weakest in bioware arsenal
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-10, 10:30 PM   #151
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Well I got the game installed, configured, and got all the DLCs installed including the Zaheed one, cant wait to dive in tonight!
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-10, 10:44 PM   #152
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Supersampling on the 8XXXX profile nomec suggested works great with my setup... not sure the framerate as I had fraps off, but it feels just as smooth as before with no hiccups.

Game looks amazing supersampled... walking around Omega now and I love the Blade Runner vibe. Just an amazing game.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-27-10, 10:55 PM   #153
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Yup... Just picked up my last (at least I think so ) squad mate... pretty freaking amazing game. Having to force myself to take breaks lol.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-10, 11:24 PM   #154
Spellbot5000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

For those that have AA working on their ATI cards, how did you get by the EA validation check when renaming the EXE file? Every time I've tried renamed MassEffect2.exe to either Bioshock.exe or UT3.exe, the EA validation program recognizes the name has been altered and just says the game can't be started because of an error. Do I have to use a no-cd (which would be weird because I'm using the digital Direct2Drive version) file until ATI officially adds an ME2 profile to their drivers? This is running on a 5870 too, if that makes any difference.

Sorry if this has been already answered in the thread previously, but I'm reading this at work on an ancient PC that is slow as hell and can't even interpret most modern HTML/CSS.
Spellbot5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-10, 11:25 PM   #155
Spellbot5000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

For those that have AA working on their ATI cards, how did you get by the EA validation check when renaming the EXE file? Every time I've tried renamed MassEffect2.exe to either Bioshock.exe or UT3.exe, the EA validation program recognizes the name has been altered and just says the game can't be started because of an error. Do I have to use a no-cd (which would be weird because I'm using the digital Direct2Drive version) file until ATI officially adds an ME2 profile to their drivers? This is running on a 5870 too, if that makes any difference.

Sorry if this has been already answered in the thread previously, but I'm reading this at work on an ancient PC that is slow as hell and can't even interpret most modern HTML/CSS.

EDIT: You see, double posts all up in here. Damn PC.
Spellbot5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-10, 12:51 AM   #156
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Got AA working fine, still had "Use applications settings" on in CCC lol

As for getting around EA activation, don't know about that since I didn't have to do it. It came up when I first ran the game and I just clicked cancel. The game comes out here on the 29th, I'll be buying it then for sure. I'll be arsed if I'm going to wait longer than you US folk when my ethicaly challenged friend kept bragging that he had the game already 10 days ago. So I got the game off him when it launched in the US and I'll be buying it when it comes out here. I might not even install my bought copy if it's more of a hassle, I just buy good games to support the devs. Did the same with Fallout 3, bought it but never opened the packet because the pirate version was working fine with less hassles than most retail games.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.