Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-10, 07:58 PM   #229
nomec
Registered User
 
nomec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 242
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaguya View Post
I'm no expert, but I think if you go single and regular AA it will render everything on the single card. SLI-AA is supposed to be a 'solution' to older games that cannot utilize SLI but still make use of both cards. If you use nHancer in the AA section, click SLI in the left column and then an SLI-AA option. 8xSLI-AA is the lowest you can go.
Yeah I'm doing that and tried 16xSLI-AA and it doesn't look much better than before. I actually get better fps using the 4 way SLI and 0802*** profile. I am testing it at the omega base place. Although I haven't tested it in the normandy area where it slowed down before. I mean I get a constant 60 fps and going with the original AA settings but those slowdowns just KILL me.
nomec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 07:59 PM   #230
Bah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 868
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

The problem with using SLI AA is that it's only multisampled which won't eliminate the shimmering regardless how high you set it. In fact, even x32Q looks noticeably worse than 2x2SS.

What drivers are you guys using, btw?
Bah! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 08:13 PM   #231
nomec
Registered User
 
nomec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 242
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

196.21

I mean, I can use almost up to the max combined AA setting and get 60fps in almost all areas. It's just those ******* certain areas that I get horrible frames. UGGGGGHHHHH.

I don't know if any of you read that guy's post on the bioware forums, but apparently it has to do with SLI + AA and dynamic shadows turned on. Obviously no one wants to turn those off, but hopefully it can be patched.
nomec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 09:20 PM   #232
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Is there no way to disable helmet graphics???
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 09:27 PM   #233
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007 View Post
Is there no way to disable helmet graphics???
in the standard armor yes, in the custom extra arms (blood dragon, inferno) no
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 09:57 PM   #234
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

well thats annoying as hell.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 10:16 PM   #235
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007 View Post
well thats annoying as hell.
I agree, but the helmets in this game actually have benefits, not just for show.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 10:25 PM   #236
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomec View Post
Yeah I'm doing that and tried 16xSLI-AA and it doesn't look much better than before. I actually get better fps using the 4 way SLI and 0802*** profile. I am testing it at the omega base place. Although I haven't tested it in the normandy area where it slowed down before. I mean I get a constant 60 fps and going with the original AA settings but those slowdowns just KILL me.
Have you tried this compatibility: "00000045: AA & HDR"

Give that a shot... that's what I'm using and it looks amazing.



__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-29-10, 10:26 PM   #237
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Safety first, always wear your helmet.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 10:44 PM   #238
nomec
Registered User
 
nomec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 242
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaguya View Post
Have you tried this compatibility: "00000045: AA & HDR"

Give that a shot... that's what I'm using and it looks amazing.



What do you mean? I get the same slowdowns with that mode as all the other ones. Try going to the engineering floor, same issue.

Oh, you mean using that compatibility mode with SLI AA... someone already said you get that shimmering bs with it too. I am just gonna wait for a fix.
nomec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-10, 12:22 AM   #239
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomec View Post
What do you mean? I get the same slowdowns with that mode as all the other ones. Try going to the engineering floor, same issue.

Oh, you mean using that compatibility mode with SLI AA... someone already said you get that shimmering bs with it too. I am just gonna wait for a fix.
Sure, just trying to help. I don't really see any shimmering anymore, but I've also clamped my LOD. Anyway, just thought you'd like to know. Hopefully they come up with a fix (but with EA I wouldn't hold my breath).
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-10, 01:22 AM   #240
nomec
Registered User
 
nomec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 242
Default Re: ***Official Mass Effect 2 (PC) Thread***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaguya View Post
Sure, just trying to help. I don't really see any shimmering anymore, but I've also clamped my LOD. Anyway, just thought you'd like to know. Hopefully they come up with a fix (but with EA I wouldn't hold my breath).
No, I gotcha, didn't mean for it to come off rude. I am just going to fiddle around and hope it gets fixed.
nomec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.