Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-10, 07:27 PM   #1
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Anyone here know their way around setting up a UT3 dedicatd server?

I'm reading the wikis but I'm still a bit lost on this subject.

I have the following all ready to apply to an internet based 2-10 player deathmatch game...

- Gears of Unreal mutator - I have it running properly on my other PC.

- Gears of War character models - I have them properly installed on my other PC.

- ...and I'm trying to secure DM-Imulsion, a GOW-themed map that is great-looking.

...

Now, I have all the needed files transferred properly over onto the PC with the dedicated server software on it, and I've figured out the basics of launching a game via adding commands to the command line...

Yes, maybe I need just a bit of hand-holding on this, and I can go to other forums for some of this stuff, but I thought I'd ask here first.

Yeah, my server idea won't be the most popular, but it'd be fun for a few people anyway... It's really cool running around in UT3 in GOW-style 3rd person with Marcus Fenix. ... now if that one guy would have just finished doing his Lancer coversion....

If you can or want to give me a hand, post here or get ahold of me on google/AIM chat or Steam.

Don't worry, I have low expectations.

Thanks.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 10:29 AM   #2
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Anyone here know their way around setting up a UT3 dedicatd server?

And as such, I gave up for now, and that basically turned my Gears of Unreal endeavor into not much more than a tech demo of sorts. I mean, I can host a game with the GoU mutator (and probably could have forced other players to use the other Gears character models), but the likelihood that anyone will join the game is low IMO... that's why I wanted to run a dedicated server on my other machine and keep it up for days at a time to let it become more visible to the general public in hopes that I could get some participation.

Wow, are all games that difficult to set up dedicated servers?
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 08:02 PM   #3
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Anyone here know their way around setting up a UT3 dedicatd server?

I've run a UT3 server on linux, it wasnt too bad. Not much different than running any other game server on linux. Copy some files, edit some configs, make a startup script, done.

Dont know about windows though.

You should be able to start the server without having to edit the configs with this command, just change the parts as needed:

Code:
/path/to/ut3RootFolder/Binaries/ut3 server DM-ShangriLa?Game=UTGame.UTDeathmatch?bAllowMapVoting=True?VoteDuration=40?numplay=2?maxplayers=10?timelimit=25?goalscore=35?botskill=2?bUsesStats=True?AdminPassword=***** -login=YOURGAMESPYID -password=YOURGAMESPYPASSWORD -unattended -nohome
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 08:31 PM   #4
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Anyone here know their way around setting up a UT3 dedicatd server?

I opened the required ports on the inbound side. I created a desktop shortcut to the dedicated server exe. I right clicked, went to properties and then added what I could in the target area. I said "what I could" because you can't put too much text in there. Besides, since the newer patches the server knows much of the info without it having to be in the command line, and furthermore, lots of stuff that used to be put in the command line can now be put in the ini file. See http://gearsforums.epicgames.com/sho...d.php?t=591920 for more on that.

I assumed that installing mutators is the same as for the desktop client. And I don't yet know if I can force use of custom characters, as I'd like my server to just be COG or Locust characters.

I think maybe I'm not understanding some of the basic logistics of this, however. But maybe that's because despite the fact that I can get the dedicated server running, I really don't quite understand what I'm looking at, I don't see an IP address to log on to... ehh...

I know I'll figure all this out in time, it's just my first time really trying to do anything like this.

I should start simple and host a 2 person game with no mutators, shouldn't I?

btw what's -nohome?
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-10, 01:21 AM   #5
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Anyone here know their way around setting up a UT3 dedicatd server?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
I opened the required ports on the inbound side. I created a desktop shortcut to the dedicated server exe. I right clicked, went to properties and then added what I could in the target area. I said "what I could" because you can't put too much text in there. Besides, since the newer patches the server knows much of the info without it having to be in the command line, and furthermore, lots of stuff that used to be put in the command line can now be put in the ini file. See http://gearsforums.epicgames.com/sho...d.php?t=591920 for more on that.

I assumed that installing mutators is the same as for the desktop client. And I don't yet know if I can force use of custom characters, as I'd like my server to just be COG or Locust characters.

I think maybe I'm not understanding some of the basic logistics of this, however. But maybe that's because despite the fact that I can get the dedicated server running, I really don't quite understand what I'm looking at, I don't see an IP address to log on to... ehh...

I know I'll figure all this out in time, it's just my first time really trying to do anything like this.

I should start simple and host a 2 person game with no mutators, shouldn't I?

btw what's -nohome?
First, "-nohome" tells the server to use the ini files within the server directories instead of using/creating seperate ini files in your home directory. Makes configuring it a bit easier IMO.

Okay, lets see the server output so we can find out where things are going awry...


Run straight from the command line. If your on windows, open the command prompt properties, goto the layout tab, andin the screen buffer size, change height to 3000 and width to 110. When the server finishes loading and/or crashes, post the complete output in here including the command you used to execute the server (minus your gamespy id and password). Please put them in the [ code ] bbtag please
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-10, 02:47 AM   #6
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Anyone here know their way around setting up a UT3 dedicatd server?

Using the method from http://gearsforums.epicgames.com/sho...d.php?t=585864 I started a dedicated game, setting it up through the GUI in my retail game on the media PC.

The code from the dedicated server log file is as follows:

Code:
Server DM-Diesel?MaxPlayers=2?MinNetPlayers=0?NumPublicConnections=2?NumPrivateConnections=0?NumOpenPublicConnections=2?NumOpenPrivateConnections=0?bShouldAdvertise=True?bIsLanMatch=False?bUsesStats=True?bAllowJoinInProgress=True?bAllowInvites=True?bUsesPresence=True?bAllowJoinViaPresence=True?bUsesArbitration=False?bIsDedicated=True?bIsListPlay=False?OwningPlayerName=?GameMode=0?Difficulty=1?PureServer=1?LockedServer=0?Campaign=0?ForceRespawn=1?GoalScore=10?TimeLimit=0?ServerDescription=068000105000101000115000101000108000045000049000054000120000057000?NumPlay=2?game=UTGame.UTDeathmatch?name=XXXX?alias=XXXX -log=DedicatedServer.log -Login=XXXX -Password=YYYY
I'll need to add - unattended & - nohome to the version of this that I apply to the desk PC's dedicated server prompt. I'm about to try it out. BTW this is a 0-2 player Diesel map with no custom stuff going on. I'll add mutators later.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-10, 02:59 AM   #7
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Anyone here know their way around setting up a UT3 dedicatd server?

Yes, the first step is getting the server up and running; ideally with the default settings...

If you do manage to get it running (it takes about 20-30 seconds to fully start up) and able to join the game thru the server browoser - then I definitely recommend adding the WebAdmin extension so that you can change server params on the fly. This is especially usefulwhen testing new stuff.


http://ut3webadmin.elmuerte.com/
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-10, 03:11 AM   #8
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Anyone here know their way around setting up a UT3 dedicatd server?

Hm, when I uninstalled the dedicated server program on the desk pc yesterday in hopes of starting over fresh I forgot to delete the folders in my My Games folders, which contain the INI file and still have the mutators etc in there. Dang it, maybe I need to uninstall and reinstall again?

Hm.

Regardless, i ran the following which was a bit optimized from the previous code posted:
Code:
Server DM-Diesel?MaxPlayers=2?MinNetPlayers=0?bShouldAdvertise=True?bUsesStats=True?bAllowJoinInProgress=True?bAllowInvites=True?bIsDedicated=True?bIsListPlay=False?OwningPlayerName=?GameMode=0?Difficulty=1?PureServer=1?LockedServer=0?ForceRespawn=1?GoalScore=10?TimeLimit=0?ServerDescription=068000105000101000115000101000108000045000049000054000120000057000?NumPlay=2?game=UTGame.UTDeathmatch? -log=DedicatedServer.log -Login=XXXX -Password=XXXX -unattended -nohome
Attached is the output in a text file... I'll see if it's showing up in the result browser now.
Attached Files
File Type: txt server.txt (5.5 KB, 79 views)
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-30-10, 03:21 AM   #9
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Anyone here know their way around setting up a UT3 dedicatd server?

judging by the txt file I loaded up, the custom content and previous ini file changes are screwing with what I did. I'm gonna do a reinstall and make sure i get rid of all old stuff, then I'll try this again.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-10, 04:24 AM   #10
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Anyone here know their way around setting up a UT3 dedicatd server?

Ok, so I did a fresh install.

Again, here's my command line info:

Code:
ut3.exe Server DM-Diesel?MaxPlayers=2?MinNetPlayers=0?bShouldAdvertise=True?bUsesStats=True?bAllowJoinInProgress=True?bAllowInvites=True?bIsDedicated=True?bIsListPlay=False?OwningPlayerName=?GameMode=0?Difficulty=1?PureServer=1?LockedServer=0?ForceRespawn=1?GoalScore=10?TimeLimit=0?ServerDescription=068000105000101000115000101000108000045000049000054000120000057000?NumPlay=2?game=UTGame.UTDeathmatch? -log=DedicatedServer.log -Login=XXXX -Password=XXXX -unattended -nohome
... and attached is the txt file basically serving as a log file.

I can't see the game on the game browser on the other pc despite multiple refreshes. I have empty servers selected, I've tried it with and without listing all game modes, dedicated only is selected...

I do have 2 separate gamespy accounts set up, both under different email addresses, so I know I'm good there... for login I put in my nickname, right? I wouldn't think it'd be the email address.

I'm running the newest version of both the dedicated server software and the desktop client FWIW.
Attached Files
File Type: txt server.txt (2.5 KB, 65 views)
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch



Last edited by ragejg; 01-30-10 at 04:11 PM. Reason: d'oh....
ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-10, 02:33 PM   #11
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Anyone here know their way around setting up a UT3 dedicatd server?

Dude nobody here wants to see your password! Edit your post.

The whole gamespy thing is stupid, but all I know as long as its a valid gamespy id, thats all that matters, as long as its not the same one you use for playing the game.

Okay, thats wierd, the only thing out of place I can see is this
Quote:
Originally Posted by Server Log
ScriptLog: -- MAPVOTE has been disabled due to lack of maps!
what do you have in these folders...

\UTGame\CookedPC\Maps
\UTGame\CookedPC\Private\Maps
\UTGame\Published\CookedPC\CustomMaps
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-10, 04:45 PM   #12
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Anyone here know their way around setting up a UT3 dedicatd server?

crap, it was late, and I forgot to edit that out. It's now edited.

C:\Program Files\Unreal Tournament 3 (Dedicated)\UTGame\CookedPC\Maps contains the cinematics folder, and a bunch of maps.

C:\Program Files\Unreal Tournament 3 (Dedicated)\UTGame\CookedPC\Private\Maps contains a bunch of maps too.

... And there's no Published\CookedPC\CustomMaps folder.

... CustomMaps IS located in the group of folders located in the My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\Unpublished folder... there's nothing in there at the moment.

I've never seen a Published folder.

... So I changed my commandline (below) to another map ... DM-CarbonFire... and re-ran ... oh and I also chenged the server description...

Code:
ut3.exe Server DM-CarbonFire?MaxPlayers=2?MinNetPlayers=0?bShouldAdvertise=True?bUsesStats=True?bAllowJoinInProgress=True?bAllowInvites=True?bIsDedicated=True?bIsListPlay=False?OwningPlayerName=?GameMode=0?Difficulty=1?PureServer=1?LockedServer=0?ForceRespawn=1?GoalScore=10?TimeLimit=0?ServerDescription=082000065000071000073000078000071000032000067000065000082000066000079000078000070000073000082000069000032000050000080000?NumPlay=2?game=UTGame.UTDeathmatch? -log=DedicatedServer.log -Login=XXXX -Password=XXXX -unattended -nohome
Text file attached. I'm still getting the mapvote disabled notification there.... why would that be, given that the map is where it's supposed to be?
Attached Files
File Type: txt server.txt (2.7 KB, 58 views)
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.