Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-08, 10:26 AM   #1
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default New to Linux

My older brother, whom i might add is about the smartest Linux person I know (and the most passionate Windows hater) has convinced me try it out.

He said i should start out with Ubuntu and geenome. Well, i am willing to start but honestly, being a sorrid windows guy for so many years, i dont even know where to start. I have an HP 2710P tablet running Vista Ultimate, but i would LIKE to dual boot with Linux.

He is going to help me along as well, but if you guys have information about how to even start, i'd love to hear it.

here are the links he gave me so far.

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/LaptopTestingTeam/HP2710p_Hardy

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HARDWARE_HP_Compaq_2710p
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-08, 05:43 PM   #2
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: New to Linux

www.ubuntuforum.org

The best thing to do is just to goof around with it. And trust me, if you mess around with stuff as much as I do, you will be reinstalling a few times. Actually, I take that back. You might have to reinstall once or twice at most. Things have really shaped up for Linux the past year.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-08, 06:26 PM   #3
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: New to Linux

i got it installed finally.

i am working to get Evolution mail to connect to my exchange server (its already synced to gmail) and i am working on getting amsn installed too.

this rocks man. i am really realy liking this. i didnt set a drive as a swap drive since i have 3GB of ram. think that'll be okay?
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-08, 11:46 AM   #4
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: New to Linux

Nice job installing! About damn time...
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-08, 03:36 PM   #5
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: New to Linux

Check post dates before you post and bump BearBuddy.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-08, 03:52 PM   #6
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: New to Linux

haha. wow - in 10 weeks its amazing how much i have learned. geez
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-09, 10:15 PM   #7
fhj52
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: New to Linux

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoomy942 View Post
... i didnt set a drive as a swap drive since i have 3GB of ram. think that'll be okay?
The kernel needs a little swap space.
Try 100MB(it actually uses less but that is a good number). The only other time swap is used depends on how much you have running at once or if some errant program has a memory leak. A memory leak w/o a large swap will quickly stall the system but in almost ten years, I only experienced that once. Even then, not a memory leak precisely.

You can use a "swapfile" and not set a drive(partition) for swap so there is no need to (re)partition space to accommodate a swap.

This will create swapfile of ~ 100 MB on the root (/) partition
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=1024 count=100000
(dd)

Then this formats it as swap
Code:
mkswap /swapfile
(mkswap)

Then you need to turn it on
Code:
swapon /swapfile
(swapon)

Other locations(other than /) are okay. Best location is on a separate physical drive, if you have a second physical drive.
You will want to set it to activate at every boot. I'll leave that for you to determine how to do it(you did say "its amazing how much i have learned"). It's not hard ... .

Please be careful with dd command. It is very powerful.
__________________
When two people meet and exchange gifts, each has one object.
When two people meet and exchange ideas, each has two ideas.
... Open Source. Just do it.

---------------------------------
System: BFG GTX260^2 graphics but has ** TERRIBLE BLINKING OS **
SuperMicro H8DCi+AMI BIOS;dual Opt'285;8GB;LSI 320-2x w/ 6xU320 Fuji' MAXs in RAID 10; 4xSATAII on LSI 3041E for backup. Multi-boot Mandriva Linux, openSUSE, WinXPx64 & Win2k-AS; Creative Audigy2-Digital audio.
Gigabyte GA-2CEWH & NVRAID are GONE ... Finally!!
fhj52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-09, 11:34 AM   #8
asloman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 7
Default Re: New to Linux

Quote:
Originally Posted by fhj52 View Post
The kernel needs a little swap space.
Try 100MB(it actually uses less but that is a good number). The only other time swap is used depends on how much you have running at once or if some errant program has a memory leak.
.......
If, like me, you never wish to reboot, but prefer to suspend to disk before switching off and later resume, with all applications left running, you'll need a swap area to be used by the suspend system. The version I use is what used to be called SWSUSP2 (software-suspend2) now called 'tuxonice'. I simply install the kernel and kernel-devel packages prepared by Matthias Hensler, here for Fedora users.
http://mhensler.de/swsusp/download_en.php
If you are using Ubuntu you may be able to find another site. Try running synaptic and tell it to search for tuxonice.

It is probably a good idea, as a precaution, to have a swap area twice the size of your physical memory, if you have lots of spare disk space. (In the past that was often said to be an absolute requirement). If all your running processes are much smaller than the total amount of physical memory, then the need to swap stuff out in order to claim a large contiguous chunk of physical memory is unlikely to arise. Maybe modern memory-management designs make that unnecessary anyway.

Aaron
http://www.cs.bham.ac.uk
asloman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-19-09, 12:31 AM   #9
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: New to Linux

A Practical Guide to Ubuntu Linux 2nd Edition

1000+ pages of pure geek... I'm on my way
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 05:42 PM   #10
ShiningArcanine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 106
Default Re: New to Linux

Quote:
Originally Posted by fhj52 View Post
The kernel needs a little swap space.
Try 100MB(it actually uses less but that is a good number). The only other time swap is used depends on how much you have running at once or if some errant program has a memory leak. A memory leak w/o a large swap will quickly stall the system but in almost ten years, I only experienced that once. Even then, not a memory leak precisely.
The kernel can run without any swap space. Also, if the system runs out of memory, the kernel will begin killing stuff randomly to be able to allocate more.
ShiningArcanine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 06:12 PM   #11
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: New to Linux

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoomy942 View Post
i got it installed finally.

i am working to get Evolution mail to connect to my exchange server (its already synced to gmail) and i am working on getting amsn installed too.

this rocks man. i am really realy liking this. i didnt set a drive as a swap drive since i have 3GB of ram. think that'll be okay?
Hey well done, I was wondering if you got evolution mail to connect to exchange server and if so what version of exchange
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-10, 08:09 PM   #12
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: New to Linux

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drolfrawd View Post
Hey well done, I was wondering if you got evolution mail to connect to exchange server and if so what version of exchange
You would be better off PMing him Drol. Old thread that someone else bumped.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 01:52 PM
302.07 (beta) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 10:55 AM
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 11:13 PM
Ti4200 and Linux Install Problem ultrajava NVIDIA Linux 5 09-28-02 09:13 AM
Linux VS. Windows XP! XP wins! dostler NVIDIA Linux 20 09-15-02 04:47 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.