Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-10, 11:51 AM   #1
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

I know this goes into the realm of unethical behavior, but what do you guys think of upgrading the 360 hard drive on your own. Sony has no qualms letting us do it, but MS wants us to pay a premium to upgrade. I have been looking up some tutorials online and it seems fairly straight forward to replace th puny 20GB with a cheap 250GB WD Scorpio drive. MS is planning to sell the very same 250GB hard drive according to reports for 250 bucks.

My only worry is that MS will ban me for using an unauthorized harddrive. But is it legal for MS to enforce this requirement?
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-10, 12:06 PM   #2
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Unfortunately it's their system and service so it would not be illegal for them to ban you for using an unauthorized HD on the system.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-10, 07:43 PM   #3
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Let me put it this way. If you use a hard drive that you didn't purchase from them, then they'd never know the difference. In order to get an OEM drive working on the 360 you need to make it look like on you purchased from them.

I said **** it and just got an Elite.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-10, 07:58 PM   #4
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
I said **** it and just got an Elite.
Traitor!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-10, 07:58 PM   #5
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Traitor!
lol wut?

I still have a PS3
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-10, 07:59 PM   #6
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Ok, then you're just Bi.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-10, 07:49 PM   #7
Albo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 3,633
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Ok, then you're just Bi.
Albo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-10, 03:59 PM   #8
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

LOL

It's getting harder and harder to use the drives you've created yourself. More and more people are getting bans from using custom drives. I didn't buy an elite. I just got the 120gb drive on sale as they were phasing them out for the more expensive 60gb drives... Go figure...
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-11-10, 05:37 PM   #9
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
LOL

It's getting harder and harder to use the drives you've created yourself. More and more people are getting bans from using custom drives. I didn't buy an elite. I just got the 120gb drive on sale as they were phasing them out for the more expensive 60gb drives... Go figure...
where are people getting banned for using their own hard drives. Is that a downunder special going on right now??
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-10, 05:50 AM   #10
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

No. I just remembered the news wrong. It seems what they do is disable HDD on the banned console (banned from DVD flashes and the like), so not only are you banned from Live, you are banned from installing and running games from your HDD. You can ofcourse move that drive to a clean 360 and use it fine there.

Sorry of the mis info. Though, you can bet your bum MS are working on a way to detect unauthorised HDDs too.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-10, 08:15 AM   #11
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
LOL

It's getting harder and harder to use the drives you've created yourself. More and more people are getting bans from using custom drives. I didn't buy an elite. I just got the 120gb drive on sale as they were phasing them out for the more expensive 60gb drives... Go figure...
IIRC, the way they used to do it was to buy a drive that is exactly the same as the ones MS uses. Then you can download software that changes the drives file system and makes it behave exactly like a 360 hard drive.

I don't think they will be able to detect those drives. But if you modify your 360 to allow for any drive, they will probably catch you and ban you.

But, I don't think you can buy drives like that anymore.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-10, 09:58 AM   #12
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

are we talking hard drives or dvd drives here?
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive failure, or something else? LycosV General Hardware 8 08-11-06 04:31 PM
New Hard Drive Install Peoples-Agent General Hardware 3 04-12-06 06:01 AM
Acceptable hard drive temperature? Ninjaman09 General Hardware 12 02-08-05 06:56 AM
Cloning hard drive with dump and restore commands satimis General Linux 2 09-07-04 04:23 AM
I hope it's only a dead Hard Drive Iron1384 General Hardware 5 05-13-04 08:35 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.