Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-10, 11:41 AM   #13
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Quote:
Originally Posted by tornadog View Post
are we talking hard drives or dvd drives here?
Hard drives. There's a reason why you can't just swap out any laptop hard drive for a 360 hard drive.

They used to sell the exact same models MS used in stores, but I think they have discontinued them. You used to be able to buy a bigger hard drive, then flash the drive with an application from online which would make it work on the 360.

I looked into it a while back. Read this: http://www.pcdoctor-guide.com/wordpress/?p=4193
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-10, 12:39 PM   #14
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

I don't remember exactly but I thought there was more than just getting a similar HD and having a program format it correctly. IIRC you needed some kind of serial number or a copied sector from a legitimate MS HD or something to use it, if you copied the one from your current 20GB drive it didn't matter if you put in a 250GB drive it would only see 20GB.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-10, 01:47 PM   #15
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Quote:
Originally Posted by LurkerLito View Post
I don't remember exactly but I thought there was more than just getting a similar HD and having a program format it correctly. IIRC you needed some kind of serial number or a copied sector from a legitimate MS HD or something to use it, if you copied the one from your current 20GB drive it didn't matter if you put in a 250GB drive it would only see 20GB.
All drives have different serial numbers, but you do need the exact same model. This is why any 120GB drive won't work, you need a specific brand/model.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-10, 04:11 PM   #16
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

I'm waiting till the 250gb 360 hd is sold separately, the new FF is coming out on three discs for the 360. I'm far to lazy to want to get up and walk 8' to the console, switch discs, and walk another 8' to sit back down.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-10, 02:56 PM   #17
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

well, I decided to go ahead and do it anyway. If I get banned for it, so be it...I love the fact that I installed my whole collection of games to the hard drive and still have space left!!!!
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-10, 07:54 PM   #18
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyme View Post
I'm waiting till the 250gb 360 hd is sold separately, the new FF is coming out on three discs for the 360. I'm far to lazy to want to get up and walk 8' to the console, switch discs, and walk another 8' to sit back down.
Would that even work? I thought you still had to have the disc in, but installing it on the 360 just stopped it from reading from the disc constantly (and making a ****ton of noise).
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-10, 07:52 AM   #19
Stoneyguy
Mechwarrior
 
Stoneyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kaplan, LA
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via MSN to Stoneyguy
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Quote:
Originally Posted by tornadog View Post
well, I decided to go ahead and do it anyway. If I get banned for it, so be it...I love the fact that I installed my whole collection of games to the hard drive and still have space left!!!!
What HDD you went with? What directions did you follow?
Stoneyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-10, 09:29 PM   #20
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Hunt View Post
Would that even work? I thought you still had to have the disc in, but installing it on the 360 just stopped it from reading from the disc constantly (and making a ****ton of noise).
From what I've read, it depends on the developer. Some still require swapping discs, and others don't.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-16-10, 09:41 PM   #21
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyme View Post
From what I've read, it depends on the developer. Some still require swapping discs, and others don't.
From what I read I thought it was required by MS because of renting/keeping concerns.

http://majornelson.com/archive/2008/...plus-more.aspx
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-10, 09:56 PM   #22
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
From what I read I thought it was required by MS because of renting/keeping concerns.

http://majornelson.com/archive/2008/...plus-more.aspx
I can see that as a valid concern. While it will not stop the diehards, it does stop the average joe. I personally like the quieter aspect.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-10, 12:49 AM   #23
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Yeah. Quieter and less chance for Disc Read Errors which plagued games like Mass Effect. After installing it, it's runs flawlessly.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-10, 02:18 PM   #24
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: getting a bigger hard drive for 360??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoneyguy View Post
What HDD you went with? What directions did you follow?
I went with this guide

http://digiex.net/computing-section/...ork-360-a.html

And I used a Western Digital WD2500BEKT Scorpio Black bought from newegg for 65 bucks.
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive failure, or something else? LycosV General Hardware 8 08-11-06 04:31 PM
New Hard Drive Install Peoples-Agent General Hardware 3 04-12-06 06:01 AM
Acceptable hard drive temperature? Ninjaman09 General Hardware 12 02-08-05 06:56 AM
Cloning hard drive with dump and restore commands satimis General Linux 2 09-07-04 04:23 AM
I hope it's only a dead Hard Drive Iron1384 General Hardware 5 05-13-04 08:35 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.