Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-10, 07:22 PM   #1
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Cable from Abit IP35-Pro to Z5500...toslink s/pdif??

So I've had my Logitech Z5500 speakers for a while and want to try passing it digital audio from my Abit IP35-Pro motherboard. Is the cable I should buy a "toslink" cable?

Like as seen here:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Just want to make sure before I buy it.
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-10, 08:00 PM   #2
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Cable from Abit IP35-Pro to Z5500...toslink s/pdif??

That will work, just keep in mind that you won't get surround sound in games using that connection unless your onboard sound supports Dolby Digital Live or DTS Connect real time encoding. Most onboard sound chips do not, so you'll only get stereo from real time sources. DVDs and other media with pre-encoded dolby\DTS sources will pass through to your speakers just fine though.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-10, 07:35 AM   #3
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Re: Cable from Abit IP35-Pro to Z5500...toslink s/pdif??

Oh thanks for the heads up. Will there be a significant change in the quality of audio with onboard? Or should I just wait to change out the cable till I get a soundcard?
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-10, 10:39 AM   #4
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Cable from Abit IP35-Pro to Z5500...toslink s/pdif??

When I was using my onboard sound, I used the Toslink to output the sound from movies, DTS & DD (PowerDVD or equiv. needed), to my amp. But still used the 7.1 output jacks for gaming. The Toslink out should give you better sound quality for movies provided the DAC in the Z-5500 is better than the DAC on your board, which it should be.

As Capt said, you'll need a sound card with DD Live or DTS Connect if you're wanting to output sound from games through the Toslink, though.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABIT NF7-S onboard sound in SUSE 9.2 PRo davidmoore83 General Hardware 0 01-12-05 06:16 AM
Abit NF7-s v2.0 and SuSE 9.0 Pro edwinlcw General Linux 0 05-24-04 01:51 AM
9500 Pro vs. 9600 Pro vs. 5600 Ultra cvearl NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 5 03-08-03 09:14 AM
GeForce FX reviews and feedback PreservedSwine NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 152 02-03-03 02:11 PM
I went from a Radeon LE to a Radeon 9700 Pro Joe Cool Other Desktop Graphics Cards 16 11-07-02 08:15 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.