Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-10, 07:55 AM   #1
Thymoglobule
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default dual screen problem with GTX280M

Hi, I just recieved a new laptop (Clevo M980NU). The graphic card is a GTX280M (M for mobile edition). I am using windows 7 on this computer. I am trying to use an external screen plugged on the DVI port but I am having troubles.
I downloaded the latest driver from nVIdia today and installed it.

- First I tried a screen that does not have a DVI input, so I had to use a VGA/DVI adaptator. The screen is detected, but the resolution is wrong. The only resolution I can choose for the external display is 1920x1080, which is the resolution of my laptop screen. The actual resolution of the external display is 1440x900 but it is not detected. The picture on the external display is of course completly destroyed with this incorrect resolution (I am actually surprised that something is displayed at all). To make things worse, if I press the "detect" button in the display settings of windows 7, the main display switches to the external screen and the integrated screen of my laptop is not detected anymore...

- Then I tried a screen that has a DVI input, hopping that the problem was linked to the use of a VGA/DVI adaptator. The screen is simply never detected! Just to be sure, I used another screen with a DVI input from my work and the result was the same: not detected!

I'd like to know if someone has experienced the same issues. It would help me determine if it is a software or hardware problem. Thank you in advance.
Thymoglobule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-10, 01:45 PM   #2
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: dual screen problem with GTX280M

When you say latest drivers do you mean latest as in beta or latest as in whql? I've found that in some driver versions the dvi out doesn't work at all. Almost like its excluded from beta builds.

Also, I usually just hot plug the monitor into the dvi port... if windows detects it, both screens go black for a couple of seconds before coming back on.
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-10, 05:08 AM   #3
Thymoglobule
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: dual screen problem with GTX280M

Thank you for your answer. I am using the WHQL drivers, not something beta. So I did more tests today, searching for a hardware problem and I found it: it was actually the DVI cable I was using that has a bad contact. The cable is brand new, so it was the last thing I checked...
There are still troubles with the resolution when I use a VGA cable with VGA/DVI adaptor to plug a non-DVI screen, but I guess the adapator is preventing the proper detection of the resolution.
Thymoglobule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-10, 07:45 AM   #4
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: dual screen problem with GTX280M

My monitor has both dvi and rgb in. If I use dvi->rgb it doesn't detect my monitor at all and after a couple of seconds the monitor goes into power saving mode. But dvi->dvi it works perfectly. Just for reference, I run dual monitors off the M980NU. One is dvi->dvi and the other hdmi->hdmi. At one point I did connect dvi->hdmi but had a strange problem where the desktop was 1920x1080 but didn't fit the screen. But there was a 1:1 pixel mapping option in the monitors menus that sorted it.
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-10, 11:22 AM   #5
Thymoglobule
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: dual screen problem with GTX280M

So you mean that I can plug a 3rd screen using the HDMI output? Sounds nice.
Thymoglobule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-10, 01:40 PM   #6
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: dual screen problem with GTX280M

Hmmm, not sure. I have 2 external monitors connected just fine. But this disables the laptop screen. I would assume 2 is the max although thats with SLI enabled. So maybe its different with SLI off.
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.