Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-03, 04:19 PM   #1
b5fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 52
Question Windows XP goes on crawl for 10 to 20 seconds at random once in a while

hi,
havent a clue whats causing this and its totaly random it can happen 2 or 3 times in about 3 to 4 hours or its fine all day np
and be ok for a couple of days and then it starts again.

Ive reinstalled yesterday and its done it again just about 2 times in 1 hour.

Its puzzling me whats up and causing it
anyone had same problem or know whats causing it ?

it didnt used to do it, started doing it about a month back
b5fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-03, 04:42 PM   #2
schuey74
GTX 280 (675/1458/2500)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 819
Default

Sounds like your PSU. Trying another one, if possible. Also, post your system's specs. This way if anyone has a similiar system it will be easier to isolate the problem.
schuey74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-03, 05:53 PM   #3
b5fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 52
Default

my system specs are

Athlon xp 1700
512mb DDR PC2100 memory in 2 x 256mb strips
ASUS A7N266-VM motherboard
Club 3D Radeon 9100 128mb graphics card
Onboard sound
ISDN card
Q-Tec 400 watt PSU the gold coloured one with 2 fans

Nothing overclocked all default speeds

All voltages are steady on PSU as ive got ASUS probe running all time checking temps, voltages.

its been ok since it did it again, it goes like this and then at random it do it again
seems to be when im online though
b5fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-03, 03:06 AM   #4
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default

You don't happend to be running Norton Anti Virus do you? I have a suspision that could cause it after it occured on my system while I was trying the beta.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-03, 04:22 AM   #5
b5fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 52
Default

nope not got norton installed found a lot bette Anti-virus software
called AVG from grisoft

www.grisoft.com

its free to download and update and it found and stops u accessing files with virus in while downloading or even when u click on it.

which is 1 thing nortons not very good at.
b5fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-03, 04:29 AM   #6
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Next time it happens check task manager, maybe its doing and auto defrag? XP does this if you are not using your pc then should stop when you start using it again, just an idea.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-03, 05:56 PM   #7
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Greg
You don't happend to be running Norton Anti Virus do you? I have a suspision that could cause it after it occured on my system while I was trying the beta.
I take this back. It happened again for me last night and I no longer have Norton AV installed.

The effect is the computer running real slow, like 0-1 fps for 10-20sec then back to normal speed as if nothing happened. I *think* sounds were playing each time it happened.

I too would like ideas of what might be going on.

My system:
Epox 8RDA+ (nForce2)
Athlon XP2100
GeforceFX 5800
512mb DDR PC2100
WinXP Pro
IBM 60gxp 40gb HDD
Sony 140e CD-RW

Can't recall nforce2 drivers, but it is the version that was recalled. I don't experience CD or HDD problems others described though. Prob has occured with the last 3 nvidia drivers 44.71, 44.65, 44.5? Probably not related as others use ATI.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-03, 06:09 PM   #8
b5fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 52
Default

Ive got a Radeon 9100
so its not just someone with geforce cards

urmm
got to be something else

Ive got a Nforce based motherboard but first nforce chipset not nforce 2

so its not just me then and we both got different systems

Ive just reinstalled today and so far its running ok
only thing ive not got on is ASUS Probe
so going to install that and see what happens
b5fan is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-10-03, 06:30 PM   #9
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default

Two more questions:

o When the problem occurs, is the HDD light showing lots of HDD use?

o Were you connected to a network at the time?
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-03, 06:35 PM   #10
b5fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 52
Default

online mostly

not really looked at HD but i will next time it does it
b5fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-03, 06:59 PM   #11
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Another thing would be to run something like ad aware or some other anti-spyware software, you running a firewall?

Greg are you suggesting that someone may be scanning his HDD? I used to think that myself, but since having Kerio firezwall, I dont have that happen anymore If my pc sits idle for a bit, XP will start running auto defrag until I start using my pc again, thats the only time I like to here HDD activity
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-03, 09:40 PM   #12
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smokey
Another thing would be to run something like ad aware or some other anti-spyware software, you running a firewall?

Greg are you suggesting that someone may be scanning his HDD?
Yes, I'm running a firewall. I doubt it is from external network influence.

No, I'm not suggesting someone is accessing the HDD. I was actually thinking about dodgy nForce and Windows Ethernet drivers which cause pauses and slowdowns with other computers connected in LAN, and with shared drives.

I doubt it is network related because I *think* it occured once when I only had once computer on, so the LAN services and NIC would be idle.

EDIT: Another thing I will be trying, is to check Task Manager and see if another thread is hogging the CPU. This is real hard during Full Screen games, and also because the problem in not readily reproducable.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM
$15 Windows 8 upgrades available from Microsoft through January 2013 News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 11:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.