Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-27-02, 10:53 PM   #1
Hellfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Parker, CO.
Posts: 6
Cool Dual Monitor in W2k Help!

Welcome back!!!!

Here is my problem.
I can not get Dual View in W2kpro.

I am running W2Kpro and WinXPpro as dual boot, in XP when I go to the "Display Properties" and click on the tab "Settings" I get dual view mode which shows two displays, but in W2k when I do the same steps I do not.

I do not want to use Nvidia's nView, besides I don't have to use it in XP.

I remember reading a thread somewhere here that metion this problem and it had a fix for it.

It had to do with changing a value in the registry. I'm thinking since this is a single card with two monitor outputs the system sees this card as a single video card. It's when you install the driver it should change a value in the registry and then the system should see it as two.

Is this wrong thinking?

Does anybody know where to change this key?

Please Help!
Thanks!
__________________
SuperMicro 370DDE/2x1Ghz W/T/take Gorbs/1GB Crucial 133 Reg. ECC/VisionTek Xtasy Geforce 4 Ti 4600 128 mb DDR/SB Audigy/60GB Seagate 7200/2x20GB IBM 75GXP 7200 Raid 0/Linksys LNE100TX/Int. ZIP/Pioneer DVDROM 105S Slot Load/Yamaha 2100EZ IDE CDRW/Antec 1030B/Digital Doc 5/W2K Pro SP3/WindowsXP Pro
Hellfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 07:10 PM   #2
Northwood
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have this same problem in WinXPpro using nview. Does anyone know what I can do to fix this?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 08:30 PM   #3
Hellfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Parker, CO.
Posts: 6
Cool

The matrox g400 is a dualhead card and you are able to run both monitors with one card in W2k with it. Some people are saying that it has to do with the driver.

I know I read a post on this forum that gave the tweek in the registry to make this happen with any dual head card.

Please help!

I'm asking on this forum because it has some of the brightest and the most talented computer know it all's in the world.

Thanks!
__________________
SuperMicro 370DDE/2x1Ghz W/T/take Gorbs/1GB Crucial 133 Reg. ECC/VisionTek Xtasy Geforce 4 Ti 4600 128 mb DDR/SB Audigy/60GB Seagate 7200/2x20GB IBM 75GXP 7200 Raid 0/Linksys LNE100TX/Int. ZIP/Pioneer DVDROM 105S Slot Load/Yamaha 2100EZ IDE CDRW/Antec 1030B/Digital Doc 5/W2K Pro SP3/WindowsXP Pro
Hellfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 01:30 PM   #4
nutsnbolts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 13
Default Fix?

I have the titan3 Geforce3 OCZ video card. I just recently gotten myself another monitor and a DVI connector. However, when I hooked up everything there is no options in display properties > settings regarding extending my desktop, etc.

I'm trying to figure out what is going on? Anyone can give me some insight in this? Is it the video card? or is etc..
nutsnbolts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 08:25 PM   #5
Hellfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Parker, CO.
Posts: 6
Default

Hey nutsnbolts,
First off are you running Windows 2000. If the answer is yes then read on.

If that card can use the Nvidia drivers (which it should) then go straight to nVidia and dowloaded their drivers (ver. 30.82).

Then go to display properties> settings> advanced> (Name of your card tab)> Then click on the additional properties button, go to the desktop utilities tab and at the bottom you will see the option to "treat multiple outputs on an nView-capable board as seperate display devices."

This option allows windows 2000 to see both monitors and work in "native" multimonitor mode. You then follow the steps as you normally would to set up dual monitors in windows without using nVeiw.

Hope this works for you.
__________________
SuperMicro 370DDE/2x1Ghz W/T/take Gorbs/1GB Crucial 133 Reg. ECC/VisionTek Xtasy Geforce 4 Ti 4600 128 mb DDR/SB Audigy/60GB Seagate 7200/2x20GB IBM 75GXP 7200 Raid 0/Linksys LNE100TX/Int. ZIP/Pioneer DVDROM 105S Slot Load/Yamaha 2100EZ IDE CDRW/Antec 1030B/Digital Doc 5/W2K Pro SP3/WindowsXP Pro
Hellfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 08:49 PM   #6
ss1
Registered User
 
ss1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aberystwyth, UK & Horley, Surrey, UK
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to ss1 Send a message via AIM to ss1 Send a message via Yahoo to ss1
Default

Hellfire,

Have been able to run two monitors of different sizes i.e a 19" Monitor and a 15" LCD, at both individual resolutions and refresh rates?

The reason I'm asking is because when I tried to this before I had to decrease the resolution of my 19" to make it the same as my LCD otherwise the LCD wouldn't function.


ss1.
__________________
[size=0.08]CPU: Athlon XP 1600+ w/ Zalaman CPNS6000-AlCU HSF
OS: Windows 2000 Pro SP3
Mobo: MSI K7T266 pro 2 RU
VideoCard: Gainward Geforce4 Ti4400 128mb DDR ViVO 40.72 Dets
Monitor: LG 915FT+ Flatron 19" 1600x1200 @ 85hz
RAM: 512MB DDR
Storage: 2 x 40Gb Segate Barracuda IV's (7,200 rpm), 20Gb Segate U6 (5,200 rpm), Zip 250 IDE, Pioneer 16x DVD, Sony 32x10x40 CD-RW
SoundCard: Turtle Beach Santa Cruz (5.1 Digital) & SB Audigy Player (4.1 Analouge)
Speakers: Cambridge Soundworks DTT3500 5.1 Digital + Sony MDR-V150 Headphones[/size]

[size=0.5]“Fanatics make unreliable friends.” – Garrett – Thief : The Dark Project[/size]
ss1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 10:47 PM   #7
Hellfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Parker, CO.
Posts: 6
Default

Hello ss1,
I noticed from your signature that you are using 27.42 Dets. Is this correct or did you not update you signature? What has happened between now and then? That now it works, but before it did not. It might have been a limited set within the driver that you were using.

A lot of problems deal with the video drivers. As you know drivers allow the features of your video card to work. If they are not written correctly problems happen.

Until ver. 30.82 of the Nvidia drivers you could not get the native Windows dual view mode in Windows 2000 to get individual resolutions and refresh rates. You had to use nView and IMHO this did not work for me.

I hope this has help in a small way.
__________________
SuperMicro 370DDE/2x1Ghz W/T/take Gorbs/1GB Crucial 133 Reg. ECC/VisionTek Xtasy Geforce 4 Ti 4600 128 mb DDR/SB Audigy/60GB Seagate 7200/2x20GB IBM 75GXP 7200 Raid 0/Linksys LNE100TX/Int. ZIP/Pioneer DVDROM 105S Slot Load/Yamaha 2100EZ IDE CDRW/Antec 1030B/Digital Doc 5/W2K Pro SP3/WindowsXP Pro
Hellfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 11:58 PM   #8
nutsnbolts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 13
Default hmmm

I am actually using winxp. However, I did try the drivers 30.82 as opposed to the latest 40.?? drivers. I got to as far as the "DESKTOP UTILITIES TAB" I didn't see any...

treat multiple outputs on an nView-capable board as seperate display devices.

Any other suggestions? I don't see how this video card should have any problems...
nutsnbolts is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-03-02, 02:06 AM   #9
Hellfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Parker, CO.
Posts: 6
Default

nutsnbolts,
Is that WinXP Home or Pro? Who makes this card? I think this is funny, but I went to OCZ Technology and they had no info on this card or any video cards; just info on memory and heat sinks.

I had no problems in WindowsXP Pro using dual view with pre 30.xx drivers. When you removed the 40.xx drivers did you uninstall the adapter within the Device Manager, so XP would have to reload the adapter with the defualt VGA driver? Then install the 30.82 driver.
__________________
SuperMicro 370DDE/2x1Ghz W/T/take Gorbs/1GB Crucial 133 Reg. ECC/VisionTek Xtasy Geforce 4 Ti 4600 128 mb DDR/SB Audigy/60GB Seagate 7200/2x20GB IBM 75GXP 7200 Raid 0/Linksys LNE100TX/Int. ZIP/Pioneer DVDROM 105S Slot Load/Yamaha 2100EZ IDE CDRW/Antec 1030B/Digital Doc 5/W2K Pro SP3/WindowsXP Pro
Hellfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-02, 07:38 AM   #10
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to SnakeEyes
Post

nutsnbolts:
Your card is a GeForce3. Only GF2MX/GF4MX/GF4Ti cards can do dualhead display. With GeForce three, the two video output connectors are mutually exclusive, and are there mainly to allow you a choice of connection type based on whatever monitor you have (ie. use the VGA for most normal monitors or the DVI for better quality flat panels.).

Sorry to have to be the bearer of bad news.
__________________
Snake-Eyes
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-02, 09:12 AM   #11
nutsnbolts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Well now at least I know. I figured it might be the lack of the capabilities the video card I have. I was crossing my fingers that it wasn't that but I dont' know much about dual displays and video card capabilities. After much research, I started to see that the video cards you listed were pretty much the video cards I saw that had these capabilities.

Oh well, now it's time for me to go look for one.
nutsnbolts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-02, 09:23 AM   #12
ss1
Registered User
 
ss1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aberystwyth, UK & Horley, Surrey, UK
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to ss1 Send a message via AIM to ss1 Send a message via Yahoo to ss1
Default

Ok thxs Hellfire . Yeah I'm still using the 27.42's since I haven't found another Det's which runs UT in D3D without any glitches. I'll update to the 30.82's if I need the nView again .


cheers,


ss1.
__________________
[size=0.08]CPU: Athlon XP 1600+ w/ Zalaman CPNS6000-AlCU HSF
OS: Windows 2000 Pro SP3
Mobo: MSI K7T266 pro 2 RU
VideoCard: Gainward Geforce4 Ti4400 128mb DDR ViVO 40.72 Dets
Monitor: LG 915FT+ Flatron 19" 1600x1200 @ 85hz
RAM: 512MB DDR
Storage: 2 x 40Gb Segate Barracuda IV's (7,200 rpm), 20Gb Segate U6 (5,200 rpm), Zip 250 IDE, Pioneer 16x DVD, Sony 32x10x40 CD-RW
SoundCard: Turtle Beach Santa Cruz (5.1 Digital) & SB Audigy Player (4.1 Analouge)
Speakers: Cambridge Soundworks DTT3500 5.1 Digital + Sony MDR-V150 Headphones[/size]

[size=0.5]“Fanatics make unreliable friends.” – Garrett – Thief : The Dark Project[/size]
ss1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The New Windows 8 OS and the Stereoscopic 3D Support in It News Archived News Items 0 11-04-12 07:40 AM
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 10:10 AM
Multiple monitors on Windows 8 Release Preview: better, but still rough News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 12:50 PM
Windows 2000 SP3 - - IT'S OUT! OMG! I DON'T BELIEVE! PCarr78 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 22 08-01-02 10:23 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.