Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-03, 04:28 AM   #13
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by extreme_dB
Maybe a triplehead card would have triple GPUs.

Nonetheless, I would gladly sacrifice HQ settings for triplehead. And for strategy games/RTS, that might not even be necessary.

Triplehead is worth it for the 2D experience alone!
that will be EXtremely superb..
i just dream with that day.. to use more that one video card ,at least two..
like the old days of 3dfx.. just imagine the unlimited performance a dual R400 or dual Nv40 in your PC..

however is more expensive with video cards..that the standar for a highend is $500 and more and more games are shipping CPu limited,so the feature to use multiple processors is effective and cost you a lot less money.
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-03, 04:40 AM   #14
extreme_dB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 337
Default

The gaming experience with 3 monitors is revolutionary, so I think if the necessary hardware/software support was there, people in the enthusiast community would kind of HAVE TO drop $1500 regardless of any necessary sacrifices like food and clothing for their very own surround gaming theatre.
extreme_dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-03, 05:40 AM   #15
Hanners
Elite Bastard
 
Hanners's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 984
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by extreme_dB
The gaming experience with 3 monitors is revolutionary, so I think if the necessary hardware/software support was there, people in the enthusiast community would kind of HAVE TO drop $1500 regardless of any necessary sacrifices like food and clothing for their very own surround gaming theatre.
Not to mention the money to buy a new house to fit all those monitors in!

It is an interesting prospect though - Although it's only ever going to be a niche market, I wonder if ATi or nVidia have any plans to introduce triple monitor support any time soon on consumer-level cards.
__________________
Owner / Editor-in-Chief - Elite Bastards
Hanners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-03, 12:52 PM   #16
Typedef Enum
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 191
Default

I'm running in triple head right now. 2 LCD's are hooked up to my 9800 Pro, and the other LCD is hooked up to a Radeon PCI card. Out of 3 displays, 2 of them are using DVI, while the one is using Analog.
Typedef Enum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-03, 01:09 PM   #17
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

they do make video cards with multiple DACs (up to 4 I think) but they are designed for CAD and not your average home user or gamer. I think 3dlabs makes/made them.

But no, there is no way to take a single Nvidia GFFX or GF4 AGP card and allow it to handle more than two monitors by itself. HOWEVER it may be possible for the NVIEW software to handle more than two if you installed another Nvidia card. For example, a GFFX AGP card and a GFFX 5200 PCI card in the same machine. Or maybe even a GFFX AGP + GF4MX PCI card. I say this because they use the same detonator driver package anyway.

But even if NVIEW doesn't understand, hope is not lost. My friend uses 3 monitors with a Radeon VE AGP + Rage128 PCI combination and it works great, and that's handled by Windows not the driver package. Radeon and Rage128 use completely different driver packages yet Windows itself will allow you to use one big Desktop setup for multiple monitors and cards
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-03, 01:12 PM   #18
yoladude
Mr. Hobo
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 307
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nv40
3 monitors at once in a game will be supperb.
but you can count the people that have that cash$$ and even if you have the money ,you will need a video card 3xtimes faster than the NV35 and R350 to play at HQ settings in those games. so its not something we are going to see anytime soon.
actually, the matrox parhelia is remarkably efficient at running three monitors. granted, the resolution isn't as big as it could be, but it's basically 800x600 on each screen for a total of 2400x600. look here:
http://www.nvnews.net/reviews/matrox...ia/index.shtml
and you'll see fairly decent performance, especially in ut2k3 which i was surprised at.
__________________
AthlonXP 2200+ / 1024mb PC2100 / Geforce DDR (soon to be 6800le (soon to be 6800+))
yoladude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-03, 06:54 PM   #19
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default

If you just want 2d, with more monitors, you can add pci videa cards with monitors on em.
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-03, 07:01 PM   #20
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default

I have no product info, but I have seen a 'monitor' that has 3 screens, but one connector. It allows a huge display mode eg. 3000x1024. So the video card driver merely needs the ram and the driver support. The image is just split across 3 monitors. To play games properly, you would need the game to support different pixel aspect ratio, and/or create 3 viewports and render to them with parts of the wider view.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-13-03, 07:46 PM   #21
extreme_dB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 337
Default

Those 3in1 screens are incredibly expensive though. I would prefer to have a single, super wide-aspect screen, but we just won't see them in the consumer market for the forseeable future.

Regular CRT monitors are extremely cheap these days, so having 3 is not out of reach for the typical enthusiast. You just need lots of desk space, air conditioning, and a good stomach when you're opening your electrical bill. 3 LCDs would be much more practical, but at a higher initial cost.

If, say, HL2 supported 3 screens, and Nvidia supported 3 screens, then BAM, I'm there!
extreme_dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-03, 09:07 PM   #22
yoladude
Mr. Hobo
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 307
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by extreme_dB
...If, say, HL2 supported 3 screens, and Nvidia supported 3 screens, then BAM, I'm there!
__________________
AthlonXP 2200+ / 1024mb PC2100 / Geforce DDR (soon to be 6800le (soon to be 6800+))
yoladude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-03, 03:01 AM   #23
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default

I think get 2 widecreen LCD TV/monitors with VGA ports are bigger and better than 3 monitors so you can use 2 widescreen LCD TV, I will be plan to get probably 26 inch LCD TV for xmas, it likely to be 1200 to 1500.

Oh by the way I remember here was a link from AMD Zone about a insane man who use Geforce 4 AGP and PCI cards in 9 AMD powered PCs to run flight sim with 13 monitors.

http://members.chello.nl/~s.ferris/
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-03, 03:31 AM   #24
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default

You know, I was just thinking about this, and how the hell do you play a game with dual monitors? A first person shooter I mean.

The center of your screen would be split between the two monitors! And I personally have never seen monitors without borders.... how does this work!?!?!?!?!
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Quadro 420 and dual 30" monitors quickSTi NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 01:04 PM
Problems with configuring monitors and keeping them disabled with 302.17 Erosmith NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 01:10 AM
quadro 1000m with 2 external monitors stephenh NVIDIA Linux 1 06-14-12 05:04 PM
How's Phillips for Monitors? Switch General Hardware 11 10-09-02 08:40 AM
Monitors found but no configuration suitable bluephile NVIDIA Linux 4 08-31-02 07:53 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.