Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-03, 02:23 PM   #1
ColeMarcus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1
Default nforce under freebsd

Anyone knows if it is posible to use the nforce nic and audio under freebsd?
( nforce1 not nforce2)
ColeMarcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-03, 06:10 AM   #2
darius
foo
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 38
Default

The nvnet is not going to work without some major hacking as it's binary only.

The audio should work if you apply an analagous patch to the i810 driver..
darius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-03, 10:49 AM   #3
k0fcc
Joey Stanford
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to k0fcc Send a message via AIM to k0fcc Send a message via Yahoo to k0fcc
Default nForce and FreeBSD

Quote:
Originally posted by darius
The nvnet is not going to work without some major hacking as it's binary only.
Not even if you compile the code? I just attempted a load of FreeBSD on my MSI nForce system. I was able to get FreeBSD to load but at the time I didn't have the NVIDIA drivers handy. I switched over to RH9 and while it works, it's aweful performance, even after tune2fs and hdparms. Specifically, kupdated goes spastic and hogs most of resources (even with ext2 instead of ext3).

Maybe I should try to reinstall FreeBSD again now that I have the driver source on CD.
k0fcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-03, 08:58 AM   #4
erwos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 78
Default

Are you sure it's kupdated and not updatedb? RedHat 9 uses slocate, and they have updatedb run every day via cron. _That_ sucks down CPU, big time.

You can move updatedb's cron job to weekly if you don't do many searches, and you'll probably see quite a performance boost.

-Erwos
erwos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-03, 10:59 AM   #5
k0fcc
Joey Stanford
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to k0fcc Send a message via AIM to k0fcc Send a message via Yahoo to k0fcc
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by erwos
Are you sure it's kupdated and not updatedb?
Yes, positive that it's kupdated.

I even switched most of the active partitions over to ext2. That cut kupdated in half but unfortunately XP Home is still signficantly faster on that machine.
k0fcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-03, 12:53 PM   #6
radixvir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to radixvir
Default still no support

has anyone gotten nvnet to work under freebsd? i havent attempted yet, but i wanted to see if it was even worthwhile. i dont care about audio just the nvnet drivers (on 5.1-RELEASE)
radixvir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-03, 03:17 PM   #7
erwos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 78
Default

You can't just plug a Linux module into FreeBSD and expect it to work, sorry. The two kernels are quite different.

So, no, no nvnet support in FreeBSD right now.

-Erwos
erwos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nForce + RedHat 7.3 Success Story rtz NVIDIA Linux 47 02-15-03 03:20 AM
Nforce AGP & unreal 2003 nichos NVIDIA Linux 1 10-18-02 06:21 PM
Keep K7S5A or Upgrade To Nforce MB? Grechie CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 5 10-06-02 03:28 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-08-02 12:46 AM
new nforce driver!! 1.12!! frenchy2k1 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 9 08-27-02 02:09 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.