Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-10, 10:22 AM   #1
Ryeyoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 89
Default Sony reduces OS ram usage

http://www.joystiq.com/2010/02/23/70...s3-developers/

I found this odd, considering how ram limited the ps3 already is with only 256mb of system ram, it used almost half for the OS?? At least they've reduced it though.
Ryeyoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 11:23 AM   #2
abcgamer
Registered User
 
abcgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 105
Cool Re: Sony reduces OS ram usage

Yes that is really cool. For consoles even little amount can help I think. PS3 memory is 256mb DDR3 + 256mb XDR @3.2ghz. I think next gen will have 1gb but price should be reasonable. Not many wanted to buy PS3 when it was 400 and 500$. They all went and bought wii and 360 instead
abcgamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 02:26 PM   #3
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Sony reduces OS ram usage

Yea. Even 70mb is allright. Its weird how 360 came with standard 512 and ps3 with unified 2x256(one part on gpu)
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 02:29 PM   #4
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Sony reduces OS ram usage

The 360 was gonna have 256mb initially, but that soon changed their mind when they saw what the extra 256mb did to performance. I can't believe the PS3 gets away with 256mb.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-10, 12:25 AM   #5
Ryeyoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 89
Default Re: Sony reduces OS ram usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
The 360 was gonna have 256mb initially, but that soon changed their mind when they saw what the extra 256mb did to performance. I can't believe the PS3 gets away with 256mb.
Well, it's 512 shared which does add more flexibility but I'm not sure it's taht significant to 256 for system and 256 for video. I'd imagine you could program it so that the ram streams from system to gpu relatively easily. I believe the 360s 10mb of dedicated gpu(digitalfoundry mentions it frequently) ram helps the 360 a lot more than the unified architecture.
Ryeyoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-10, 02:01 AM   #6
jlippo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 532
Default Re: Sony reduces OS ram usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryeyoo View Post
Well, it's 512 shared which does add more flexibility but I'm not sure it's taht significant to 256 for system and 256 for video. I'd imagine you could program it so that the ram streams from system to gpu relatively easily. I believe the 360s 10mb of dedicated gpu(digitalfoundry mentions it frequently) ram helps the 360 a lot more than the unified architecture.
RSX can read and write to both memory pools, altough with some restrictions in block size and so on.
As can Cell, but it can only read from GDDR3 with speed of 16MB/s. (basically it's for debug.)

The 10MB on X360 GPU actually resides on completely different die which also hosts ROPs.
This also means that only read and blend frame buffer operations can use the massive bandwidth it offers.
ALUs or texture units cannot do anything in it, but work solely trough main ram.
One of the big advantages is that blending is free in terms of bandwidth and that currently used framebuffer doesn't take any memory and MSAA is resolved when copied to main ram. (with 720p 4xMSAA this is around 28MB saved main memory.)
jlippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.