Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-10, 01:15 PM   #1
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,959
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Good MVware That is good and supports 3D

I found that Virtualbox seems good haven't done alot with it yet except for some Ubuntu live sessions and some test with xp.

I looked for VMWare but they want money.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-10, 01:34 PM   #2
LydianKnight
Registered Knight
 
LydianKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Málaga, Spain
Posts: 977
Default Re: Good MVware That is good and supports 3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman
I looked for VMWare but they want money.
Not necessarily true. You can use VMWare Player, and there's some webpages on the internet which can pre-generate your virtual machine config files, so you can essentially skip the money requirement.

At least, the only really noticeable feature I've ever seen from VMWare Player to VMWare Workstation is the ability to create your virtual machines inside VMWare itself, but... it's all a matter of choice.

About 3D support... what are you exactly planning on running on the VM?
LydianKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-10, 05:52 PM   #3
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,959
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Good MVware That is good and supports 3D

and Got some old games like VP3 which don't work in Vista or 7.

Plus i use an erlier version of quickbooks that won't install in 7 and i may use Ubuntu with barrell.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-10, 06:08 PM   #4
LydianKnight
Registered Knight
 
LydianKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Málaga, Spain
Posts: 977
Default Re: Good MVware That is good and supports 3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman View Post
and Got some old games like VP3 which don't work in Vista or 7
VP3 = Virtual Pool 3?

If so, have you tried this page from the official Celeris website?

http://www.celeris.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1872

One thing you could try is right-click on the VP3 executable, select properties, click on the compatibility tab and tick 'Disable Desktop Compositor', for some old games it sometimes works, as some old games relies on a DirectX version lower or equal to DirectX9, it could surely 'assume' all video resources can be dedicated to the program, which is not true under DirectX 10/11, so... maybe it could help you.

About the accounting program, whops, no idea :P

Hope this helps

Julio
LydianKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-10, 10:06 AM   #5
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Good MVware That is good and supports 3D

www.virtualbox.org
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-10, 01:15 PM   #6
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,959
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Good MVware That is good and supports 3D

I am using vbox now but for some reason when capturing USB devices they don't get picked up in the machine itself and even with my G15 keyboards drops off on main setup and does get picked up inside the box.

And how is their a way to pick up a tv tuner in these things?
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-10, 01:39 PM   #7
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,959
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Good MVware That is good and supports 3D

A problem im having now i installing older oses like 95 and 98 on this thing could be im using a core I7 with 12 gigs of ram and the vim has issues allowing the old schook stuff the work right.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-10, 12:27 PM   #8
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,959
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Good MVware That is good and supports 3D

No clue?

I wanna use an USB cam inside the virtualbox iwth 7 being the main setup and xp being the vmware.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-10, 04:19 AM   #9
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Good MVware That is good and supports 3D

So you want the host OS to be Seven and the guest OS to be XP?

All I've ever used was VMWare Workstation, which has worked with pretty much any Guest OS.

Also Beryl doesnt really exist anymore, it merged to Compiz-Fusion, now its just Compiz I think.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 11:10 PM   #10
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,959
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Good MVware That is good and supports 3D

ah cool!!.

Easy way to get vmware workstation?

May give it a ride.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-10, 02:41 PM   #11
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Good MVware That is good and supports 3D

Well you can get VMWare server for free, but the Workstation version costs money. Also, KDE4 > beryl.

To be honest bigman, if you want to play older games, the best solution is to take an old hard drive and install Win 98/2000/XP or w/e you need to it and boot that when you want to play those games. Virtual machines do an ok job, but native does the best.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-10, 03:27 PM   #12
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,959
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Good MVware That is good and supports 3D

I agree totally on that Vin86, i done that with an old Gateway and seems very good now and having much fun with it cuz i noticed alot of older games won't install cuz of 64 bit windows having the installer issues with old games not installling.

So KDE4 is beryl?

I thought you have to install that seperatelly in packet manager and with hardware drivers installed.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Š1998 - 2014, nV News.