Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-10, 04:45 PM   #1
Kemo
The Smite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 217
Default evga 680i SLI and Core2Quad Q9550

Ok, I am now running my PC with a Q9550 on an evga 680i SLI T1, P33 BIOS. BIOS sets the speeds to 333x8.5=2.8Ghz. The multi won't go passed 8/8.5 which is obviously because this board isn't supposed to support this CPU. All four cores are enabled. My question is, has anyone ever successfully overclocked this CPU on this motherboard. OR, is there some kind of BIOS mod to unlock the 9x multiplier? I have included screenshots.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	q9550 680i.JPG
Views:	212
Size:	146.7 KB
ID:	39528  
__________________
Core2Quad Q9550 @ 3.61Ghz (425x8.5)
evga 680i SLI (T1 Version)
8GB Corsair XMS PC8500 5-5-5-12 (SPD) DDR2@850Mhz
8800 GTX SLI
Corsair 750W PSU
Kemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-10, 11:22 PM   #2
Kemo
The Smite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 217
Default Re: evga 680i SLI and Core2Quad Q9550

Okay, i just oc'ed it to 3.61Ghz (425x8.5) 1.336vcore. Tested with various games like Crysis, CoD4, Left 4 Dead 2, and GTA 4. All good so far, though I haven't run a Prime95 test. Check out the screenies.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	q9550 680i.JPG
Views:	200
Size:	147.9 KB
ID:	39535  
__________________
Core2Quad Q9550 @ 3.61Ghz (425x8.5)
evga 680i SLI (T1 Version)
8GB Corsair XMS PC8500 5-5-5-12 (SPD) DDR2@850Mhz
8800 GTX SLI
Corsair 750W PSU
Kemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 08:20 PM   #3
onmikesline
Registered User
 
onmikesline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south florida
Posts: 887
Default Re: evga 680i SLI and Core2Quad Q9550

okay
onmikesline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-10, 12:34 PM   #4
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: evga 680i SLI and Core2Quad Q9550

The board supports the cpu just fine. You can't go over 8.5 because if you could that cpu would be a 9650 Nice oc though, enjoy the sweet setup
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-10, 01:41 PM   #5
Kemo
The Smite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 217
Default Re: evga 680i SLI and Core2Quad Q9550

thanks. I've had one freeze-up when I was playing left 4 dead 2 but my opinion is that that's a common problem with that game being sensitive to overclocking.
__________________
Core2Quad Q9550 @ 3.61Ghz (425x8.5)
evga 680i SLI (T1 Version)
8GB Corsair XMS PC8500 5-5-5-12 (SPD) DDR2@850Mhz
8800 GTX SLI
Corsair 750W PSU
Kemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-10, 06:52 PM   #6
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: evga 680i SLI and Core2Quad Q9550

ya need to upgrade that soon!
our 8800's are ancient by today's standard
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-10, 02:44 AM   #7
sireebob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: evga 680i SLI and Core2Quad Q9550

Hate to revive an old thread, but I have to say: No. It doesn't support the Q9550; at least not properly (for me).

Sure, it supports it on paper, and Dr.Nick is lucky enough to have only had one freeze. Me... not so much, and it's not even related to temps or, afaik, voltages (I have SpeedFan events set up and monitor the temperatures, and besides, I'm usually not doing anything of consequence when it freezes..sometimes not at the computer at all). I got freezes more often when overclocking, so I stopped overclocking entirely, and now I get them every 2-3 days instead of once or twice per day.

I haven't changed anything except the processor. I had no freezes at all, ever, with my E8500.

People have this problem with the 750i SLI as well. NVIDIA chipsets are bad news, and everybody knows it (just like everybody knows about the naming of the "glove compartment"...).

Maybe it's just my particular motherboard, an eVGA nForce 680i SLI. Oh, that's what you have, too...

Anyway, let this be a warning to those thinking of trying this combo. Your mileage may vary.. immensely. I'm using OCZ DDR2 800MHz RAM by the way, at stock settings (*everything* is at stock). Don't recall the exact model offhand.
sireebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.