Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-10, 11:55 AM   #25
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

STALKER COP, AVP 2010 use DX11 i believe
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-10, 09:31 PM   #26
onmikesline
Registered User
 
onmikesline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south florida
Posts: 887
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

ok well what do i do with the promo key lol
onmikesline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-10, 09:44 PM   #27
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by onmikesline View Post
ok well what do i do with the promo key lol
What does that have to do with benchmarking this game? I think you'll get some answers in the sticky'ed thread.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-10, 05:43 AM   #28
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

I think we may need to briefly consider the effect on more RAM on this game.

I have a friend who's in my clan who runs a setup very similar to mine... he has a Phenom II x4 @ 3.4ghz with a single 5770 (performs equal to 4850/4870) ... but he has 8gb RAM.

He SAYS he's running @ 1680x1050, with everything on high, with 8xAA and 8xAF. Vsync is off, HBAO is on... and he's reporting 80-90fps.

Wait, what? I get 38-55 fps @ 1280x720 and 1280x1024 with everything on high, 2xAA, 4xAF, vsync off, HBAO on!!

Why the big disparity?

It's not the video card, is it Does the soft shadows DX11 path for the 5770 speed things up? I don't think so, at this point I think it's that his rig has 4gb more RAM.

It'd be nice if someone here could test this game with 4gb RAM vs 8. Anyone up for it?

Source: http://www.bc2doa.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=249#249
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-10, 03:55 PM   #29
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
I think we may need to briefly consider the effect on more RAM on this game.

I have a friend who's in my clan who runs a setup very similar to mine... he has a Phenom II x4 @ 3.4ghz with a single 5770 (performs equal to 4850/4870) ... but he has 8gb RAM.

He SAYS he's running @ 1680x1050, with everything on high, with 8xAA and 8xAF. Vsync is off, HBAO is on... and he's reporting 80-90fps.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post

Wait, what? I get 38-55 fps @ 1280x720 and 1280x1024 with everything on high, 2xAA, 4xAF, vsync off, HBAO on!!

Why the big disparity?

It's not the video card, is it Does the soft shadows DX11 path for the 5770 speed things up? I don't think so, at this point I think it's that his rig has 4gb more RAM.

It'd be nice if someone here could test this game with 4gb RAM vs 8. Anyone up for it?

Source: http://www.bc2doa.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=249#249
He's lying. There's no way he's getting those kind of frames with a 5770 no matter the amount of ram, especially with 8xAA.
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-10, 08:55 PM   #30
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Yeah 5770s in crossfire don't even get that. In fact I doubt a 5870 could get that. Probably more on the lines of a 5970. The game doesn't use anywhere near 4 GB let alone 8.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-10, 08:23 PM   #31
onmikesline
Registered User
 
onmikesline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south florida
Posts: 887
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

my 5870 everything maxed out, 2560x1600 and i get 50fps, best game ever
onmikesline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-10, 10:02 PM   #32
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

He has an Asus Crosshair II ROG for what it's worth...

Yeah, a 128-bit memory interface video card doing 8xAA on the new battlefield game @ 16x10 rez? Yeah right. I really don't understand why people have to so inflate their performance output.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-10, 10:07 PM   #33
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

And I really want to see some results in here for people with 8gb ram.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-10, 10:55 PM   #34
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Thing is I have never seen it use more than 1 GB. And it is only a 32-bit application (though it may be enhanced so it can address 2 GB, not sure).
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-10, 04:38 AM   #35
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
And I really want to see some results in here for people with 8gb ram.
I've got 8GB of ram. Buy me the game and I'll test it for you
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-10, 03:13 PM   #36
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
And I really want to see some results in here for people with 8gb ram.
I don't have it yet.... but after spring break I intend to buy it so that I can play with some friends.

I'll give it a shot with 4gb and 8gb configurations.... At home from school right now and all I have is the netbook with me, so it'll be a few days
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.