Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-10, 01:44 AM   #25
Armed_Baboon
Australian Gamer
 
Armed_Baboon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 836
Default Re: Steam get new UI update

reminds me of 'nam.
__________________
BaBooN_RiG: | C2D E6850 3.7GHZ | GTX295 | 4GB G.Skill DDRII 960MHZ | Gigabyte P35 DS3R | 2x WD Raptor 36GB in Raid 0 | 2x WD Caviar 320GB in Raid 0 | HP2408 24" LCD | SB Audigy2 ZS |
Armed_Baboon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 02:01 AM   #26
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Steam get new UI update

looks alright...

only problem is...the ****ing thing decided that i needed to redownload mw2...it was too late for me to hit cancel so i have to re-download MW2.

This was pretty retarded.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 04:21 AM   #27
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Steam get new UI update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armed_Baboon View Post
reminds me of 'nam.
soi soi soi soi soi
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 04:22 AM   #28
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Steam get new UI update

Lol what a crap update, i have no text in all menus.. rofl back to the regular one..
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 07:59 AM   #29
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Steam get new UI update

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
it reminds me of zune
Agreed. Too bad it doesn't look as good as the Zune UI.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 08:03 AM   #30
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Steam get new UI update

Guys, hope you're informing Steam of any problems you're having. It is a beta after all. It won't get sorted if they don't know about it .

The only problem I'm having is the bad text alignment with a higher DPI set in Windows, as Rage mentioned earlier.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 08:10 AM   #31
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Steam get new UI update

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007 View Post
looks alright...

only problem is...the ****ing thing decided that i needed to redownload mw2...it was too late for me to hit cancel so i have to re-download MW2.

This was pretty retarded.
Did it actually delete the content or was it not able to find it? You might not need to re-download it.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 08:13 AM   #32
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Steam get new UI update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
Did it actually delete the content or was it not able to find it? You might not need to re-download it.
Mine didn't delete the content, it's claiming its updating it... all 11GB.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-24-10, 08:27 AM   #33
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Steam get new UI update

I still wish that game explorer and steam worked more seamlessly.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 08:43 AM   #34
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Steam get new UI update

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Mine didn't delete the content, it's claiming its updating it... all 11GB.
Sounds like it's finding the exe files, but not the content. I installed the beta last night just before bed. I noticed a couple of games updating but didn't check the size. I shall have to check it out when I get home.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC View Post
I still wish that game explorer and steam worked more seamlessly.
Yeah, it would be nice. A text size option would be great, too. I'm gonna join the Steam forums tonight and post some comments and suggestions.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 09:09 AM   #35
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Steam get new UI update

Yeah the new client looks nice when in detail mode but I liked the old one better. Where is the compact list view? It seems stuck to a certain min width even if I remove all the columns except the game name.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 09:13 AM   #36
sniggle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 209
Default Re: Steam get new UI update

Quote:
Originally Posted by LurkerLito View Post
Yeah the new client looks nice when in detail mode but I liked the old one better. Where is the compact list view? It seems stuck to a certain min width even if I remove all the columns except the game name.
Yeah I agree, wish there was a way to have a small games list. They will probably add it back in, just wasn't high on their priorities list.

For those of you with non working fonts, do you have ClearType disabled? Just a shot in the dark. The new interface relies heavily on it, it seems.
__________________
Gaming Box
Asus P6T Deluxe V2 | i7 920 @ 4.25ghz 1.38v | Thermalright TRUE | 3x 2GB Corsair XMS2 PC12800 @ 811mhz (2:8) 9-9-9-24 | eVGA GTX 580 SC | 2x Intel SSD G2 80GB RAID 0 | Audigy X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair 750HX | Antec P-183 | Dell 3007WFP | NEC 20WMGX2

Home Server
DFI P35 T2R | Q6600 @ 3.0ghz 1.3v | OCZ Reaper 640 | GeForce 8600GTS | 2x 150GB WD VelociRaptor raid 1 (os), Synology DiskStation DS410 with 4x 2TB Hitachi | Corsair HX750
sniggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.