Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-10, 09:51 AM   #1
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Would this be possible?

So I got my consoles and TV with my laptop downstairs and my PC upstairs with the modem and my current router. Would it be possible to set up a second wireless router downstairs to connect my non wifi enabled devices to the internet? Would this cause any issues?

I was thinking of maybe setting up two wireless N routers so I can get some high speed media streaming to my PS3/X360 without problems, right now I can barely do HD video.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-10, 01:35 PM   #2
frenchy2k1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 449
Default Re: Would this be possible?

Yes, it is possible.
If I were you, I'd buy some router that would support upgrading to DD-WRT.
I had a similar setup in my last appartment due to a single phone plug working, far from my computer room. I setup a wireless router next to the DSL modem and another one in the computer room, with all the computers on it, so I had only one wireless link.

Most routers have a client mode, even with their default firmware. Setup the one near the modem as access point/router and the other one as a client, connecting to the first one. Wireless G is limit for an HD stream, but enough for compressed SD streams (like DVD or Divx). N should be fine for both. I may have to upgrade my router to an N one, to do the same
__________________
As the universe is curved, there cannot be a straight answer...
frenchy2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-10, 09:33 PM   #3
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Would this be possible?

It is possible on newer Netgear routers by setting them to repeater mode. The only issue that I can see is latency is going to be much higher on your equipment that is downstairs. If you play FPS games online then I'd really suggest figuring out a way to get a network wire down the wall and use a switch. No lag, no problems.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-10, 09:47 PM   #4
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Would this be possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
It is possible on newer Netgear routers by setting them to repeater mode. The only issue that I can see is latency is going to be much higher on your equipment that is downstairs. If you play FPS games online then I'd really suggest figuring out a way to get a network wire down the wall and use a switch. No lag, no problems.
i need to do the same thing in my house. only netgear router i like is the new WNDR3700, but i would never buy a router with internal antennas.

but before i change anything in my wireless setup i'm waiting for the new 600 Mbit/s wireless n equipment.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-10, 10:00 PM   #5
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Would this be possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
It is possible on newer Netgear routers by setting them to repeater mode. The only issue that I can see is latency is going to be much higher on your equipment that is downstairs. If you play FPS games online then I'd really suggest figuring out a way to get a network wire down the wall and use a switch. No lag, no problems.
Haven't had issues with latency now on my PS3 and laptop and they are on my wireless network.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-10, 05:36 AM   #6
JeanMichel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: Would this be possible?

I turn my router to repeated mode but the latency still up even when i moved downstairs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
It is possible on newer Netgear routers by setting them to repeater mode. The only issue that I can see is latency is going to be much higher on your equipment that is downstairs even with a high gaming wireless router. If you play FPS games online then I'd really suggest figuring out a way to get a network wire down the wall and use a switch. No lag, no problems.
JeanMichel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-10, 06:19 AM   #7
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Would this be possible?

I've done this before. I just networked the second router to the first and disabled the DHCP on the second. Obviously I had to manually configure the network on the second router and run them on different channels (6 and 11), but it worked.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.