Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-10, 10:45 AM   #61
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

I'm also enjoying the game, but due to time constraints I'm taking it very slowly in small bursts (I only JUST got my cool assassin's outfit).

I do have a question about the saves, though - I can't get a straight answer out of anyone. I had a PC crash yesterday (not game related - probably overclock related) and I lost my game progress, even though I had completed (synced) the first feather quest and opened a bunch of treasure chests. From what I gather from UPlay, it synchronizes my game with the server at the beginning/end of gameplay. SO does that mean if I crash during play, and it hasn't had the chance to shutdown-sync, that the server will overwrite local saves with an older version? Any idea if the local saves are actually occurring regularly? Would switching to only HD saves solve this?

Thanks!
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 11:27 AM   #62
JohnDio
Registered User
 
JohnDio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Does anyone experience freezes that require a hard reset?
JohnDio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 12:34 PM   #63
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaguya View Post
I'm also enjoying the game, but due to time constraints I'm taking it very slowly in small bursts (I only JUST got my cool assassin's outfit).

I do have a question about the saves, though - I can't get a straight answer out of anyone. I had a PC crash yesterday (not game related - probably overclock related) and I lost my game progress, even though I had completed (synced) the first feather quest and opened a bunch of treasure chests. From what I gather from UPlay, it synchronizes my game with the server at the beginning/end of gameplay. SO does that mean if I crash during play, and it hasn't had the chance to shutdown-sync, that the server will overwrite local saves with an older version? Any idea if the local saves are actually occurring regularly? Would switching to only HD saves solve this?

Thanks!
Does it do local saves AND online saves both? I thought you picked one.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 01:48 PM   #64
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
Does it do local saves AND online saves both? I thought you picked one.
Yeah, lots of save questions. I do know if you look in c:/programdata/ubisoft/ubisoft game launcher/storage (something like that) there are some save game files. How it all works together and what takes precedence is another matter.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 01:49 PM   #65
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

JohnDio, not froze yet


simply great game, i can't believe how much it changed from the original, and from the first 30 minutes of the game, it appears that 3rd part will take place in modern times, since the "training" of Desmond.

How many of those encoded messages did you find? I got only two so far.

And as far as save games are concerned, It didn't ask me did I wanted them local or online.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 01:54 PM   #66
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroy View Post
Yeah, lots of save questions. I do know if you look in c:/programdata/ubisoft/ubisoft game launcher/storage (something like that) there are some save game files. How it all works together and what takes precedence is another matter.
Ah, I was wondering where those were!

The thing that I *think* screwed me up when I had to hard reset is that Ubi may take preference over the remote saves over the local saves... so since my game didn't sync as it closed, perhaps it just overwote the local files.

This can probably be tested with an Alt-F4 during gameplay... if I get a chance later maybe I'll try Alt-F4 with syncing on, and syncing off (local save only).
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 03:17 PM   #67
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
JohnDio, not froze yet


simply great game, i can't believe how much it changed from the original, and from the first 30 minutes of the game, it appears that 3rd part will take place in modern times, since the "training" of Desmond.

How many of those encoded messages did you find? I got only two so far.

And as far as save games are concerned, It didn't ask me did I wanted them local or online.
It syncs with the cloud, so I'd be inclined to believe they are stored locally then moved online during the sync (and after you exit the game).
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 11:54 PM   #68
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

I just played the exclusive Uplay map and it was pretty good... timed platform challenges and tells the story of how Ezio's family got to Florence.

No real reward though, just money.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-12-10, 01:57 AM   #69
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

I need help in Tuscany, I'm after a target that supposelly is in some tower, I killed all the archers around the tower, and climbed right on top of the tower, the distance meter says (1 to the target), I'm right on top if the target marker, but there is nobody there.

what next?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 05:28 AM   #70
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
I need help in Tuscany, I'm after a target that supposelly is in some tower, I killed all the archers around the tower, and climbed right on top of the tower, the distance meter says (1 to the target), I'm right on top if the target marker, but there is nobody there.

what next?
Uhh sounds like a bug. He was up the top for me, just standing there talking about nonsense. Unless he fell down and didn't die? Check the bottom maybe? Or try the mission again.

I can't even play the game anymore just crashes with no error message, very annoying.
__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 05:37 AM   #71
weevil
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 208
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Anyone know if it's out in UK stores yet?

simply great game

No taunting!
weevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 05:58 AM   #72
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

just ordered it from amazon uk (22)

i loved the first game and story (i didnt like it at first but it got very good after a slow start)

im hoping it looks and runs good, and i dont get the infamous DRM server issues
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.