Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-10, 07:01 AM   #73
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Gamespot

RROD - 9.0
TehCell - 9.0
Yarr - 8.0

So i guess the graphics on the consoles are much better, and the controls are a lot better as well...u know...on the fact that the pc cannot support gamepads...or be hooked upto a tv if needed.....

The Bad
* Frequently broken copy protection scheme requires constant Internet access
* High price point
* Some additions are a little contrived.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 07:16 AM   #74
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Because the DRM and the price (which is identical to the 9.0 versions) have so much to do with game quality.

Oh wait, they don't.

I give Uncharted 2 a 4.0 because it is $60 and never came out on PC.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 07:50 AM   #75
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
I give Uncharted 2 a 4.0 because it is $60 and never came out on PC.
You rebel!!

I grow tired of 'sour grapes' user reviews... once the dust settles, it makes it difficult for players with a legitimate interest in buying a game know whether the actual gameplay is worthwhile. Everyone knows about the DRM - if they've already decided to get the game with that knowledge, why sully the game with further discouraging comments?
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 10:51 AM   #76
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcrackr View Post
Uhh sounds like a bug. He was up the top for me, just standing there talking about nonsense. Unless he fell down and didn't die? Check the bottom maybe? Or try the mission again.

I can't even play the game anymore just crashes with no error message, very annoying.
how do you restart a mission?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 11:01 AM   #77
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

I had a few GSODs with my 5870, once they put out the hotfix that addressed it I haven't had one in months. But since I picked up AC 2 I've had 4 in 2 days.

I was wondering though, is anyone else getting the GSOD with an ATI card in Assassin's Creed 2?
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 11:40 AM   #78
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Skipping this one. Didn't care for the first one all that much so no big loss. The new constant connect/save online system has got to go. For them to have to maintain a website for the user to play leaves the user in a kind of weird position if the choice was made not to maintain the website anymore. I simply will not spend my money on games like this.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 11:57 AM   #79
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
I had a few GSODs with my 5870, once they put out the hotfix that addressed it I haven't had one in months. But since I picked up AC 2 I've had 4 in 2 days.

I was wondering though, is anyone else getting the GSOD with an ATI card in Assassin's Creed 2?

GSoD Green Screen of Death (Microsoft XBox)
GSoD Grand Slam of Darts (tournament)
GSoD Global Summary of the Day (NOAA)
GSoD Gray Screen of Death (Apple)
GSOD Good Sense of Direction (spatial orientation analysGSoD Green Screen of Death
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 05:33 PM   #80
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

the game is $40 on gogamer.com is it worth it? good graphics and stuff? the 360 for windows controller for pc works? any issues?
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-12-10, 05:39 PM   #81
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
how do you restart a mission?
Doesn't it restart when you exit out of the game and try again. Or does he always not appear there.

I got the game to work, Apparently my dvd duplication software was causing a crash. I also just got an email from Ubisoft. Apologizing for the downtime and promising rewards in the future.
__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 05:43 PM   #82
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

nvm i bought it
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 06:16 PM   #83
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by trivium nate View Post
nvm i bought it
You'll like it, it's much better than the original.

Note that gogamer price is for the international version, if you care.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 06:17 PM   #84
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Official Assassin's Creed II Thread

Best quote I've heard yet in the game. "What a cabbage eater."
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.