Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-11-10, 10:00 AM   #157
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Mafia 2

just to add, great sounding music like the first game (the title music not the vintage music)
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 11:04 AM   #158
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Mafia 2

Seems they've released new PhysX driver, that fixes some problems with the demo - http://www.nvidia.com/object/physx-9...13-driver.html

And there is even a Steam update coming today.
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 11:56 AM   #159
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Mafia 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vardant View Post
And there is even a Steam update coming today.
Probably to fix the no time limit hack.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 12:25 PM   #160
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: Mafia 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroy View Post
AA in game or otherwise it totally useless.

This game is just another GTA clone and sadly does nothing to further the genre.

Console textures. No save anywhere. Gimmicky physX. No AA. Distance blur effect. Can't remap some keys. FOV close. Average shooting/cover. Aim gun at peds does nothing? City is too antiseptic.
It's pretty dissapointing they compromized the GFX in this aspect, but the leveldesign is sometimes very good with a lot of details and indoor there are some better looking textures arround.

But the use low res textures and the lack off proper AA is a shame.

Overall I like the game a lot and wil surely buy it.
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 12:43 PM   #161
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Mafia 2

The new physx driver Nvidia released today fixed my random framerate drops where my GPU utilization would drop into the 30s range. I am now seeing a near constant 80-90+ on both of my cards now and can still keep APEX set to high with good framerates with 3D Vision. My wishlist now is for true AA support, the ability to turn off that blur DoF effect that looks like ass in 3D, and unlock freaking covergence!
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 01:09 PM   #162
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: Mafia 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arioch View Post
The new physx driver Nvidia released today fixed my random framerate drops where my GPU utilization would drop into the 30s range. I am now seeing a near constant 80-90+ on both of my cards now and can still keep APEX set to high with good framerates with 3D Vision. My wishlist now is for true AA support, the ability to turn off that blur DoF effect that looks like ass in 3D, and unlock freaking covergence!
I still have drops to 28 fps, just outside the house at the start. That's with GTX480SLI 1920x1200 without AA amd physx set to high...
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 01:36 PM   #163
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Mafia 2

10 minutes is more than enough, since there is no limit in replays
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 02:01 PM   #164
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Mafia 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinner View Post
I still have drops to 28 fps, just outside the house at the start. That's with GTX480SLI 1920x1200 without AA amd physx set to high...
Did you try dedicating one GPU just for PhysX without SLI?
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-11-10, 02:05 PM   #165
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Mafia 2

Some of the textures look really poor, especially the brick walls on the houses. I expected at least some high resolution setting for the PC.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 02:58 PM   #166
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Mafia 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vardant View Post
Seems they've released new PhysX driver, that fixes some problems with the demo - http://www.nvidia.com/object/physx-9...13-driver.html

And there is even a Steam update coming today.
Isn't that the same version that is already downloaded with Mafia II demo, its in the steam folder, under Mafia II, 3rd folder.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 03:15 PM   #167
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: Mafia 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vardant View Post
Seems they've released new PhysX driver, that fixes some problems with the demo - http://www.nvidia.com/object/physx-9...13-driver.html

And there is even a Steam update coming today.
I still get low FPS and low GPU usage, in the start atleast.
Gets better when I get off the street you live on, didnt try it for that long though.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-10, 03:25 PM   #168
Bah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 868
Default Re: Mafia 2

For those saying the AA does nothing, that's not true. It's not great but it definitely looks better with it enabled in the game than without it.

With AA:


Without AA:




I think that in order to do real AA we will have to have an option to turn the dof or blur off.
Bah! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.