Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-28-10, 10:47 AM   #13
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Mafia 2

Then you really don't what you're looking at, because everything in BC2 is scripted
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-10, 11:41 AM   #14
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Mafia 2

Who gives a **** if its scripted when its still looks better even with partitioned buildings.
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-10, 01:09 PM   #15
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Mafia 2

I really hope this game is 3D Vision Surround ready (hopefully NVIDIA will have its damn drivers out by then ). I remember playing the first Mafia on my GF3 Ti500 and much awesomeness ensued.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-10, 01:14 PM   #16
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Mafia 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4 View Post
Who gives a **** if its scripted when its still looks better even with partitioned buildings.
I give a **** when people make stuff up and don't know what they're talking about.

Some comments on GT suggested, that Mafia isn't using Euphoria, because NV makes them use PhysX... Same people bring up "superior" BC2 physics and I'm sick and tired of that. We had scripted physics for years, bring on the real time gameplay affecting PhysX dammit.
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-10, 02:53 PM   #17
alfredog12076
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: Mafia 2

I played this at E3 (console of course, no PC version)...I thought it was pretty good, I loved the first Mafia, had the same feel but with visual improvements. Can't wait!
alfredog12076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-10, 08:16 AM   #18
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Mafia 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vardant View Post
I give a **** when people make stuff up and don't know what they're talking about.

Some comments on GT suggested, that Mafia isn't using Euphoria, because NV makes them use PhysX... Same people bring up "superior" BC2 physics and I'm sick and tired of that. We had scripted physics for years, bring on the real time gameplay affecting PhysX dammit.
I don't care if it scripted or not, but BC2 physics looks better. Also how is shooting a tree down in MP not real time? That is my only point, nvidia physx look cheap in comparison.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-10, 12:11 PM   #19
Retrolock
 
Retrolock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Mafia 2

Mafia 2 preorder available now on Steam!

http://store.steampowered.com/app/50130/

Includes the original Mafia if you preorder

I see slawter already knows about it
__________________
i7-2600k, Xspc rs240, Asus Maximus IV Gene-z, 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1866 RIPJAWSX CL7, PoV GTX 670, Corsair HX1000W, 128GB Vertex 4, WD 1tb Caviar Black, 500 & 320gb Seagate
Retrolock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-10, 01:21 PM   #20
LT.Schaffer
Praise The Lord!
 
LT.Schaffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chernarus
Posts: 1,960
Default Re: Mafia 2

Just pre-ordered my copy [getting the original free is a bonus/never got to play the original]
__________________

Intel Q9650|Asus P5Q Pro Turbo|GTX 480|CM 690 II Advanced|Corsair Dominator 4GB|LG LE3500 32"|X-FI|Intel 80GB SSD|Win 7 64Bit
Nvidia Driver:310.70 WHQL


Dedicated LAN Coop Server
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500|Asus P5B Deluxe|BFG GTX 285|Antec 900|Kingston HyperX 2GB|Viewsonic VX2255WMB 22"|Win 7 32Bit







GOD BLESS AMERICA

I Proudly Support Our Troops

Current Game:Elder Scrolls V Skyrim
LT.Schaffer is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-10, 09:09 AM   #21
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Mafia 2

Mafia II demo dated - A demo for upcoming gangster fest Mafia II will be available from 10th August, an advert in videogame trade magazine MCV has revealed.

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/mafia-ii-demo-dated
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-10, 09:43 AM   #22
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: Mafia 2

Glad there will be a demo. The first game was alright, maybe this one will actually be great... doubtful from what I have seen, though.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-10, 10:25 AM   #23
YodaStar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 165
Default Re: Mafia 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacon12 View Post
After playing BC2 for months every day I am completely unimpressed with physx. It looks really cheap and totally fluff. What Frostbite did with software was amazing, as is Cryengine. No need for proprietary BS.

Game play looks fun however, and I am looking forward to it.
Oh?

The physics in BFBC2 is 'horrible' and mostly pre-computed. Building destruction is pre-computed and only animations with some generated debris having simple physics. The rest of objects have utterly simplistic and quite bad physics with no regards to weight or proper gravity. A 2kg plastic cone has as much friction and mass as a 50kg concrete block which you can "kick" around as easily and it almost "flies" around!

They even move/react/collide the same way which goes to show how simplistic the physics is (like BF2). CoH brutally outdoes it in physics complexity and quality. Compelte annihilation and CoH is quite old game.
YodaStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-10, 11:01 AM   #24
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Mafia 2

Honestly I really don't care that its scripted, or pre-computed. You shoot trees and snow comes out, hit them right and they fall. Building collapse after enough damage, true enough about kicking debris around.

I don't think we are gonna see physx used in popular multi player games like that ever.

I do have a gtx 260 that I am using for physx., and other than three titles I currently have its a waste.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.