Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-10-10, 04:38 AM   #73
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Mafia 2

Wow, I really enjoy the demo. Graphically it's detailed especially with PhysX effects. Definitely going to buy it. In the demo you get 10 minutes to explore around in the open world before resuming the mission.

Now I have to wait until full version comes out. Going to replay the demo. If you love Mafia, you won't be disappointed with this one.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-10, 04:46 AM   #74
Fotis
Radeforce GTX7970
 
Fotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,346
Default Re: Mafia 2

__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8GHz|Corsair H50|MSI X58 Platinum|3x2GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 7-8-7-20|Gigabyte Radeon 7970 OC 3GB windforce|Samsung SSD 830 256GB/Intel SSD X25M 80GB|Seagate Ext. 2TB eSata|Corsair TX 750W|Microsoft Wireless Laser Desktop 7000|Silverstone Grandia GD-01 MX Black|Dell UltraSharp U2412M| Windows 7 x64 Pro
Fotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-10, 04:51 AM   #75
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Mafia 2

You need to see it in motion
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-10, 05:05 AM   #76
dikinher
Grab em!
 
dikinher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA.
Posts: 744
Default Re: Mafia 2

Awesome demo! It runs great too.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 64 OS * i7 2600K @4.5Ghz * ASUS P8P67 PRO (B3) * 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X *
EVGA GTX 670 FTW Edition * Cooler Master HAF 932
dikinher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-10, 05:18 AM   #77
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Mafia 2

Sweet demo, runs really well for me on 5850 with phenom 2 955. Looks really good too, good lighting and cars look great. Nice music and the driving + combat feels pretty good.

Pics, including city map. All high, no physX obviously. There is AA but it seems to only make a minor blur effect to some objects (eg trees or electric wires)

__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-10, 05:59 AM   #78
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Mafia 2

it runs sluggish for me on max settings with ambient occlusion dont know why

even with ambient occlusion off it was better but became sluggish again

WTF?? why!


but damn ambient occlusion makes the game looks realistic if only i could keep it on

but it shouldnt run sluggish on my rig!!! even with AO off

gutted!!
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-10, 06:07 AM   #79
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Mafia 2

try without physX?

Found 3 playboy bunnies
__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-10, 06:23 AM   #80
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Mafia 2

using my 480 for physx i get 8fps in the distillary with fire and smoke

using my 9600 for physx i get 6-9 fps

attrocious!!!

with physx off im getting 50-66 fps

pretty dissapointing that i cant use physx which is fine with other games
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-10-10, 06:29 AM   #81
Delbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Station X
Posts: 517
Default Re: Mafia 2

Can you check CPU usage ? Perhaps physx is not enabled in the Demo corectly or is awaiting updated drivers.
Is it Quad optimised ?
__________________
Q6600@3.6G (1.35v), 480 SoC (870/2000), 4Gig Mem, Abit IP35 Pro, Corsair HX620, 1x250Gig (OS), 2x250Gig (Games), P182. Win7... 290.53... http://www.bletchleypark.org.uk/
Delbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-10, 06:36 AM   #82
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Mafia 2

yeah the demos physx is ****ed!! it isnt running on any card hence why my scores were pretty much the same on both cards, bloody game is using the cpu according to=

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=3666362

also the demo just shows my 480 in the benchmark not my 9600 too like other physx games do

i hope nvidia / 2k fix this obvious flaw before the game is released


and yet again valve/steam let something untested through
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-10, 06:53 AM   #83
DennisK4
Registered User
 
DennisK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 136
Default Re: Mafia 2

Here is a 720p HD PC demo video I just posted on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LU7YNFFqgB0

I am loving the demo. Looks good and plays great.









__________________
2 x GTX580 3GB VRAM | i7-2600K | 16GB RAM | Intel SSD 510 Series 250GB | Dell 30'' 3008WFP (2560x1600) | Win 7 x64 Pro
DennisK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-10, 07:50 AM   #84
JohnDio
Registered User
 
JohnDio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Mafia 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by wysiwyg View Post
using my 480 for physx i get 8fps in the distillary with fire and smoke

using my 9600 for physx i get 6-9 fps

attrocious!!!

with physx off im getting 50-66 fps

pretty dissapointing that i cant use physx which is fine with other games
That's because the game falls back to CPU when you enable the APEX settings. Enable from the CC the PhysX indicator and behold: PhysX CPU.

How did they f*ck this up?
JohnDio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.