Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-10, 10:36 AM   #1
UberRN69
Registered User
 
UberRN69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saratoga Springs, Utah
Posts: 230
Default Vizio 42" 120hz Only Running @60Hz On A HD4780?

This is my first HD LCD TV ever, so sorry if this is a stupid question.

I just hooked up my new Vizio 1080P 42" 120hz, just to try out the Blu-Ray on my PC via an HDMI 1.3b cable (still need to buy a Blu-Ray HTIB). With Windows 7 and the latest ATI drivers, my PC sees 60Hz as the max refresh rate available. I think I remember reading something about this? That computer LCD monitors and HD LCD TV's refresh differently?

Anyhoo... If someone could give a little schooling on the subject, it would be well appreciated.

Cheers

Edit: Oh... and a Google search just brings up everything but what I'm looking for.
__________________
Lian-Li Case, MSI 890FXA-GD70, AMD Phenom II 965BE OC'd @ 3.9GHz with ZALMAN CNPS9900ALED, OCZ AMD Black Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600, XFX HD 5870 1GB with AC Accelero Twin Turbo Pro @ 920/1250, X-Fi XtremeGamer, WD Caviar Black 500GB x2 in RAID 0, WD Caviar Black 500GB for Backup, Pioneer DVR-115DBK & LG Blu-Ray GGC-H20LK, KINGWIN LZG-700 GOLD 700W, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
UberRN69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-10, 01:00 PM   #2
frenchy2k1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 449
Default Re: Vizio 42" 120hz Only Running @60Hz On A HD4780?

Yeah, this is normal.
All those new LCD TVs advertising 120Hz or 240Hz refresh are talking about refresh and interpolation. There is still no input that can accept over 60Hz as a refresh for TVs.

I mean, plasma advertise 600Hz sub-fields refresh.

The new 3D TVs are supposed to get faster refresh, but the ones used so far are 60Hz input and interpolating for a better image.

Actually, try to disable such interpolation for PC gaming, as it will add delays.
__________________
As the universe is curved, there cannot be a straight answer...
frenchy2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-10, 01:09 PM   #3
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Vizio 42" 120hz Only Running @60Hz On A HD4780?

frenchy is right. Practically all TV's that say 120 Hz don't accept a 120 Hz signal. They take 60 Hz signals and interpolate.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-10, 01:55 PM   #4
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Vizio 42" 120hz Only Running @60Hz On A HD4780?

Yup, for 120Hz from your computer, you'll need a specialized 120Hz 3D monitor like the Samsung 2233RZ or Acer GD235HZ that actually accepts 120Hz input signals, and a dual-link DVI cable. The next HDMI spec should support 120Hz as well, but I've yet to see 3D TVs or cables that advertise this.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-10, 02:11 PM   #5
UberRN69
Registered User
 
UberRN69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saratoga Springs, Utah
Posts: 230
Default Re: Vizio 42" 120hz Only Running @60Hz On A HD4780?

Thanks for the replys. I would have gone nuts tring to figure out how to fix it.

You guys are awsome!
__________________
Lian-Li Case, MSI 890FXA-GD70, AMD Phenom II 965BE OC'd @ 3.9GHz with ZALMAN CNPS9900ALED, OCZ AMD Black Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600, XFX HD 5870 1GB with AC Accelero Twin Turbo Pro @ 920/1250, X-Fi XtremeGamer, WD Caviar Black 500GB x2 in RAID 0, WD Caviar Black 500GB for Backup, Pioneer DVR-115DBK & LG Blu-Ray GGC-H20LK, KINGWIN LZG-700 GOLD 700W, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
UberRN69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-10, 02:15 PM   #6
UberRN69
Registered User
 
UberRN69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saratoga Springs, Utah
Posts: 230
Default Re: Vizio 42" 120hz Only Running @60Hz On A HD4780?

Quote:
Originally Posted by newparad1gm View Post
Yup, for 120Hz from your computer, you'll need a specialized 120Hz 3D monitor like the Samsung 2233RZ or Acer GD235HZ that actually accepts 120Hz input signals, and a dual-link DVI cable. The next HDMI spec should support 120Hz as well, but I've yet to see 3D TVs or cables that advertise this.
...saw one of those at BestBuy, playing the Monsters Vs. Aliens 3D demo. Made me want one really bad. Of course just like I did with HDTV's, I'm going to wait until things are well below the $1000 mark before I jump on that wagon.
__________________
Lian-Li Case, MSI 890FXA-GD70, AMD Phenom II 965BE OC'd @ 3.9GHz with ZALMAN CNPS9900ALED, OCZ AMD Black Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600, XFX HD 5870 1GB with AC Accelero Twin Turbo Pro @ 920/1250, X-Fi XtremeGamer, WD Caviar Black 500GB x2 in RAID 0, WD Caviar Black 500GB for Backup, Pioneer DVR-115DBK & LG Blu-Ray GGC-H20LK, KINGWIN LZG-700 GOLD 700W, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
UberRN69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-10, 02:45 PM   #7
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Vizio 42" 120hz Only Running @60Hz On A HD4780?

There's a small list on NV's website http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/GeFor...ements_uk.html
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-10, 04:24 PM   #8
grimreefer
Registered User
 
grimreefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 549
Default Re: Vizio 42" 120hz Only Running @60Hz On A HD4780?

only certain mitsubishi dlp tv's are actually 120hz
__________________
DFI P965-S...core 2 quad Q6600@ 3.2ghz...4gb ddr2 @ 800mhz cas 4...xfx gtx 260...silverstone op650...thermaltake xaser 3 case
grimreefer is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.