Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-18-03, 11:24 PM   #13
Geforce4ti4200
I luv mah ti4200 340/700
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 916
Default

I dont see why you cant break 20k marks, even on a stock ti4200 at 250/500 if the cpu is fast enough. Your nature score wont change but your others will, although it wont scale very well at all. If the cpu is fast enough, its possible. However, the geforce2mx scales very, very little but a ti4200 scales far more and probably can scale to like 10GHz, especially car chase high details anyway. and yes I care because my games also get faster. If games run too slow, get a new cpu
__________________
I have retired from 3dmark! Game time!
cpu: Tbred AIUHB xp2000+ unlocked and overclocked(1.75 volts) to 2.09GHz(used to do 2.47GHz)
gpu: Several, see 3dmark scores!
ram: Mushkin pc3500 level II, dual channel 2x256mb(sold) I now have corsair value that performs better for less than half the price!
mobo: abit nf7-s, shes fasssssst!
hdd: Seagate 80GB 7200rpm
3dmark2001 scores:
TI4200 330/700 on nf7-s 16490
TI4200 128mb on kt400 15580
TI500 at 265/600 core won't V-mod 12713
TI200 at 250/525 w00t! 12k club! 12123
MX440 at 330/550 10k possible if V-mod 9305
MX420 at 333/183 poor ocing ram 5258
Geforce2 TI at 250/220 darn! sdr verson! 4740
Geforce4ti4200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-03, 01:53 AM   #14
zakelwe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 768
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Geforce4ti4200
I dont see why you cant break 20k marks, even on a stock ti4200 at 250/500 if the cpu is fast enough. Your nature score wont change but your others will, although it wont scale very well at all. If the cpu is fast enough, its possible. However, the geforce2mx scales very, very little but a ti4200 scales far more and probably can scale to like 10GHz, especially car chase high details anyway. and yes I care because my games also get faster. If games run too slow, get a new cpu
My feeling is that the video card wil become the bottleneck even before then as it becomes fillrate limited.

It's an interesting problem though, I guess the way to test it is to see when it becomes gpu limited at 1600x1200 and then 1280x1024 and then try and work out what the value would be for 1024x768 at 250/500.

It is an interesting point in the real world, as you say, because there is always that juggling between whether to buy the latest video card or making sure the rest of the system is doing it justice. This time, with all the oo-haa over nv30 and then unclear between nv35 and 9800 Pro I decided to spend my money on a P4 and 875i and so still have a 4200/4800SE rather than the latest. I'll look at nv40 when I have saved up enough which will be 2004 anyhow.

Regards

Andy
zakelwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-03, 10:05 AM   #15
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Talking

Why would you use Ti4200 on a brand new 5Ghz Intel Pentium

Dumb question if you ask me , its same as aksing if my TNT 2 will ever break 1000 with 10Ghz

By the time we have 5Ghz CPU's video cards will be 5x times faster then Ti4200
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-03, 11:11 AM   #16
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

Just ran 3D mark 2000 today and you know what i only get 12611pts compaired to my 2001 result of 12021pts, LMFAO.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-03, 12:14 PM   #17
EMunEeE
Me
 
EMunEeE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 550
Send a message via AIM to EMunEeE
Default

NEVER!!!!..when the new Pents come out that my allow u to use it, I doubt youll find an AGP slot on ur mobo in which to plug in your Ti 4200
__________________
EMunXT
ABIT AN8 Ultra (nForce4 Ultra) || AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ || 2GB OCZ Performance PC3200 DDR SDRAM || ATI All-in-Wonder Radeon X1800 XL 256MB || Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 || 120GB & 80GB Seagate HDs || Lite-On DVD Drive & DVD RW || Antec P160WF Case || Antec TruePower 2.0 430W PSU || Samsung 204T (20.1") & Hitachi CML174SX (17") LCDs

I'm black, I'm still sexy, my computer is now sexier though.
EMunEeE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-03, 04:52 PM   #18
Geforce4ti4200
I luv mah ti4200 340/700
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by $E Mun$
NEVER!!!!..when the new Pents come out that my allow u to use it, I doubt youll find an AGP slot on ur mobo in which to plug in your Ti 4200

dont think thatll happen for a while and if it does, agp to pci express bridge and no problem, also 13678 3D Marks in 3DMark2K1 on a 9700 pro overclocked? LOL Ill be eating that score on a ti4200 once I buy a faster one, I should break 14k easy and if I oc my cpu to 2.4GHz where your cpu happens to be, ill be in the mid to high 14k. The ti4200 should not be underestimated, I beat you in everything but nature and close in dragothic. with my new ti4200 ill eat you in everything and be close to you in nature. The good thing is you get free fsaa and af which I never use anyway


"Why would you use Ti4200 on a brand new 5Ghz Intel Pentium"


to run games at blistering fps, silly


"By the time we have 5Ghz CPU's video cards will be 5x times faster then Ti4200"

show me a video card thatll get 5 times the 15k my ti4200 will get, thats 75k marks dude........


my friend says somethings wrong with your rig cause you cant break 14k on an oced 9700 pro
__________________
I have retired from 3dmark! Game time!
cpu: Tbred AIUHB xp2000+ unlocked and overclocked(1.75 volts) to 2.09GHz(used to do 2.47GHz)
gpu: Several, see 3dmark scores!
ram: Mushkin pc3500 level II, dual channel 2x256mb(sold) I now have corsair value that performs better for less than half the price!
mobo: abit nf7-s, shes fasssssst!
hdd: Seagate 80GB 7200rpm
3dmark2001 scores:
TI4200 330/700 on nf7-s 16490
TI4200 128mb on kt400 15580
TI500 at 265/600 core won't V-mod 12713
TI200 at 250/525 w00t! 12k club! 12123
MX440 at 330/550 10k possible if V-mod 9305
MX420 at 333/183 poor ocing ram 5258
Geforce2 TI at 250/220 darn! sdr verson! 4740
Geforce4ti4200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-03, 07:51 AM   #19
zakelwe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 768
Default

My FX 5200 ultra gets almost 14k in 3dmark2001 so your 4200ti needs to get it's skates on as well

Regards

Andy
zakelwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-03, 03:46 PM   #20
Geforce4ti4200
I luv mah ti4200 340/700
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zakelwe
My FX 5200 ultra gets almost 14k in 3dmark2001 so your 4200ti needs to get it's skates on as well

Regards

Andy

overclocked to what and did you lower the image quality? also publish the score, im guessing you have the fastest cpu cause thats like a ti500 with dx9
__________________
I have retired from 3dmark! Game time!
cpu: Tbred AIUHB xp2000+ unlocked and overclocked(1.75 volts) to 2.09GHz(used to do 2.47GHz)
gpu: Several, see 3dmark scores!
ram: Mushkin pc3500 level II, dual channel 2x256mb(sold) I now have corsair value that performs better for less than half the price!
mobo: abit nf7-s, shes fasssssst!
hdd: Seagate 80GB 7200rpm
3dmark2001 scores:
TI4200 330/700 on nf7-s 16490
TI4200 128mb on kt400 15580
TI500 at 265/600 core won't V-mod 12713
TI200 at 250/525 w00t! 12k club! 12123
MX440 at 330/550 10k possible if V-mod 9305
MX420 at 333/183 poor ocing ram 5258
Geforce2 TI at 250/220 darn! sdr verson! 4740
Geforce4ti4200 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-03, 04:12 PM   #21
EMunEeE
Me
 
EMunEeE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 550
Send a message via AIM to EMunEeE
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Geforce4ti4200
dont think thatll happen for a while and if it does, agp to pci express bridge and no problem, also 13678 3D Marks in 3DMark2K1 on a 9700 pro overclocked? LOL Ill be eating that score on a ti4200 once I buy a faster one, I should break 14k easy and if I oc my cpu to 2.4GHz where your cpu happens to be, ill be in the mid to high 14k. The ti4200 should not be underestimated, I beat you in everything but nature and close in dragothic. with my new ti4200 ill eat you in everything and be close to you in nature. The good thing is you get free fsaa and af which I never use anyway


"Why would you use Ti4200 on a brand new 5Ghz Intel Pentium"


to run games at blistering fps, silly


"By the time we have 5Ghz CPU's video cards will be 5x times faster then Ti4200"

show me a video card thatll get 5 times the 15k my ti4200 will get, thats 75k marks dude........


my friend says somethings wrong with your rig cause you cant break 14k on an oced 9700 pro
1. My score would be high too if my FSB was overclocked out the ying yang. My FSB is at stock speeds (133MHz). Yours is overclocked.

2. Whats your 3D Mark 2003 score again???....thank you

If you read into my sig you'll see that I have a Dell. Unfortunately for me I cannot overclock my FSB. My Radeon 9700 Pro is already CPU/FSB limited, so overclocking the GPU/Memory does very little for the score with my current setup. Now had I had a overclockable mobo, I'd eat your score and your friends score.

One more thing...turn some AA/AF at max quality and see if you score what I score in 3D Mark 2003 with 6xAA/16xqAF... ...son I will always score higher in 3DMark2003 with AA/AF at max then youll score with quality as the lowest settings...pWNED

Run 3DMark 2001 with max AA/AF at 1280x1024 and see what you get?

YOU WERE PWNED mulitple times in the same thread....
__________________
EMunXT
ABIT AN8 Ultra (nForce4 Ultra) || AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ || 2GB OCZ Performance PC3200 DDR SDRAM || ATI All-in-Wonder Radeon X1800 XL 256MB || Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 || 120GB & 80GB Seagate HDs || Lite-On DVD Drive & DVD RW || Antec P160WF Case || Antec TruePower 2.0 430W PSU || Samsung 204T (20.1") & Hitachi CML174SX (17") LCDs

I'm black, I'm still sexy, my computer is now sexier though.

Last edited by EMunEeE; 07-22-03 at 04:18 PM.
EMunEeE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-03, 07:00 PM   #22
Geforce4ti4200
I luv mah ti4200 340/700
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 916
Default

I consider it a draw:

1. you own me in 2003, especially with fsaa, but then that benchmark is a dx9 one, its not an apples comparsion. Youd probably own me in dx9 games in a few years when they come out.
2. your 256 bit bandwith helps heaps with fsaa but without fsaa I would own j00! and I dont use fsaa either
3. many games are cpu intensive so I own you in 1024x768 and below without fsaa while you own me above that, but who cares when you get 20fps at 1600x1200 while I get 60fps at 800x600
4. im aiming for 14500 marks, eating you by 900 marks. Your cpu will hold you very badly. Your max fps will remain low at any res while my max fps will be low only at high res
__________________
I have retired from 3dmark! Game time!
cpu: Tbred AIUHB xp2000+ unlocked and overclocked(1.75 volts) to 2.09GHz(used to do 2.47GHz)
gpu: Several, see 3dmark scores!
ram: Mushkin pc3500 level II, dual channel 2x256mb(sold) I now have corsair value that performs better for less than half the price!
mobo: abit nf7-s, shes fasssssst!
hdd: Seagate 80GB 7200rpm
3dmark2001 scores:
TI4200 330/700 on nf7-s 16490
TI4200 128mb on kt400 15580
TI500 at 265/600 core won't V-mod 12713
TI200 at 250/525 w00t! 12k club! 12123
MX440 at 330/550 10k possible if V-mod 9305
MX420 at 333/183 poor ocing ram 5258
Geforce2 TI at 250/220 darn! sdr verson! 4740
Geforce4ti4200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-03, 07:07 PM   #23
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

1. Um... so yeah, his card is better.

2. Hmmmmm no. 9700 Pro beats the Ti4x00 without FSAA as well.

3. BAH. BAH, I SAY TO YOU. UTTER BAH. And if they're CPU limited, WHY DON'T YOU USE AA OR AF?!

4. Wow, you can overclock your FSB. Congratulations. You should feel special.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-03, 07:45 PM   #24
Geforce4ti4200
I luv mah ti4200 340/700
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
1. Um... so yeah, his card is better.

2. Hmmmmm no. 9700 Pro beats the Ti4x00 without FSAA as well.

3. BAH. BAH, I SAY TO YOU. UTTER BAH. And if they're CPU limited, WHY DON'T YOU USE AA OR AF?!

4. Wow, you can overclock your FSB. Congratulations. You should feel special.


1. of course, I wont even argue about that, as much of a bottlebeck as his cpu may be.

2. true, but in high res and not by that much either, perhaps a third faster.

3. Id rather run 1600x1200 instead

4. he could do the same if he got a cheap kt400 and xp2100
__________________
I have retired from 3dmark! Game time!
cpu: Tbred AIUHB xp2000+ unlocked and overclocked(1.75 volts) to 2.09GHz(used to do 2.47GHz)
gpu: Several, see 3dmark scores!
ram: Mushkin pc3500 level II, dual channel 2x256mb(sold) I now have corsair value that performs better for less than half the price!
mobo: abit nf7-s, shes fasssssst!
hdd: Seagate 80GB 7200rpm
3dmark2001 scores:
TI4200 330/700 on nf7-s 16490
TI4200 128mb on kt400 15580
TI500 at 265/600 core won't V-mod 12713
TI200 at 250/525 w00t! 12k club! 12123
MX440 at 330/550 10k possible if V-mod 9305
MX420 at 333/183 poor ocing ram 5258
Geforce2 TI at 250/220 darn! sdr verson! 4740
Geforce4ti4200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E3 round-up: day three News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-07-12 06:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.