Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-03, 09:30 PM   #25
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
4. he could do the same if he got a cheap kt400 and xp2100
and if I actually ran 3DMark 2k1 on my new machine, I'd probably get quite a bit higher than that.

Quote:
3. Id rather run 1600x1200 instead
doesn't help with textures, and 1280x960 with 2xAA looks superior anyway. plus you get a higher refresh rate.

Quote:
2. true, but in high res and not by that much either, perhaps a third faster.
do I really need to reply to this? nah, somebody will do it for me

Quote:
1. of course, I wont even argue about that, as much of a bottlebeck as his cpu may be.
let me share a magical piece of knowledge with you--your CPU is slower. the R9700 will not hit CPU limitations at 3.6Ghz or whatever the hell you claimed--that's utter BS. it depends entirely on the program.

seriously--what you hear from your friend who heard it from a guy on a message board who heard it from a SHADOWY FIGURE ON IRC WHO CLAIMED TO BE FROM ATI is probably complete and utter rubbish.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-03, 10:26 PM   #26
EMunEeE
Me
 
EMunEeE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 550
Send a message via AIM to EMunEeE
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Geforce4ti4200
I consider it a draw:

1. you own me in 2003, especially with fsaa, but then that benchmark is a dx9 one, its not an apples comparsion. Youd probably own me in dx9 games in a few years when they come out.
2. your 256 bit bandwith helps heaps with fsaa but without fsaa I would own j00! and I dont use fsaa either
3. many games are cpu intensive so I own you in 1024x768 and below without fsaa while you own me above that, but who cares when you get 20fps at 1600x1200 while I get 60fps at 800x600
4. im aiming for 14500 marks, eating you by 900 marks. Your cpu will hold you very badly. Your max fps will remain low at any res while my max fps will be low only at high res
1. You damn right I own you in 3D Mark 2003. If we just compared the DX7 and DX8 tests, I would still own you as there is only DX9 game test.

2. and your FSB helps heaps with your 3D Mark score. Lower your FSB to my level and lets see who gets their @ss beat.

3. What about 1280x1024? (I'll get more FPS in that than you'll get in 800x600

4. my max FPS will be low at YOUR resolutions. As I raise it it will be higher and higher and take less of a hit with every notch i increase it

Face it son, you are a 3D Mark freak...lets see who can run Half Life 2 better in September...then you can talk to me
__________________
EMunXT
ABIT AN8 Ultra (nForce4 Ultra) || AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ || 2GB OCZ Performance PC3200 DDR SDRAM || ATI All-in-Wonder Radeon X1800 XL 256MB || Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 || 120GB & 80GB Seagate HDs || Lite-On DVD Drive & DVD RW || Antec P160WF Case || Antec TruePower 2.0 430W PSU || Samsung 204T (20.1") & Hitachi CML174SX (17") LCDs

I'm black, I'm still sexy, my computer is now sexier though.
EMunEeE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-03, 01:33 AM   #27
Geforce4ti4200
I luv mah ti4200 340/700
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 916
Default

1. ok you win there
2. ill run 133fsb and id still break 11k marks, I broke 11k on an xp1600 at 150fsb, my xp2000 stock should break 11k
3. ok you are on. what game or benchy do you want to run? see if you can eat me, ill run 800x600, you run 1280x1024. NO fsaa either! if you eat me, I can tell everyone I was wrong and you owned me what I am betting is your slow cpu wont have the power to push alot of fps at any res, basically your fps will be the same no matter what res you ran, this happened when I had a slower cpu
4. if your max fps at 640x480 is 30, your max may be 28fps at 1600x1200 while my max may be 50 at 640x480 and 10 at 1600x1200. get the point? youll never have more than 30fps while I will at the expense of resolution. point being, is 1600x1200 worth $450 when my $64 card does 800x600? sure games will look nicer for you while Ill be buying more games and a faster cpu
__________________
I have retired from 3dmark! Game time!
cpu: Tbred AIUHB xp2000+ unlocked and overclocked(1.75 volts) to 2.09GHz(used to do 2.47GHz)
gpu: Several, see 3dmark scores!
ram: Mushkin pc3500 level II, dual channel 2x256mb(sold) I now have corsair value that performs better for less than half the price!
mobo: abit nf7-s, shes fasssssst!
hdd: Seagate 80GB 7200rpm
3dmark2001 scores:
TI4200 330/700 on nf7-s 16490
TI4200 128mb on kt400 15580
TI500 at 265/600 core won't V-mod 12713
TI200 at 250/525 w00t! 12k club! 12123
MX440 at 330/550 10k possible if V-mod 9305
MX420 at 333/183 poor ocing ram 5258
Geforce2 TI at 250/220 darn! sdr verson! 4740
Geforce4ti4200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-03, 12:23 PM   #28
poursoul
i eat people
 
poursoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orcutt, CA
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Geforce4ti4200

4. if your max fps at 640x480 is 30, your max may be 28fps at 1600x1200 while my max may be 50 at 640x480 and 10 at 1600x1200. get the point? youll never have more than 30fps while I will at the expense of resolution. point being, is 1600x1200 worth $450 when my $64 card does 800x600? sure games will look nicer for you while Ill be buying more games and a faster cpu
\Runs screaming bloody murder - AAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!

/Comes back

you don't have the slightest clue do you? go ask you friend if you have a clue.

BTW: Radeon 9700 Pro price and GF4 Ti 4200 price.

You are way off.

P.S. i don't like you. you flap your gums too much.
poursoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-03, 01:40 PM   #29
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
P.S. i don't like you. you flap your gums too much.
But aren't you the one that eats people?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-03, 04:20 PM   #30
poursoul
i eat people
 
poursoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orcutt, CA
Posts: 614
Default

poursoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-03, 07:03 PM   #31
Geforce4ti4200
I luv mah ti4200 340/700
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 916
Default

dude I was comparing the fx5900u he has against my ti4200 I bought. and I paid $64 for mine used on ebay, he probably paid at least $450 for his. like I said, his card is tons faster but his cpu cant keep up in low res. The world fastest card wont matter much when your fps arent enough to be smooth, games like fast cpus too. anyway I am aiming for 14500 marks on my ti4200 I spent $64 for
__________________
I have retired from 3dmark! Game time!
cpu: Tbred AIUHB xp2000+ unlocked and overclocked(1.75 volts) to 2.09GHz(used to do 2.47GHz)
gpu: Several, see 3dmark scores!
ram: Mushkin pc3500 level II, dual channel 2x256mb(sold) I now have corsair value that performs better for less than half the price!
mobo: abit nf7-s, shes fasssssst!
hdd: Seagate 80GB 7200rpm
3dmark2001 scores:
TI4200 330/700 on nf7-s 16490
TI4200 128mb on kt400 15580
TI500 at 265/600 core won't V-mod 12713
TI200 at 250/525 w00t! 12k club! 12123
MX440 at 330/550 10k possible if V-mod 9305
MX420 at 333/183 poor ocing ram 5258
Geforce2 TI at 250/220 darn! sdr verson! 4740
Geforce4ti4200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-03, 04:09 PM   #32
EMunEeE
Me
 
EMunEeE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 550
Send a message via AIM to EMunEeE
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Geforce4ti4200
dude I was comparing the fx5900u he has against my ti4200 I bought. and I paid $64 for mine used on ebay, he probably paid at least $450 for his. like I said, his card is tons faster but his cpu cant keep up in low res. The world fastest card wont matter much when your fps arent enough to be smooth, games like fast cpus too. anyway I am aiming for 14500 marks on my ti4200 I spent $64 for
The question is will you get fancy shader effects in DX9-capable games (aka HL2) ???
__________________
EMunXT
ABIT AN8 Ultra (nForce4 Ultra) || AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ || 2GB OCZ Performance PC3200 DDR SDRAM || ATI All-in-Wonder Radeon X1800 XL 256MB || Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 || 120GB & 80GB Seagate HDs || Lite-On DVD Drive & DVD RW || Antec P160WF Case || Antec TruePower 2.0 430W PSU || Samsung 204T (20.1") & Hitachi CML174SX (17") LCDs

I'm black, I'm still sexy, my computer is now sexier though.
EMunEeE is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-24-03, 04:33 PM   #33
Geforce4ti4200
I luv mah ti4200 340/700
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by $E Mun$
The question is will you get fancy shader effects in DX9-capable games (aka HL2) ???

eh probably not, I could get an fx5200 cheap by the time hl2 comes out, perhaps $50 for one and compare the differences. Is it worth playing 800x600 to get dx9 features or 1280x960 instead on a ti4200? I doubt there will be much of a visual loss for now, itll be a while before dx9 becomes required anyway
__________________
I have retired from 3dmark! Game time!
cpu: Tbred AIUHB xp2000+ unlocked and overclocked(1.75 volts) to 2.09GHz(used to do 2.47GHz)
gpu: Several, see 3dmark scores!
ram: Mushkin pc3500 level II, dual channel 2x256mb(sold) I now have corsair value that performs better for less than half the price!
mobo: abit nf7-s, shes fasssssst!
hdd: Seagate 80GB 7200rpm
3dmark2001 scores:
TI4200 330/700 on nf7-s 16490
TI4200 128mb on kt400 15580
TI500 at 265/600 core won't V-mod 12713
TI200 at 250/525 w00t! 12k club! 12123
MX440 at 330/550 10k possible if V-mod 9305
MX420 at 333/183 poor ocing ram 5258
Geforce2 TI at 250/220 darn! sdr verson! 4740
Geforce4ti4200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-03, 07:36 PM   #34
EMunEeE
Me
 
EMunEeE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 550
Send a message via AIM to EMunEeE
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Geforce4ti4200
eh probably not, I could get an fx5200 cheap by the time hl2 comes out, perhaps $50 for one and compare the differences. Is it worth playing 800x600 to get dx9 features or 1280x960 instead on a ti4200? I doubt there will be much of a visual loss for now, itll be a while before dx9 becomes required anyway
You can TRY and get a 5200 working. And there will be a visual loss in case you dont think so...check out Maximum PC's article.
http://www.hanners.nildram.co.uk/hl2/
__________________
EMunXT
ABIT AN8 Ultra (nForce4 Ultra) || AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ || 2GB OCZ Performance PC3200 DDR SDRAM || ATI All-in-Wonder Radeon X1800 XL 256MB || Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 || 120GB & 80GB Seagate HDs || Lite-On DVD Drive & DVD RW || Antec P160WF Case || Antec TruePower 2.0 430W PSU || Samsung 204T (20.1") & Hitachi CML174SX (17") LCDs

I'm black, I'm still sexy, my computer is now sexier though.
EMunEeE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-03, 02:33 AM   #35
Geforce4ti4200
I luv mah ti4200 340/700
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 916
Default

so the fx5200(u) wont be any better than a ti4200 visually for dx9 games? well I may get the fx5200 when it drops to $30 just so I can collect video cards while my ti4200 will be actually used
__________________
I have retired from 3dmark! Game time!
cpu: Tbred AIUHB xp2000+ unlocked and overclocked(1.75 volts) to 2.09GHz(used to do 2.47GHz)
gpu: Several, see 3dmark scores!
ram: Mushkin pc3500 level II, dual channel 2x256mb(sold) I now have corsair value that performs better for less than half the price!
mobo: abit nf7-s, shes fasssssst!
hdd: Seagate 80GB 7200rpm
3dmark2001 scores:
TI4200 330/700 on nf7-s 16490
TI4200 128mb on kt400 15580
TI500 at 265/600 core won't V-mod 12713
TI200 at 250/525 w00t! 12k club! 12123
MX440 at 330/550 10k possible if V-mod 9305
MX420 at 333/183 poor ocing ram 5258
Geforce2 TI at 250/220 darn! sdr verson! 4740
Geforce4ti4200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-03, 12:34 AM   #36
Lostlilchild6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario Ca, USA
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to Lostlilchild6
Default

Tbird... you are wrong!!!



Dude... face it! Your computer sucks! What is it with you? Do you like going from forum to forum pissing people off?!??! Gawwwd.. what is wrong with you? You just like to start arguments and stuff . You dont like tobe told you're wrong... even though 98.8473% of the time.. you are.



You cannot compare a 9700PRO with a TI4200 you freakin looney!!!!



I've told you a THOUSAND times! I went from a TI4600 to a 9700PRO... and the performance increase was phenomenal! You said it yourself.. you will be buying a 9700PRO in 2007 when they're worth 50 bucks... and your gonna go for 25k 3dmarks. I remember when you said that.. you are soooo freakin... ugh.


You need to get a life dude... honestly. Start using your comptuer for what it was designed for. A computer was definately not designed to run 3dmark all freakin day. I could understand if you had a bitchin score, it would justify all your 3dmark ranting... but you dont. Nothing about your setup is impressive.




Guys... this is what this guy is about. Even after this rant, he will still continue to post his crap.... I just dont think it's right. Imagine all the poeple around here that read the forums to LEARN! What are they going to think when they see this guy talk this rubbish?
__________________
Something that can run SWG somewhat decent.
Lostlilchild6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E3 round-up: day three News Archived News Items 0 06-07-12 06:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.