Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-10, 12:29 PM   #37
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,869
Default Re: Office 2010 finally hit RTM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
I don't know what to do, should I install 32bit and have sync of install 64bit and no sync

****ing MS
Well, look at this from an engineering perspective: Is there really any reason to have a 64-bit office suite? If anything it'll take up more memory and load a little slower. I myself can't think of any reason why a 64-bit office suite makes sense. (Other things like OS kernels or apps with high int/fp precision on the other hand make sense to be 64-bit this day in age - office doesn't really fit in either of these categories.)
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-10, 12:34 PM   #38
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Office 2010 finally hit RTM

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK View Post
Well, look at this from an engineering perspective: Is there really any reason to have a 64-bit office suite? If anything it'll take up more memory and load a little slower. I myself can't think of any reason why a 64-bit office suite makes sense. (Other things like OS kernels on the other hand make sense to be 64-bit this day in age.)
The 64 bit versions are only useful for Access, Excel, and Vizio. My wife works in compensation. She uses Crystal Reports to pull massive amounts of data for further processing in Excel. I've seen her hit the limits under the 32 bit version so this would be nice for her. But that's really the only way I see it being useful.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-10, 12:49 PM   #39
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,869
Default Re: Office 2010 finally hit RTM

Yeah THAT would make sense, but for personal use, or just regular office use, I don't see it being beneficial.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-10, 03:28 PM   #40
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Office 2010 finally hit RTM

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK View Post
Yeah THAT would make sense, but for personal use, or just regular office use, I don't see it being beneficial.
Absolutely.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-10, 04:21 PM   #41
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Office 2010 finally hit RTM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LurkerLito View Post
Most likely the Disc version has both 32bit and 64 bit but that would only account to about 1.33GB. So maybe it has some of the other apps or demo apps + regional language translations etc.
Maybe how to vids? Like how to do up a resume that despite being create on a Office Suite worth a couple hundred buck still looks like it was typed by a rhinoceros beetle.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-10, 04:27 PM   #42
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Office 2010 finally hit RTM

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK View Post
Well, look at this from an engineering perspective: Is there really any reason to have a 64-bit office suite? If anything it'll take up more memory and load a little slower. I myself can't think of any reason why a 64-bit office suite makes sense. (Other things like OS kernels or apps with high int/fp precision on the other hand make sense to be 64-bit this day in age - office doesn't really fit in either of these categories.)
I haven't tested the full 32bit, but the 64 bit loads in an instant on my PC, that's why I love it. I click Word and it's there. Just as fast as opening notepad. Neat trick. Apart from what Q mentioned. I think the 64bit versions are more an answer to semi popular demand.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-10, 09:46 PM   #43
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Office 2010 finally hit RTM

not on my msdnaa oh wells
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-10, 04:38 PM   #44
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Office 2010 finally hit RTM

Finally downloading it lol.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Office.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	158.2 KB
ID:	40100  
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-30-10, 09:04 PM   #45
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Office 2010 finally hit RTM

hmm, its 4/30 and i can't claim more keys.

Quote:
An Error Has Occurred
There was an error while trying to claim the requsted product key, and we could not process the request. Many products can be used for 30 days without a key. Please come back later and try the key request again.

You can also refer to the TechNet Subscriber Support Page.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-10, 01:11 PM   #46
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Office 2010 finally hit RTM

Got that e-mail like a day or two ago... have yet to check it out.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-10, 02:28 PM   #47
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Office 2010 finally hit RTM

Running Office 2010 x64 here.. Outlook is definitely faster and much more responsive. I've only used Visio and Word so far, both startup within 2-3 seconds. Very nice!
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-10, 02:35 PM   #48
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Office 2010 finally hit RTM

still not installed on main rig, still not sure what to do about the sync issue.

probably will have to install 32bit version since i need sync
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.